We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but comfortable”
Review of Hotel de Ville

Hotel de Ville
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Ville
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simple but comfortable”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding with many friends, and had a very enjoyable weekend. The room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was a real feast! Only downside is the noise coming from the bar downstairs, if that sort of thing bothers you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gftb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went to chateau d'oex for our daughters baptism. Hotel had great reviews so booked 7 rooms. Hotel failed to mention that there was a live music concert in the hotel bar. Most of my family got to sleep at 3am the time the crowds outside the bar had left. Had not intended to write a review but was given no formal apology further to my emails and not even a mention when we checked out the next morning. Even the staff at the bar said we should have been informed of the event as they know the rooms are badly effected by the vibrations and badly isolated rooms. I am all for success and supporting of country hotels but when money comes before human decency I just can't accept. All the family were totally exhausted for the baptism including my daughter who in finally fell asleep at 2am.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed for three days for a ski trip and was pleasantly surprised .Staff are very friendly and helpful.Rooms are simplly furnished ,pine beds etc and the bathroom was just spotless - the cleansliness puts to shame some 4 star hotels I have stayed at .The shower was realy powerful!

My only issue with the room was I requested a double bed and was given two singles. I could'nt control the heat ,so I did get too hot and opening the window allowed too much early morning traffic noise. But a great location for bars ,cafes etc Fee wi fi .Teas coffees etc again free in the comfortable modern,leather sofa 's lounge.Good breakfast of local breads ,cheese etc .

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel De Ville for the fifth year running in early February.
The staff are always very friendly and we always get our normal room which has very comfortable beds and free wifi. You can go to the lounge anytime of the day and help yourself to a tea , coffee or fruit cordial and there are also biscuits and fresh fruit to enjoy.
The continental breakfast is excellent and you won't go hungry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionsmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The problem is that one entire end of the hotel is a large noisy bar with a smoking patio in front. One third of the rooms are directly above this bar. From early evening until late at night the music pounds away and throngs of well-lubricated smokers yell and shout until all hours. I was awake until 1 AM the first night, 2 AM the second. Otherwise the hotel would be fine; breakfast service is excellent. But until the owner decides if he's in business to sell alcohol or accomodation you must avoid this hotel. You have a one in three chance of having a horrible night. There are plenty of other places to stay in this delightful town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank none88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Right in the centre of Chateau-d'Oex and close to shops, restaurants, cafes and the station.
The hotel is warm and quiet. Slept really well here. Good selection of channels on the TV.
Loved the lounge and the fact that you could make a tea or coffee anytime you wanted and help yourself to biscuits. The rum flavoured chocolate wafers were divine. There was always a bowl of fresh fruit too. It was really pleasant just to be able to sit in the lounge, have a coffee and chat with other guests. One evening a jug of mulled wine had been made for the guests. Wonderful. I wouldn't hestiate to come back here. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The Hôtel-de-Ville is located at the centre of the little village of Château-d'Oex in the Pays d'Enhaut. The scenery in this region is simply breathtaking, the valley being surrounded by mountains, and the valley itself with smooth green hills. This is an enchanted place!
The hotel offers different types of rooms: single, double and family rooms. The room was cosy, spacious and clean, with an old wooden cupboard and a desk, a flatscreen television with cable, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was great too!
The lounge welcomes you for some late afternoon or evening reading, and the Nespresso coffee machine is free service with a range of coffees. Different kinds of teas are also available free of charge, as well as a delicious bowl of fresh fruits. The buffet style breakfast is great, and the service is very friendly and welcoming.
There are a multitude of nature excursions from Château-d'Oex, the nearby tourist towns of Gsdaad and Gruyères, and the train station is only two minutes walk from the hotel. I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelScholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-d'Oex
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roc et Neige
Hotel Roc et Neige
#1 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rosaly
B&B Rosaly
#3 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
35 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rougemont
Hotel Rougemont
#1 of 3 in Rougemont
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ermitage
Ermitage
#6 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Ville

Property: Hotel de Ville
Address: Rue Centrale, Chateau-d'Oex 1660, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chateau-d'Oex
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Ville 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing