We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy”
Review of Hotel Rigi First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rigi First
Ranked #2 of 3 Rigi Kaltbad B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cosy”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here with my Topdeck tour for two nights, the staff was so lovely. A group of us came inside after playing in the snow and the owner came out to talk to us, asking where each of us was from – we felt so welcomed. It’s pretty special when your hotel is on top of a mountain and you have to take a cable car up there above the clouds every day! Rooms were a bit of a mission to get to, up and down lots of little stairs carrying suitcases. The other downside was the walk from the cable car dock to the hotel (about a 15minute walk through the snow), but the views are so amazing you kind of forget how far you’re walking. As someone in our group described them, the views are pretty much Microsoft backgrounds.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oohlalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel/guesthouse as part of a Topdeck winter tour. The location is stunning - it's close to the top of Mt Rigi (cable car or train to the station, then a 15 minute walk to the hotel). It snowed almost the entire time we were here, and it made the setting beautiful. The hotel is warm, with large rooms, free wi-fi in the lobby (and some rooms I think), and the food was great. A little dated in areas, the beds were very short, and the showers very low (tall people struggled to sleep and get clean!). Overall though this was a magical place to spend a couple of nights, and worked as a great base to explore Lucerne as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour we were on and absolutely loved it. When we arrived at the top of the mountain we were all speechless and so excited, it is just a stunning place to stay. Even the walk from the tram that goes up the mountain to the hotel (around 10 minutes) was so enjoyable, I couldn't stop taking photos of the incredible mountains and snow capped cottages.

The hotel itself is simple but comfortable. It has a really homely, almost backpacker-ish vibe to it - but in a good way. The staff are really friendly. The food is delicious. It feels almost like you're in a home away from home.

I loved the little mismatched and charming decor, the wooden faces carved into the pillars of the house, the wooden cabin vibe, the bear skins on the walls.

The bar downstairs is really cute and quirky, lots of weird little pinball machines and awesome drinks (tasty cider!), and with the bar guys they make it lots of fun. The only problem we had was that our room was next to the bar, and when things got rowdy there it was hard to sleep with the noise. But that was the only problem we had there.

The rooms aren't incredible, but they are very clean and comfortable. The sheets and blankets are huge and downy and keep you warm as anything. The bathrooms are big and clean, and the shower works perfectly.

We only stayed here for a night, but it was a beautiful, comfortable little cabin that I would definitely consider returning to. Suitable for families, couples and singles. Definitely a winner!

Room Tip: Try not to be next to the bar - if things get rowdy you can hear it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunnabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The area is simply breathtaking and while the hotel is quite dated and doesn't have all the fancy things modern hotels have, it has some things that were nice to have for a change. Like space! Our room was as big as a suite with a very big bed and a big bathroom and an entrance area to hang our jackets and bags. The wooden feel makes it really cosy and fitting in the Swiss countryside. The breakfast was typically continental but we really coudn't fault it. It's a bit of a walk from the Rigi-Bahn station but its easy and scenic. We would stay there again. Its unpretentious and comfortable, clean and warm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandrob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Topdeck Tour with 40+ people.

After a 20 min train ride up the mountain we then began our 15 min walk to the hotel. As it was the first snowfall of the season, it was a beautiful walk. Even if it hadn't of snowed, the scenery around this place is absolutely beautiful!

Our room was very large and spacious. We had two large single beds, however, being long legged people, didn't have much room to spread out as there were wooden slats at the end. The beds also were either brand new or traditional Swiss style beds as they were so hard and not a comfortable night sleep.

The bathroom was a good, reasonable size. A lot bigger than we expected. Two sinks, toilet behind door and a very deep bathtub. We couldn't shower here (only bath) as, even though a shower head was provided, we would have to squat anyway in order to shower properly. The hot water lasted forever! It was like heaven!

The view from our room was spectacular. We were at the back of the hotel and had the mountain scenery. Beautiful!

The heating in the place was great! A few times we had to turn the heater off and open the windows! You definitely wouldn't get cold here!

Dinner was great. A nice Swiss meal for two nights. The dining room felt very cosy. Breakfast was ordinary; just the usual European continental style breakfast. The breakfast room was however very hot and you wouldn't last 10 mins in there!

We didn't use the bar, but apparently it is a little over-priced. However, we can't really comment on this.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Free wi-fi downstairs in the lobby and maybe in your room if the strength is good enough.

No elevator here, however, only a few flights of stairs to carry suitcases up.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flutterbybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a tour with other 20-somethings.
The location of the hotel is BEAUTIFUL. It's a 20min walk along level ground to the hotel from the railway and gondola stations. There is plenty to look at along the way.
Our room was small but comfortable - we were very warm even though it was snowy outside.
The bathroom was small, we couldn't get to the toilet without entering the bathroom and completely closing the door first. The shower had a terrible head - half of the water leaked down the hose instead of coming out the nozzles - and hot water was hit and miss. The shower curtain did not stay inside the shower, so water went everywhere.
Dinner here was very good, nice home-cooked food. Breakfast was very basic - breads, cheese and meat, and a small selection of cereals.
Free wifi in the lobby and dining areas was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a basic hotel which I agree with the other reviews can seem a little school camp at times. The location on Mt Rigi is amazing although located 20 min walk from the train station. It is an easy walk and very scenic.

It can take up to 30 min for the shower to become hot.

Be warned that leaving Mt Rigi and travelling by train/ cable car and ferry to near by Lucerne will set you back 55 CHF. However Lucerne is beautiful and well worth this expense.

The food is average at best & the free wifi is a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rigi Kaltbad
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bergsonne
Hotel Bergsonne
#3 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 16 in Weggis
97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#8 of 16 in Weggis
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rigi First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rigi First

Property: Hotel Rigi First
Address: Firstweg 4 | 6356 Rigi Kaltbad, Rigi Kaltbad 6356, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rigi Kaltbad
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rigi Kaltbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rigi First 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rigi First - Restaurant Bärenstube The hotel Rigi First with its nostalgic restaurant Bärenstube is the meeting point for everybody. No matter if it is a Bratwurst with potato rösti or a beef fillet - we are using fresh and regional products, only. On sunny days a lunch menu at a very attractive price will be served on our panoramic terrace. If you are looking for a special spot for your next meeting or seminar we are the best choice. The hotel Rigi First is a perfect starting point or meeting point for all kinds of hiking or biking and the main ski slope is running aside our hotel, as well. Hotel Rigi First - Restaurant Bärenstube ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rigi First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rigi 1st
Hotel Rigi First Switzerland/Rigi Kaltbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing