We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore the amazing area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Roc et Neige

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc et Neige
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great base to explore the amazing area”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Basic, clean rooms with wheelchair lift for access to additional accommodation. Very friendly staff and incredible outlook from the dining area. Chateau d'Oex is amazingly picturesque with a few steep slopes too in the centre! Drove to Gstaad, Gruyere and Lucerne easily enough from this location. Well worth doing a balloon flight from the ballooning capital!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    57
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
55
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
heswall, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

This hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the surrounding area - it is clean and functional with a quality tv in the bedroom, comfortable beds, an adequate breakfast and an option to take an evening meal which although not cheap by UK standards compares favourably cost wise with restaurant meals.
Now for the negatives. Don't come here if you want an hotel with a good atmosphere. The hostess appeared all but disinterested in her guests with a cold and unaccommodating manner - to the point of refusing changes to her seating plan to allow guests to sit by the window in the restaurant. There was a constant "hovering presence" at breakfast by the hotel owner which we found intimidating, especially given no attempt at conversation was ever made and she and her staff regularly sat down at the table next to us to eat while breakfast was still being served (at this point we were the only people in the hotel and so all the other tables were empty). The breakfast offered was exactly the same every morning - same tinned fruit, same bread, same basic cereal, same peach yoghurt - apart from Sunday when the brown bread was replaced by brioche.
Although the rooms were adequate there was no option to turn the heating on if you felt cold (which I did one day) as it came on automatically apparently linked to external probes. Likewise the extractor fan in the bathroom was also on a timer and didn't work between 10.30 a.m. and 4.00 p.m.
As we were out travelling and visiting most of the time this did not spoil our holiday but we left with the distinct impression that this hotel is run according to a tight schedule and budget which do not allow for indulging the guests who stay there.
Notwithstanding the above, the scenery was BREATHTAKING and we loved Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Enjoyed our stay with comfortable rooms, good breakfast and bar. The staff were nice, except when you cook brown bread in the white bread toaster!!!! Great views from the rooms, but the only real negatives are no coffee or tea making facilities, and the fact that the showers can just stop at any moment, or sometimes the hot water just stops working.

Room Tip: Close to the main street and make sure to try the local beer and food from the bistro restaurant in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillearious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Apologies - for delay in posting review. Our visit was June 2007.
The river runs along the bottom of the valley. The main road (very few buildings) runs parallel but higher. Above this is the main street with shops and houses, and above this the railway line. The hotel lies between the river and the main road, so most places are uphill when you leave the hotel. It would take 5-10 minutes for most people to reach the train station next to the hotel/restaurant Buffet de la Gare.
The hotel consists of a row of interconnected chalets with covered paths leading to the main building housing the reception, dining room and bar. There are nice lawns with tables, chairs and loungers and the sound of the stream.
Our room had 4 single beds - 2 of which were pushed together. There was a TV, 5-drawer chest, shelving, an open hanging space and lots of coat hooks along the wall. Also a dining table with 4 chairs. The bathroom had a basin, loo, shower with curtain and lots of towel rails. Although tiny it was well laid out. Hairdryers could be borrowed from reception at no extra charge.
The 3 of us stayed in June 2007. The room was great except at night almost everyone in the hotel complained they couldn’t sleep because of the heat. We knew there was no air-conditioning, but it wasn’t possible to open the window just a little – it had to be closed or wide open. The foam mattress was like a soft marshmallow – you would sink in and it wrapped its warmth around you. There were winter weight duvets on the beds so we asked for extra sheets and slept under a sheet.
Breakfast was mainly breads, cheeses, cold meat, yogurts, cereals, fruit juice, coffee, selection of tea bags and a big bowl of apples, which was sufficient for us.
The dinner menu was posted in reception. I think there was just one choice for each course each night. The meal was served at 7pm. Most people had booked half board but we had only booked bed and breakfast. We could book dinner at reception in the morning for that evening. I believe there was a lovely selection of quiches the first evening. Other evenings meals included curry and salmon.
The hotel staff was very helpful. The husband speaks English but his wife doesn’t.
There were not many restaurants open in the village during the week, but there were a few more at the weekend. Our favourites were Buffet de la Gare (including fondue) and Brasserie l’Ours (microbrewery) with the bronze bear outside. It seems to provide the food for the tables in the square at l’Hotel de Ville bar. Hotel Le Richemont has a downstairs bar serving pizza etc, and Chinese restaurant upstairs.
We took tours to Bern, Interlaken, Gruyeres and Montreux. We took the train to the Cailler (Nestle) factory at Broc-Fabrique ( change at Montbovon and Bulle), and train, post bus and cable cars via Gstaad to Glacier 3000 above Les Diablerets. The official in Chateau d’Oex train station office was very helpful and printed out mini timetables for the routes and times we wanted. You can buy one return ticket right through. If we return we would be happy to get a Swiss Rail Card and travel from Geneva airport and explore by train and post bus.
There is a swimming pool at the camp site in the village but when we were there the weather wasn’t warm enough to tempt us. There is a sports centre with an ice rink, bowling, tennis courts and the cinema was open at weekends. The riding school is just below the hotel. Chateau d’Oex has a hot air balloon centre and a festival of balloons in winter.
There is a big Co-op supermarket in the village, which is almost underground, near the bottom of the La Braye cable car, and small shops scattered through the village on the main street.
Most of the places we visited were in the French speaking area. Bern and Gstaad are in German areas. In many of the shops etc the staff spoke little or no English so it would be good to have even beginners French.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collingwood39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Visited with coach group, welcoming hotel which was good value if you ate with the group on the special discount 5 nights booking. A bit like school dinners but well made.
Eating out is very expensive... infact everything in Switzerland is very expensive.
Very clean hotel with polite staff.
Town is very nice & quiet

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have nice views as hotel is downhill from the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Just returned from a short break. Comfortable room but shame there were no coffee making facilities in the room. Friendly bar staff but do not touch the egg boiler! Roger's best day was the last at the airport. He was very efficient here. His commentary on our one trip was heavy on car dealerships, solar panels and different styles of Swiss architecture but light on history and, to be brutal, this was of limited interest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevorw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday with Newmarket staying in this hotel in Switzerland. The hotel is located in a lovely village surrounded by mountains. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean with spacious rooms and comfy beds. The only thing I would have liked was a slip mat for the shower as I am abit unsteady on my legs and was frightened of falling (maybe these are not available in Switzerland). There are a few negative comments regarding the dining room and yes it is inconvenient to have to eat at 7.00pm on the dot but I can understand that with very few guests it would be uneconomical to keep the dining room open all evening. We also appreciated having tables and chairs in the grounds and a few sun loungers as when the weather is warm it is nice to sit outdoors.
We had one meal at the hotel then ate in the village but it is expensive. Breakfast was adequate for our needs.
Roger the Tour Manager is very enthusiastic about his job and obviously adores Switzerland as his knowledge is exceptional. We thought the holiday was extremely good value for money and would certainly travel with Newmarket again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftyishwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-d'Oex
0.3 mi away
Ermitage
Ermitage
#5 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Ville
Hotel de Ville
#2 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rosaly
B&B Rosaly
#3 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
2.3 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#2 of 2 in Rossiniere
18 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc et Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc et Neige

Property: Hotel Roc et Neige
Address: route des Monnaires 46, Chateau-d'Oex 1660, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chateau-d'Oex
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc et Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Roc et Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing