We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capricorn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capricorn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Laax
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good proximity to the lifts and the ski bus stop is right across the road with a 5 minute trip to the Laax resort base. The hostel staff are very helpful but are also happy for you to do your own thing. A nice, bright breakfast room with adequate breakfast of bread, cereal and fruit but I would have killed for a boiled egg or porridge to set us up for the day! There is also a vegetarian dinner with a different menu nightly which brings guests together and causes a nice buzz in the room. We however usually walked to Laax for food, after a long day on the slopes we deserved a bigger dinner! Our room (for two) however was the big let down to an otherwise nice, cheap stay. I understand they use low energy lighting at the hostel but ours was so low energy we couldn't read or look in our bags after the sun went down and was quite depressing. We also had to fix one of the lights ourselves with a spare cable tie we happened to have, otherwise the lighting would have been even worse! We had a bunk bed room, although the beds perpendicular to eachother which made the room alot smaller and space is at a premium in a small hostel room. The orange and lime green bedding and pillows also need updating. Our bathroom was in the hall and we seemed to be the only users at the time which was good. The bathroom was clean and functional but the shower water pressure was non-existent, so disappointing considering the pressure in the sink and bath was great. Not something you want to have to deal with after a sweaty day skiing - surely a good hot shower is a basic.
There is a stand alone ski room outside the hostel building which doesn't have heating as it's basically a garden shed so boots need to be brought inside overnight if you don't want freezing toes in the morning. Don't forget to bring your own boot warmers if you have them!
I would recommend this hostel as a cheap, convenient place to stay but I can't help thinking that with a little tlc it would be a real gem rather than just ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvoTreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

LAAX markets itself as the new home for snowboarders and Guschti certainly knows how to make you feel at home in his wonderful hostel. Not only is the Capricorn about a 10 minute walk from the main lifts up the mountain (and restaurants and bars), it is close to a COOP garage where you can buy those all important supplies (crisps, chocolate or if you fancy ice cream). The bus from Chur stops pretty much in front of it's door and so does the free ski shuttle. It has a convenient outdoor hut (safe and secure by the way) for your boards or ski's, outdoor seating area and nice views.
The breakfast is filling, good selection of cheeses, cereals and wholemeal bread. Oh yes and Nutella to give you an energy boost! The coffee machine in the dinning area is so amazing I wanted to take it home. Coffee made in heaven!
The whole place has a laid back ethnic feel with a dash of Swiss culture mixed with that all important snowboarder cool! Guschti upgraded myself and my friend to a private room with cute balcony free of charge. The room was really colourful and I appreciated the snowboard stickers giving it a real urban edge. I felt at home straight away.
The bar has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere with amazing staff, you often find boarding films being shown and the music appeals to the diverse crowd that drink there (I have never seen so many snowboarding magazines in one place). Both locals and tourists meet, drink and discuss their fantastic day up the mountain.
The shower I used was great, the hot water always hot and the facilities clean and tidy. There are towels at hand should you need them and I never felt cold in the hostel. (we did in fact have to turn down the heating).
The beds are super comfortable, the pillows so good I am going to try and buy one just like the one in the hostel and I didn't experience any noise from other guests. A good nights sleep was had all round!
We ate there one evening and is was the ideal chance to meet other guests and experience good healthy and very tasty vegetarian food. After eating burgers and pizzas all week this was a well earn t healthy change! The food really was delicious and far far too much for our group to consume. Excellent value for money!
So Guschti and the Capricorn really are great! I hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aestheticvoyager76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed in Capricorn with some friends for a short skiing break in Jan 2012. The hostel was a wonderful family run, cosy feel to it, and serves up a great breakfast every morning. It's in a good location, a short walk from the uber modern Laax resort, and far enough away not to be woken up by loud music at night. Best of all, the owner and his staff cannot do enough for you, from driving your car up and down the icey driveway to lending our free skii goggles to borrow if you forget your own. It';s also got a nice bar and a mix of locals and tourists. I would come back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This place is a great stay if you want clean safe accomodation with great staff Gauri I think his name is very freindly couldnt do enough for us typical europian hostel but great value for money and only 5 min walk from the Ski runs in Laax. we had a great stay thanks again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SgtMaj1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

Regarding the Hotel Capricorn (stayed 26-Mar-2010 – 8-Apr-2010):

• The Capricorn’s owner, Gusti, probably should have never chosen an occupation in the hospitality business, as he almost has no feel for guest relations. He’s quite strict, but if you’re polite and not argumentative, you may get what you ask for.

• Note that the Capricorn is not an actual hotel: there’s no room-service. My vacation lasted 12 days, of which only one day my room was cleaned and bedding changed.
This means you’d have to keep the room clean, as no one will clean it for you.

• The ski-room has no electricity (so, no light, and no drying for boots). However, there was no objection to me taking my snowboard to my room (which enabled me to do wax/edges’ service on my board every evening).

• Transportation:
o Very convenient location, transportation-wise. The Bus from Chur stops at the Laax Marcau (the Via Cons junction). From there it’s less than 60 meters to the hotel. Getting back to Cher is even more convenient as the bus stop is just opposite the hotel across the main road.
The shuttle to/from Laax and Flims Bergbahns (base-stations) stops at the same stops. Shuttles are free.

o In addition to the shuttle that goes between Flims and Falera (number 01), there’s also a shuttle to Salums (number 21) and to Cons (number 22), both stop at the Via Cons junction.

o In case one has missed the last shuttle, the post-bus costs CHF2.40 from Flims bergbahn to Cons.

o See excerpts from the free shuttle timetable at
 http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/8798/laaxshuttletimetable1.png
 http://img691.imageshack.us/img691/2720/laaxshuttletimetable2.png
 http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/161/laaxshuttletimetable3.png

• Laundry:
There are no laundry facilities. Get a shower gel in Volg supermarket (CHF1.40) and do your washing yourself. Drying laundry could be done on the room’s heating-radiator.

• Meals:
o Breakfast is uniform every day, and includes yogurt, fruit, honey, cheeses, butter, prunes, breads, coffee, tea, fruit juice. Boring but satisfactory.

o One can sign for Supper also (I never did, as the meals were vegetarian only).

• Wi-Fi:
Room 14 (first floor), where I stayed, on the corner of the hotel that faces Flims, seems to be right above the Wi-Fi router which is probably in the bar, and has an excellent connection to the Internet (its 54 Mbps, 802.11G). No password necessary.

• If you’re preparing lunch sandwiches, you may ask you leave to products (e.g., Salmon) in the Capricorn’s kitchen’s fridge.

Regarding Laax:

• Of all my snowboarding vacations till today, at Laax I had the most powder - and this include my vacation in Whistler-Blackcomb. As a matter of fact, two days were so snowy and foggy that I decided not to go on the mountain. In retrospect, this seems to be a mistake, because on another day with the same conditions I went on the mountain and even though there were unpleasant parts of the day, due to high winds and visibility of no more than 15 meters, there were other times of the day were the awesome virgin powder stretches would be worth the miserable moments.

• At your hotel and at many other places you may get the piste-plan.
Put it in your snowboarding/ski pants, along with the shuttle timetable.

• In the Nagens easy restaurant, all the food signs are in Romansh/German only (you may use http://www.websters-online-dictionary.com/definition/Romansch-english/).
When you take from the salad-bar (100gr is CHF3.20), the weight of the plate is taken into account. You can use your SkiDirect card in the easy restaurants. When paying with a credit card, sometimes the option to pay in NIS is given: it is more cost effective to pay in CHF.

• A bus ticket (after last Shuttle bus has gone) from Flims Bergbahn to Laax Cons junction is CHF2.40

• From Falera to the ski-site, there’s a 4 chair-lift. A small number have rain covers.

• The Flims-Laax-Falera shuttle stops at Falera post, where you need to take another shuttle (a minibus) to the Falera bergbahn.

• It is possible to get from Vorab glacier all the way down to Flims in one go: it’s 17 KM.


Food:
• There’s no need to buy vegetables in the supermarkets, as one can buy these (by weight) from the salad-bars in the easy restaurants on the mountain.

Shopping:
• If you arrive at the end of March /beginning of April, all the equipment shops are having sales starting at 30%. Flims/Laax is not a shopping Mecca, but bargains could be had.

Supermarkets:
• Volg at the square of the Laax Bergbahn (base station).

• Volg at Laax centre.

• Coop and Donner in Flims (take the shuttle to Flims post, and walk about 50 meters towards the Flims bergbahn on the main roads’ right hand side (mountain-side) sidewalk).

• The petrol station at the Laax Rancho circle has a small shop for emergencies (open 24/7).

• If you buy fruits/vegetables, you have to weigh them before getting to the checkout.

Sauna:
• At Flims/Laax are several wellness centers. The nearest to the Capricorn is the Laax Cons centre, at N10 on the Laax Location map (from the Capricorn, cross the Via Cons road, turn right, cross the field on the asphalt track, go up the hill, and immediately down on the track on the other side of the summit.

• Take to the sauna:
Book, bicycle pants, flippers, soap, shampoo, comb, socks, underpants, t-shirt, umbrella, plastic bags.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whistlerboardrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

We had been there for 2 nights in a double bed room. last night another friend joined us and it was no problem to get a mattress with bedding and bath towels. The hotelier "Guschti" was very cool and kind all the time. There's a room for the ski equipment and small pub to have a beer (or two...) in the evening. We had only breakfast, which was vegetarian. But it was no problem to become powerful for the skiing day. In the evening there is another vegetarian menu possible, but we decided to have eat some meat :-)

The skiing area around Laax with great slopes is one or two stations by bus which stops in front of the hotel. At night there is a club 200m from the hotel, but it was very empty ther because we stood there in the low season...

All in all a good hotel to sleep and go skiing!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffenK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

We were worried about booking at this hotel after the reviews we read. But we were pleasantly suprised at how great it was. Our room was big, and clean with a lovely balcony. The Breakfast was alright, but all you need when your main aim is to get out onto the slopes early. The bar downstairs is funky and the manager was extremely chatty and friendly. Its only 500meters from the main ski lift in LAAX-MURSCTEGT (Spelling?). There is parking as well. All in all it was great value. LAAX is a fantastic resort as well. Great skiing, no queues, excellent mountain restuarants.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saffaGillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laax
0.3 mi away
Riders Palace
Riders Palace
#5 of 10 in Laax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellaval
Hotel Bellaval
#2 of 10 in Laax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Signinahotel
Signinahotel
#3 of 10 in Laax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laaxerhof
Hotel Laaxerhof
#4 of 10 in Laax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Flims
0.4 mi away
Rocksresort
Rocksresort
#1 of 10 in Laax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capricorn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Hostel

Property: Capricorn Hostel
Address: Via Cons, Laax, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Laax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Laax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Capricorn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing