We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, easy, expensive”

Flims Laax Falera Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Laax
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice, easy, expensive”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a very nice week there in mid-Feb 2013. Slopes are pretty easy, and in good condition and well-maintained. The lifts are very new and and the rental areas are superbly done.

Restaurants in the slopes and lift tickets and transportation are expensive.

There were not much queues at the lifts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Espoo_FinlandMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    77
    20
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LAAX EUROPEAN CHAMP”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

It was great to be there during the european championship. I highly recomend you to go during this period of time. Young people with lots of fun and energy were everywhere...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ISIL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good snowboard resort but heavy on the wallet!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just back from Laax-Flims. We visited during the burton open in 2nd week of feb as we wanted to catch a little of the action!
It is advertised as a snowboard friendly resort. A lot of nice blus/red runs for novices however, was expected less prolonged flat traverse areas on runs which can be a pain for snowboarders.
The freeride marked pistes are handy and as we had fresh snow most nights, the off piste conditions were great!
The lifts were speedy with relatively short queues. The board parks were impressive and generally the resort was run well.
Now the downsides....
the resort bus from laax to flims are much less frequent than in other resorts we have visited.
Also the free last bus from Laax to Flims is 1845 thereafter you have to pay CHF 3 for the trip. Considering the high price of lift tickets, you would expect this service to be better!
Apres ski was scant, Given the championships were on, we were expecting more off the slopes and were disappointed.
Food and drink was VERY EXPENSIVE! A hot chocolate or tea will set you back CHF 5 and a burger from a stand cost CHF 12!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great if weather conditions are great”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I love the Laax ski area! There are a variety of slopes, from blue, red and black, and also freeride slopes (which I haven't seen in other ski areas) where you are able to freeride. It has a large funpark. The infrastructure is good, and they invest in the area, with this year two new state of the art skilifts. For example, all the lifts are not very old and well kept.
As well, it is very structured, there are langlauf areas and two sledge areas (in Flims, it is about a 3km slope to go down on the sledge).
There is however a downside to this area. You must first ride a lift at least 15 minutes to get to the middle of the area before starting your day. In some case, we would be 30 minutes uin transit before our first slope, however, then you can take long slopes down. As well, due to weather conditions not all slopes and lifts were open. We were there the first week of february and we only had one day where almost all the lifts were open (except for the casson lift). If you have bad luck, like we did, you can get stuck in the area Plaun where the lifts up were closed and there is no slope down, so we had to take the lift down. I don't know if we just had bad luck with lots of wind that week or if this area is prone to a lot of wind.
We did not get to do the Cassons, which we really wanted to do. It apparently is only open a blue monday if the weather conditions are good. So hopefully we will be able to do it next year.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottevanbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laax Skiing”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great variety, nens downhill course well worth going down. If weather bad tree lined runs down. Glacier run good despite Tbar lift. No waiting at lifts. Plenty of mountain restaurants with good food fairly priced.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Avalanchekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flims Laax Falera Ski Resort also viewed

Flims, Canton of Graubunden
 
Laax, Canton of Graubunden
Flims, Canton of Graubunden
 

Been to Flims Laax Falera Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing