We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, make your showers short.”
Review of Hotel Roc et Neige

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Roc et Neige
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Enjoyed our stay with comfortable rooms, good breakfast and bar. The staff were nice, except when you cook brown bread in the white bread toaster!!!! Great views from the rooms, but the only real negatives are no coffee or tea making facilities, and the fact that the showers can just stop at any moment, or sometimes the hot water just stops working.

Room Tip: Close to the main street and make sure to try the local beer and food from the bistro restaurant in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillearious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 142 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

Apologies - for delay in posting review. Our visit was June 2007.
The river runs along the bottom of the valley. The main road (very few buildings) runs parallel but higher. Above this is the main street with shops and houses, and above this the railway line. The hotel lies between the river and the main road, so most places are uphill when you leave the hotel. It would take 5-10 minutes for most people to reach the train station next to the hotel/restaurant Buffet de la Gare.
The hotel consists of a row of interconnected chalets with covered paths leading to the main building housing the reception, dining room and bar. There are nice lawns with tables, chairs and loungers and the sound of the stream.
Our room had 4 single beds - 2 of which were pushed together. There was a TV, 5-drawer chest, shelving, an open hanging space and lots of coat hooks along the wall. Also a dining table with 4 chairs. The bathroom had a basin, loo, shower with curtain and lots of towel rails. Although tiny it was well laid out. Hairdryers could be borrowed from reception at no extra charge.
The 3 of us stayed in June 2007. The room was great except at night almost everyone in the hotel complained they couldn’t sleep because of the heat. We knew there was no air-conditioning, but it wasn’t possible to open the window just a little – it had to be closed or wide open. The foam mattress was like a soft marshmallow – you would sink in and it wrapped its warmth around you. There were winter weight duvets on the beds so we asked for extra sheets and slept under a sheet.
Breakfast was mainly breads, cheeses, cold meat, yogurts, cereals, fruit juice, coffee, selection of tea bags and a big bowl of apples, which was sufficient for us.
The dinner menu was posted in reception. I think there was just one choice for each course each night. The meal was served at 7pm. Most people had booked half board but we had only booked bed and breakfast. We could book dinner at reception in the morning for that evening. I believe there was a lovely selection of quiches the first evening. Other evenings meals included curry and salmon.
The hotel staff was very helpful. The husband speaks English but his wife doesn’t.
There were not many restaurants open in the village during the week, but there were a few more at the weekend. Our favourites were Buffet de la Gare (including fondue) and Brasserie l’Ours (microbrewery) with the bronze bear outside. It seems to provide the food for the tables in the square at l’Hotel de Ville bar. Hotel Le Richemont has a downstairs bar serving pizza etc, and Chinese restaurant upstairs.
We took tours to Bern, Interlaken, Gruyeres and Montreux. We took the train to the Cailler (Nestle) factory at Broc-Fabrique ( change at Montbovon and Bulle), and train, post bus and cable cars via Gstaad to Glacier 3000 above Les Diablerets. The official in Chateau d’Oex train station office was very helpful and printed out mini timetables for the routes and times we wanted. You can buy one return ticket right through. If we return we would be happy to get a Swiss Rail Card and travel from Geneva airport and explore by train and post bus.
There is a swimming pool at the camp site in the village but when we were there the weather wasn’t warm enough to tempt us. There is a sports centre with an ice rink, bowling, tennis courts and the cinema was open at weekends. The riding school is just below the hotel. Chateau d’Oex has a hot air balloon centre and a festival of balloons in winter.
There is a big Co-op supermarket in the village, which is almost underground, near the bottom of the La Braye cable car, and small shops scattered through the village on the main street.
Most of the places we visited were in the French speaking area. Bern and Gstaad are in German areas. In many of the shops etc the staff spoke little or no English so it would be good to have even beginners French.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collingwood39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Visited with coach group, welcoming hotel which was good value if you ate with the group on the special discount 5 nights booking. A bit like school dinners but well made.
Eating out is very expensive... infact everything in Switzerland is very expensive.
Very clean hotel with polite staff.
Town is very nice & quiet

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have nice views as hotel is downhill from the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Just returned from a short break. Comfortable room but shame there were no coffee making facilities in the room. Friendly bar staff but do not touch the egg boiler! Roger's best day was the last at the airport. He was very efficient here. His commentary on our one trip was heavy on car dealerships, solar panels and different styles of Swiss architecture but light on history and, to be brutal, this was of limited interest.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday with Newmarket staying in this hotel in Switzerland. The hotel is located in a lovely village surrounded by mountains. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean with spacious rooms and comfy beds. The only thing I would have liked was a slip mat for the shower as I am abit unsteady on my legs and was frightened of falling (maybe these are not available in Switzerland). There are a few negative comments regarding the dining room and yes it is inconvenient to have to eat at 7.00pm on the dot but I can understand that with very few guests it would be uneconomical to keep the dining room open all evening. We also appreciated having tables and chairs in the grounds and a few sun loungers as when the weather is warm it is nice to sit outdoors.
We had one meal at the hotel then ate in the village but it is expensive. Breakfast was adequate for our needs.
Roger the Tour Manager is very enthusiastic about his job and obviously adores Switzerland as his knowledge is exceptional. We thought the holiday was extremely good value for money and would certainly travel with Newmarket again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiftyishwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have had our second stay in this lovely hotel and our expectations were surpassed. We were welcomed as old friends by Martine & Alain and, as requested, were given the same room as last year. Our four-course meals were once again first class and plentiful and certainly good value for money. We had no need to take up the offers of second helpings. The salads in particular were varied, tasty and attractively prepared by Ana, who also welcomed us with open arms and who was always ready with a smile to offer us any help we needed. The hotel is very fortunate to have such a gem as Ana on their staff. Last year it was much more expensive to eat out, so we were pleased that on this occasion we took up the option of half-board.

We booked the hotel, as before, with Newmarket Holidays and were pleased to find that our Tour manager was once again Roger. His expertise and tireless enthusiasm ensured that we made the most of our stay in this heavenly spot. There were daily excursions to various places of interest but if, like us, you wish to spend some time exploring on foot, there are numerous Wanderweg options, all clearly signed; the delightful, clean & punctual railway, running through this spectacular valley, just ten minutes from the hotel and La Braye cable car almost adjacent.

The cable car transports you smoothly to Praz Perron where you can take the chairlift to La Braye at 1630 metres. One of the most treasured memories of this holiday is our walk from the restaurant, towards Sur le Grin, where after 15 minutes strolling and listening to the musical cowbells all around us, we found the chalet/farmhouse, adjacent to the Cabane de la Sarouche, owned by Dominique Yersin. He welcomed us into his kitchen so that we could watch him making the superb local L'Etivaz cheese. We then enjoyed a meal of cheese & pickles, wine, fruit juice and heavenly meringue with double cream, beautifully served by Maja, who treated us just like old friends. She was more than willing to show us around, explain the workings of the farm and to answer any questions which we had before we reluctantly left this idyllic spot.

At the end of each day it was a delight to relax in the attractive and comfortable lounge in the hotel, knowing that a comfortable bed awaited to provide us with a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JacarandaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Enjoyed a very comfortable stay here. Our room was larger than expected and spotlessly clean - as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfasts were fine for us - the local cheese was enjoyable. Only had dinner on one evening in the hotel as we like to eat out at local restaurants. The dinner we had was fine and cost less than in the local restaurants.

The bar service was adequate - choice of drinks a bit limited, opening hours quite short but the lounge was very pleasant. Drinks prices were Swiss !

The resort was between the skiing season and the summer walking/cycling etc season so unfortunately no mountain lifts were in operation (closed for maintenance) and the village outdoor pool was not due to open until the following week - all something to be aware of if you choose to visit at this time. Some restaurants were also closed but there were sufficient open to provide variety and all were within easy walking distance of the hotel. Everywhere was spotless and the food and service were all of a high standard.

Others have mentioned the excellent Golden Pass rail service and we also found it to be very good indeed, using it for an enjoyable day out in Montreux. The lakeside promenade there provides a very pleasant stroll with surrounding plants, trees and gardens; and across the lake a wonderful backdrop of high mountains.

We'd be happy to stay there again in the future

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-d'Oex
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Ville
Hotel de Ville
#2 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rosaly
B&B Rosaly
#3 of 14 in Chateau-d'Oex
39 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel de Gruyeres Wellness & Seminaires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#2 of 2 in Rossiniere
20 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chamois
Hotel Le Chamois
#3 of 4 in Les Diablerets
101 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 1 in Montbovon
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc et Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc et Neige

Address: route des Monnaires 46, Chateau-d'Oex 1660, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chateau-d'Oex
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Chateau-d'Oex
Price Range: $140 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc et Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roc et Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing