We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Eden
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel is really a 4 stars hotel! It´s nice, rooms are confortable and the view, with nice weather, is magnificient. Breakfast is great also, with a huge choice. The only "minus" goes to the building automation system, which was out of order. Therefore, the temperature in the room was much too high!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 276 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

We loved everything. The interior design of the hotel is stunning; old features are retained with ultra-high quality fixtures added. The gardens are spacious and beautiful. We particularly enjoyed the welcome drink, the patissier's yummy afternoon cakes, cocktail hour and the amazing, delicious, plentiful dinners. It's fairly expensive but high class (without being intimidating). You get a perfect location and utterly gorgeous views. Make sure you get a room with lake view if you love seeing the view from your room/balcony. All the staff encountered were helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and hospitable. Very central - easy to get to many places from this hotel whether by train, boat, road or on foot. We returned to this hotel after a gap of 40 years and it was even better than remembered! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion V, Direktionsassistenz at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Fiona227

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback about your stay. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time back at the Hotel Eden after such a long time. It's great to hear that you love the new look of the Eden and its interiour design after the renovation. Isn't it quite often the case that we have great memories of a place and get disapointed after returning?
This confirms our sucessful strategy to protect traditional elements in combination with modern elements.

Even the better that you also experienced a warm welcome, good service and delicious meals. There is plenty to explore in the Bernese Oberland. We would be happy to advise you during your next stay!

Warmest greetings from the Garden Eden of Spiez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Only stayed one night. Room was very small, not much space to walk around the bed or put a suitcase, but bed was good and we slept well. Wasn't possible to check out a little later without paying extra, seem to try to squeeze money out of you. Staff at reception was not so friendly for what we expected. Pool was empty when we went which was great. The whirlpools in the spa area were not working but the sauna was working. Ate at the restaurant which was decent. Breakfast was also good. Overall it was OK but probably wouldn't return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minaflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion V, Direktionsassistenz at Hotel Eden, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear minaflo

We appreciate your time for a personal feedback. On our homepage and booking platforms you find our different room categories with room descripiton and size. For a satisfying stay in the future, please choose according to your demands.

Late check-outs are critical in high season. Our staff resources are limited and we like to be ready for the arrival of our next guests. Whenever possible we do our best to offer late check-outs free of charge if enough rooms are available.

We are very sorry the whirlpool had a technical defect on that day and was out of order. We fixed it as soon as possible. We are happy you had a good time in our panoramic pool instead. It would be nice to have you back some day.

Warm regards from the hotel Eden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in this lovely modern and up to date hotel for two nights. We had booked a lake view but were disappointed that we could only see the lake once we were out on the balcony otherwise it really was a mountain view. The room well designed and spacious with a good bathroom and excellent bathroom toiletries.
The common general areas for guests such as the bar and library as well as outdoor seating were generous, very comfortable and up to date.
Dinner and breakfasts were excellent is the very beautiful restaurant. The staff were professional and pleasant.
We did find the bed unusual it was really two large single beds with separate mattresses and sheets. It also had the unusual feature of having a control for each bed to move the position of the head or base of each bed. We did not use this and are only familiar with this feature in our hospitals or Nursing homes for sick people or aged care!
Our room did get very hot at night, but we opened a window to feel more comfortable when we slept.
We would have appreciated some tourist information in English. There was plenty in German. However we eventually found some at the tourist information office and on the little blue train.

Room Tip: Be sure you can see the lake if you book a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I spent the last week-end at the Eden hotel, in a great room with a big terrasse and a stunning view on the castle of Spiez, the mountains and the lake (room number 110). The staff was very friendly and professional, the atmosphere warm and cosy, the premises bright, classy and clean. We appreciated the little touches such as the welcome drink in the lobby, apples on each floors, the apéritif for the arriving guests at 6.30pm, the little bag with water and homemade jam when we left. The dinner was a GREAT surprise: the Italian chef did a wonderful job! We really enjoyed eating this delicious meal on the terrasse. The breakfast was also very good, with a wide variety of bread and fresh food. The swimming pool was nice, and so was the park where we could rest on deck chairs. The location is just perfect if you want to discover this beautiful region (we did a 4 hour tour by foot along the lake and back through the fields, forests and hills and climbed the Niesen the next day- ask the reception for information!). The beds (with electric bed frames that allowed you to lift your legs or head) were really comfortable - this was appreciated after 4 hours of hiking! We really recommand that hotel for a romantic getaway, we felt like in a bubble!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 which is a quite period in the year. The hotel has an amazing location and with beautiful view to the mountains. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are modern and spacious and we had dinner as well which was great. Dining room has again an amazing view. Good location to do daytrips to the various attraction in the Berner Oberland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was nice, the room clean, the handling professional - all what you'll expect for a hotel of this price and class. But for the price payed I would maybe expect a bit....extra... You'll be happy with your stay, probably not less or more.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiez
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seegarten Hotel Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
14.7 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
867 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Seestrasse 58, Spiez 3700, Switzerland (Formerly Eden Swiss Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range: $242 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise! The Hotel Eden Spiez has a picturesque Location direclty on the Lake Thun. The fascintating mix of traditional and contemporary design make the hotel unique. The room and suites have been individually furnished, with great attention to detail. Relaxation is our motto! Live dreams. The rooms and suites have been individually furnished, with great attention to detail: bath rooms of Italian marble, hand-woven carpets, most comfortable armchairs and sofas. All guest rooms have balconies, most of them with wonderful view on the lake. Delicous dining! Our master of cooking art ist dedicated to twinkle your palate on the highest degree possible - either in the delightful Setting of our Restaurant, lake-side on the secluded terrace or in the ballroom. He re-invents the traditional and regional dishes over and over and draws his inspiration of fresh products on the market in every season. A pleasure experience is guaranteed whether you are tasting something new or familiar, traditional or exotic, far or near. Lovers of the good cuisine will be surprised yb the culinary discoveries. Sound Mind, Sound Body. Time for well-being and Relaxation. You decide if you want to energise yourself, snoothe yourself, unwind, or recharge your energy Levels. The spa at the Hotel Eden Spiez extends over an exclusive wellness world. Here you will find everything which your heart and body desires. The swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool encourage well-being, whilst the sun terrace treats guests to a unique view. Our magical Location. The Hotel Eden Spiez has a picturesque location directly on the Lake Thun. We lie in the heart of Switzerland with excellent links by car, Train and airplane. You can easily reach Berne (40km), Lucerne (85km), Lausanne (145km), Geneva (200km), Basel (130km) and Zurich (170km). Arrival by train: Direction Basel- or Zurich-Bern-Thun-Spiez-Lötschberg-Brig or Golden Pass Panorama train from Interlaken-Montreux. Arrival by car: Motorway A6 Berne-Thun-Interlaken, Exit 19 Spiez. Discover Spiez! A diverse range of leisure Options are available and guarantee active and Relaxing days in a magnificent Region featuring wonderful natural sights. Mighty Peaks alternate with charm lake scenery. To make our guest stay atmosphere more sweeten, we continuously create a colourful program with numerous Events. Our evens are always something Special. Enjoy the symbiosis of first-class cuisine, innovative event ideas and unique flair directly on the bay of Spiez. Spoil yourself and enjoy the spectacular view on the Lake Thun and the Panorama of the Alps of Bernese Oberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Swiss Quality Spiez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing