We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Roc et Neige

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc et Neige
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Somerset
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

This was an excellant hotel set in the idyllic location of Chateau d'Oex. The suite we had was large, comfortable and clean. The view from our window was breathtaking, snow covered mountains and swiss chalets. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Although we only ate once in the hotel the food we had was very good. Breakfast was continental style with a range of breads, fruit, spreads, cereals and beverages. Our guide from Newmarket Holidays, who was very informative I will add, explained that eggs do need to boil for longer due to the air pressure we were at....... a very good tip. There was a number of bars and restuarants in the town, which was within walking distance from the hotel. Try the Xmas beer in the micro brewery!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrTSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
55
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

The hotel is situated well, only a short walk from the village. All the other reviews are really spot on. The hotel is clean, the rooms large with a couple of easy chairs and a table. They were warm even with the tempreture down to -2. You can walk uphill to the village, the path after you have crossed the road is a bit dark but it is an even surface, you are then right in the village centre. The Coop closes at 5 on a Saturday, and is not open on a Sunday. We ate at the "Bear" which was good, we recomend the fondue, we had the cheese and the meat one. Great. They also will provide an English menu.
The negative points on the hotel, breakfast was a bit meagre, toast, bread, bread rolls(only one day) cheese, tinned fruit, apples and oranges, 2 types of breakfast cereal, 1 type of yoghurt. You can also boil an egg. There is a coffee machine serves all types of coffee and chocolate, there are also lots of choices of teabags.
We didnt take the half board option, other members of the group said it was ok, but there was a set menu, no options. Yes you did have to go to the hatch to collect it.
The bar was good, lovely hot wine and the Cardinal beer was good. The negative was the bar did shut at 11.00 on the dot, and the night before we left it was shut at 10, so when we came back to have a night cap at 10.10 the hotel reception and bar were all locked up, and one guest who was in the bar was told they couldnt have another drink as it was closing

For all this the area is outstanding, and as we were only there 3 days you could put up with it, but the visitor is not king here.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

The hotel is compact, clean and the staff are friendly except for the Madame who owns the hotel who seems permanently stressed and picks arguments with the guests at any given moment. She upset so many of the people who stayed when we did that they gave her the name of ' Madame Frosty Knickers' . It is a lovely place and great location but after a run in with 'The Madame' a few of us never ate there on an evening again. Our tour reps gave the expaination that she has a 'stress problem' but if thats the case, then she shouldn't run a hotel should she? For that reason - we would not return to this hotel - be warned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The hotel was spotlessly clean,hotel staff very friendly and helpful.Food was really good and plenty of it.My room was spotless with TV ,a very comfortable bed and an easy chair.Couldn,t have asked for more.Chateau D'Oex is a charming village set in a valley surrounded by fabulous mountains.Fantastic scenery especially from the tops of the mountains.Easy access by gondola and chair lift up La Braye at the back of the village.The local Co-Op is a short walk away very handy for your picnic lunch.The train station is in the village and lovely panoramic trains take you down to Montreaux.I would love to go back ,a super holiday ,everyone so friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyboop45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

The absolute peace of this place is glorious, though I suspect it may be different when the balloons are up. David Niven chose Chateau d'Oex for his latter years, and his simple grave is in the local cemetery.
Budget hotels are rare in Switzerland, and the Roc et Neige has very good standards for a reasonable price. Breakfast is included and, whilst not particularly extensive, is adequate. Rooms, too, are pleasant, though the lack of a room phone was a little surprising. Staff are all particularly friendly, and the bar (which closes promptly at 11.00pm) was a good meeting place. 0.4l of good Cardinal beer costs 5 CHF, and wines in unusually sized 1/2 litre bottles are 18 CHF.
There is a large Co-op supermarket about 200m away, and the village has several eating places if you don't fancy the fixed menu available in the evenings, and just 200m away down the road is the Irish bar, in which you may well find some interesting characters!
Gruyères and Gstaad are close by, and this really is a gorgeous part of Switzerland. You could do a lot worse than try the Roc et Neige.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

Chateau D'Oex is a small village in a valley surrounded by towering mountains. The setting is wonderfully pastoral with the constant tinkling of cowbells.
It is about a two hour drive from Geneva airport. If you are planning on hiring a car, do so from the airport or Montreux. The cost of rental in the village is prohibitive, at least three times the cost of hiring at the airport.
The hotel is what I would call cheap and cheerful. If you are looking for fancy meals, big rooms and lots of facilities, this is not for you. The rooms are rather small with just enough room to swing the proverbial cat. They are however spotlessly clean.
Meals are very basic but wholesome nevertheless. Breakfast is a self service buffet of limited range. Evening meals consist of a salad buffet and/or soup to start and a set main course served from the kitchen hatch followed by a set desert. There are plenty of other places to eat but you will pay much more for a three course meal.
There is a small bar next to the dining room.
The local railway station is a ten minute walk away where you can get trains to just about anywhere. If you are planning on making numerous train journeys, get a rail card in advance as paying for individual journeys is very expensive.
The local cable car is also ten minutes away but I can recommend going to Rougemont, one station away and then going on their cable car to the very top. Views are stupendous and there is great walking to be had.
In summary, this hotel is very ordinary but in an extraordinary setting.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cramped
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank nottinghampaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

During our all inclusive trip to Switzerland, we stay at the Hotel Roc et Neige, Chateau-d'oex. The hotel was well presented with friendly polite staff who were always very helpful. Although the rooms were basic they were comfortable, very clean and was above average for a 3* hotel. The breakfast buffet is self service with a good selection of breakfast foods. The hotel also offers a set evening meal and a bar is also avaliable.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldwideLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-d'Oex
0.3 mi away
Ermitage
Ermitage
#5 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Ville
Hotel de Ville
#2 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rosaly
B&B Rosaly
#3 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#2 of 2 in Rossiniere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
6.3 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc et Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc et Neige

Property: Hotel Roc et Neige
Address: route des Monnaires 46, Chateau-d'Oex 1660, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chateau-d'Oex
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc et Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Roc et Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing