We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpina
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lenk im Simmental
Canterbury, NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Small Hotel”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were 2 couples hiking across this part of Switzerland and received a wonderful welcome. It is in a quiet part of town with lovely views of mountains. The breakfast was very extensive (much more than you would expect at a pension) with a vast array of local raised food products (milk, cheese, yogurt, meats, etc). The owner of the hotel even came up with a duffle bag of sorts that we could use to send some of our gear to the next town so that we wouldn't have to carry on our backs. We wanted to take an early bus to start our next day's hiking and they served breakfast early just for us. We have stayed in this town many times and I wish we had discovered this hotel earlier; stay here if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhkswis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We received a very warm and friendly reception when we arrived here and the rooms were really nice and clean with our own outdoor area and bench to sit on and look out over the mountains. We'd been walking from East to West across Swizerland so were delighted to have received a cool beer from the owners when we arrived and the offer of putting our dirty walking clothes in their washing machine! It was like staying with an Aunt and Uncle. The breakfast was very good with all local produce and homemade yoghurt and bread. I'd recommend this hotel to others and if my husband and I return to Lenk we'll be staying here too. Oh and they allowed dogs too which is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

On a recent end to end walk on the Alpine Pass Route of Switzerland. The walk book said this hotel 'excellent' .... and it was, great modern room, great breakfast. More to the point it was good value for money. I would recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

Hotel Alpina is a well placed small hotel on the edge of Lenk handy for the Leiterli Gondola.

The friendly owners make you feel at home while the rooms have balconies with excellent views and en suite bathrooms all at the same price other hotels charge for their poky unrenovated rooms with shared bathrooms.

The hotel does not do evening meals but with a wide variety of cuisine available in the village that isn't a problem.

Hikers are offered a discount and we were given so much food to take away with us at breakfast time we didn't need to buy a packed lunch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumbrianscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenk im Simmental hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz
Hotel Kreuz
#4 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Simmenhof
Hotel Simmenhof
#3 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Residence
Alpenhotel Residence
#8 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lenk Lodge
Lenk Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue Lenk
Parkhotel Bellevue Lenk
#11 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Property: Hotel Alpina
Address: Badgaessli 3, Lenk im Simmental 3775, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Lenk im Simmental
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Lenk im Simmental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpina 2*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpina Switzerland/Lenk Im Simmental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing