We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended for people with food allergies - very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Lenk im Simmental
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Not recommended for people with food allergies - very dissapointing”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel for anyone with serious food allergies. My wife is coeliac and must avoid gluten at all costs. In a 3 day stay, she was presented with food containng gluten 3 times. We had to be constantly on our guard to make sure she did not eat gluten. Given that one cannot always recognise gluten in food, we ate our meals with some significant trepidation and could not relax.

In addition, my wife has Meniere's disease and must avoid salt wherever possible. But waiters would say there was no salt in food wihtout checking with the chef. On a couple ofoccasions, waiters assured us that a particular food had no salt but, after we had tasted the food, they agreed to check with the chef and sheepishly reported back that there was some salt.

We had decided to stay at this hotel primarily because it is supposed to be a very high quality "kur" hotel which suggests they should know about people with allergies. They assured us at check-in after detailed discussions and consultation with the chef that they could easily deal with all my wife's allergies and could give her tasty food. They failed abismally on both counts. On our second night there, my wife left the dinner hungry having been unable to find much she could eat out of the large aray of dishes offered. We got the distinct impression that the chef did not care about giving my wife suitable food.

When we discussed this with the manager, all he did was to say that he could not understand what had happened, that this was not their normal way of doing things, and that they always handle allergies well. He did apologise and sent flowers to our room (the latter was not much use as we were leaving the next day!).

At dinner that night things went better my wife's food was tastier but a waiter still delivered the wrong dish to my wife and the same happened at breakfast the next morning.

We had a lovely room, the spa was excellent when it was working which was not all the time - again a dissapointment as this was the second reason we went there.

We have never had an experience like this despite being very widely travelled.

This is a very expensive place to stay and we wouldn't have minded paying the price had the service been up to our expectations and up to what the hotel said it could and would do when we checked in.

I guess a positive thing to say is that the staff all smiled a great deal and seemed to be trying hard to please.

As I said, if you have serious allergies, think again before going to the Lenkerhof.

In respect to the optional questions, there was a free internet connection in the room but no free wi-fi. Free car parking was available outdoors but one would have had to pay to park underground which I guess you would want in winter. Spa was good when it worked but would be a bit small if the htel was full.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GEOMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenkerhof3775, Geschäftsführer at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madame, thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately we could not satisfy your wishes. Therefore we are very sorry and apologize once again. Especially for allergic guests we do sign out all the dishes which are gluten free with a green sign each evening in our menu. It was even more complicated to find non-gluten, non-salted and still tasteful meals for you, because you did not pre-book your stay.

Nevertheless we hope that you keep some nice souvenirs and wish you a joyful stay in Switzerland. Jan Stiller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    63
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
107
430
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kandersteg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Lenkerhof is my absolute dream hotel in the beautiful bernese oberland.
A five star hotel with a young & trendy spirit.
The food is absolutely delicious...I have been there a few times and food is even getting better - incredible!!!
It is a wonderful hotel to relax & enjoy! You feel like newly born even after a short visit at the Lenkerhof!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank COKandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We recently returned from a weekend at the Lenkerhof and I have to say I would have liked to stay a few more days. It was the end of January, the sun was out, not a cloud in the sky and the Alps were sparkling. On arrival, my husband I were offered a warm foamy orange and quince juice — and thus began 2 days of complete relaxation.
The Lenkerhof is situated in the village of Lenk in the Bernese Oberland, just steps away from the Betelberg Mountain and gondola lift. Once at the top, you can ski right down to the hotel or to other lifts. Even if you are not a down-hill skier, you can cross-country ski, snowshoe, or just walk on the many scenic paths in the area.
Our room, (called a junior suite) was a spacious bedroom with couch, Bang and Olufson stereo and flat screen TV. The terrace faced the mountains giving us the most spectacular view. The bathroom was comfortable with Italian shower, deep bath and two sinks. Toilet is separate. I suppose the decor could be described as avant-garde country-minimalist — a combination of rustic and modern, yet not too over the top in either — it is on the stark side, though for some, this can help the uncluttering begin.
There are two dining rooms, the larger with closed in terrace facing the Alps serves a 15-(albeit small) course meal where you can pick as many (or all) of the courses. It is excellent. You may not want to order all 15, but I suggest you do if you want to get the most value for your money. Each course is beautifully presented and while they may be only a few bites each, you will definitely leave the table satisfied. For breakfast, a large buffet is served here that includes everything from local meats and cheeses to fruit, eggs, yogurt, bacon and all types of grains which you can grind yourself to make your own muesli... (There are ready-made conventional cold cereals as well). The decor is modern in shades of teal and ochre with a large saltwater aquarium in the middle. The second dining room (the Mediterranean room) is only open for dinner. It is smaller, cozier, and serves a tapas-style meal. Again luscious but small courses arrive (7 in all) where you choose your main course and dessert. The ambiance is lovely — the seating for many of the tables are on “Victorian-style” settees, so you sit next to your dining partner instead of facing him/her...Lovely if you if want a little romance. Right opposite this dining room are the stairs leading down to the wine cellar. Between 6 and 7 p.m. there is a drop-in wine-tasting where you can sample and pick the wine you want to accompany your dinner.
On the weekend there is live entertainment by the fire in the bar/lobby.
What I loved most about the hotel was the gorgeous spa area. There is an indoor pool and an outdoor sulphur pool (which is filled from the natural sulphur spring in the area. The outdoor pool (which you access from the indoor pool) is heated to 34 degrees C. and includes a rack that you lie on while the bubble jets massage you. Naturally the pool faces the mountains to complete the feeling of sensory pleasure. There is a fitness room and several saunas from which to choose. The large dry sauna with picture windows that face the mountains, a dry herb sauna, a wet sulphur sauna, a bio sauna, a cold sauna and a sulphur dry sauna. Also in this area are showers as well as a resting room complete with deck chairs facing the mountains. Hot water is available from a large silver samovar and a selection of teas, sulphur water and juice are offered. Bathing suits aren’t allowed in the sauna area, just towels and robes, and some guests aren’t shy, so keep that in mind. You can also choose a whole selection of wellness therapies from traditional facials and messages, to specialty therapies like the Lenk hay peeling (using hay, herbs and grasses) mudpacks with sulphur water, stones, Tibetan sound bowls or the coffee peeling and bath in a vanilla-coocnut wrap. I opted for the soft pac — which is 40 minutes of lying on a water mattress swaddled in an herbal wrap. Very Zen! Most of the wellness therapies are expensive so be prepared to shell out anywhere from 75 - 250 CHF depending on the therapy and length of time. The staff throughout the hotel are young and very eager to please. This hotel is both a place for a romantic getaway and is also family friendly. It is expensive, but on the half-board plan with European-style haute-cuisine dining and taxes included, the prices are not that much out of line with any top hotel or restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentlejourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel is very, very convincing! The relaxed atmosphere coupled with 5-star luxury and the corresponding service is just wonderful; and the best: no snobs to be found! You are welcomed directly at car and then guided to the friendly receptions staff that will show you around if you wish so. Welcome drink upon completion of the check-in formalities included.
Arrived in the large junior suite nostalgia we found everything necessary for our 8-month-old (baby bed, baby bath robe, lotions and oils and even a stuffed animal too !!!). The suite was well equipped (incl. B & O stereo), bed very comfortable and the mini bar with free non-alcoholic drinks. The only downside was the size of the bathroom: a bit too small. Very handy feature is that you do not need a baby phone: one simply chooses the front desks number and puts the receiver off the phone and then, if your youngest cries the front desk staff will get to you (it worked perfectly).
Complaints were handled professionally.
A true highlight, beside the nice SPA was the restaurant. We were on half board and you can choose between two different restaurants in the evening. Altogether there are about 15 courses from which one can compose his dinner - you can try out all 15 if you want! Deeply impressed by quality and presentation. The same was with the breakfast buffet: no peer found so far!
The Lenkerhof definitely ranks in our top 3 of our visited five-star hotels. We had wonderful days that have its price, however, are worth every centime. Keep it up Lenkerhof we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grischtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Nice hotel - varying degrees of luxury in all the rooms - apparently to suit all pockets from 3, 4, to 5 star. We had a 'design room' (the mid range option I think) - the room didn't really warrant the title - it was bland and a little dated but perfectly acceptable - clean and really spacious with a decent bathroom and a lovely view. Beds large and comfortable. Complimentary mini bar providing soft drinks only. Complimentary fruit bowls to be found throughout hotel too.

The rest of the hotel is tasteful in parts, bland in others and some of the public areas have a bit of a 1990's hairdresser feel - wrought iron, steel, crushed velvet, sponge paint effects - but there are some lovely original architectural features in the building too - huge fireplace, lovely windows, original floors.

Spa area is great - all included in room price. The outdoor pool with powerful massage jets looks over the bottom of the ski slope 15 meters away. While you soak outdoors in 34 degrees, skiers and snowboarders plough past energetically at below zero. Six different types of sauna to choose from - this area is well thought out, very clean, very calm and relaxing. Herbal tea, coffee - all complimentary in this area as are some fitness sessions.

The staff are attentive - young, friendly and really enthusiastic about their jobs. Great service, willing to go the extra mile - they will readily arrange cabs, book restaurants etc, all with a happy smile.

Waiters behind the main bar will mix up a great cocktail and are great hosts. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality.

Skiing:
Closest gondola for Betelberg is one minute walk away. The skiing is in the region is pretty good - of course, it would be difficult to match Verbier or Zermatt and the geography of this particular alpine area means you'll find some steep pistes which will flatten out for a while, then get steep again rather than the complete downhill descents you might find a bit further south. Decent variety of slopes in Adelboden-Lenk region and a quick chat with a ski slope employee confirmed that some of the blue pistes in the region should really be reds, some reds are closer to black. No further explanation offered for this however but you may (?) find some slopes slightly more challenging than advertised. Beginners slopes on Betelberg use drag lifts rather than magic carpets. Ski passes available from hotel reception - hotel provides 5 CHF shuttle service to larger Adelboden-Lenk ski stations too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvercl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We had a wonderfull experience in Lenkerhof and will try to return as we can.
We stayed for 3 days during the week in Sep - Oct. The view is amazing, spa is superb, breakfast to die for, dining very good but expensive. Take a lift by the hotel and hike the alps - you'll enjoy it. In fact, after staying and hiking over there, Interlaken area hadn't impressed us. One more thing - happy cows, everywhere...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMECTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muenchen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We just returnd from a 2 weeks winter wacation at Lenkerhof.We have been regular visiters more then 10 times within 3 or 4 Years.This Time the overall experience was very disappointing
for the price. The Hotel Manager was very arrogant and unhelpful. He preferred to sit at the bar with a cigar.The service was mixed.The Food was still good ,but not as excellent as at used to be.Many repeetings the next day in the menu.Everything like a newspaper in the Morning or parking in the Garage is very expensive.They really charge for everything.But the Cost for the Room is already very high..for this Price there are better options now.We loved the hotel reaLLY MUCH IN THE PAST BUT it is not
the same anymore.The Managment is extremly uninterrested and unhelpful if any problems appears.In the Past it used to be family frendly and nice for both kids and adults.Not any more..There was no program in the kids club not even a new years party as advertised.All kids were really disappointed and to top it the hotel maanger shooted at every kid who was to noisy in his opinion.All in all not a nice experience.The wellness and spa is still very nice.

  • Liked — the location spa food
  • Disliked — hotel managment not the high standard it used to be in the past
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MuenchenGoogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenk im Simmental
6.5 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
806 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
386 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Simmenhof
Hotel Simmenhof
#3 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
515 reviews
7.9 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort

Property: Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Address: Badstrasse 20 | Postfach 241, Lenk im Simmental 3775, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Lenk im Simmental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
#1 Spa Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
#1 Green Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lenkerhof in Lenk close to Gstaad features a wide range of up-to-date wellness facilities including indoor and outdoor pools, saunas, steam baths and jacuzzis.You can unwind in the open-air sulphur pool, enjoy a massage, bathe in the music tub, or simply indulging in a beauty treatment.Fine à-la-carte Mediterranean or Swiss cuisine with a French touch is served in the restaurant. Combined with the stunning views from the winter garden you will enjoy a great dining experience. Wine tasting is offered from 18:00 to 18:30.The exclusively furnished rooms in the Lenkerhof Alpine Resort provide for a peaceful night's rest. The alcohol-free drinks at the minibar are free of charge.Private indoor parking is subject to a charge. Free parking outdoors is available as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenkerhof Alpine Hotel Lenk-Simmental
Lenkerhof Gourmet Spa Resort Switzerland/Lenk Im Simmental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing