We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place right on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seegarten Hotel Marina
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place right on the water”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I arrived at Marina Seegarten late at night, and my GPS had no trouble to locate it, though it's quite a way from the main road. Although I had booked it right 30 minutes before, my.room was ready and I was warmly welcomed by night receptionist who helped me with the luggage and showed me my room. The room was spacious, and very well kept. But the biggest surprise was next morning when I looked out from the balcony, and found that he hotel is right over the lake, with white yachts parked in front if it and the Spietz castle standing right behind it, on a hill. Both views were spectacular and the only thing I regretted was that I only had one day to spend in this little medieval town. I will surely be back and with no hesitation will stay again at Marina Seegarten. For those traveling by car, it might be useful to know that the parking in front of the hotel is only free at night, and costs 1.5 franks an hour from 7 to 19, but that is not the end if the world given the reasonable price the hotel offers for its rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumpleteazer495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
49
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you like fancy new and boutiques hotels, this one is not for you!!!

This hotel is just perfect, the rooms have a magnificent view of the bay and Mountain. The staff is SOOO nice I couldnt believe!!! It makes me want to stay longer. An amazing Frushtuck and again, the staff...
We where not specting for much and we left happiest than we can ever imagine.
The rooms are like from a 70's movie but the bathroom floor is heated ; )
We will come back again

Room Tip: ask for the one with the view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAR412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is just by the beautiful lake, and you can see the famous Swiss pyramid far away (if I remember correctly). The room is a little old, but it's quite beautiful. I love the small sofa they put in. It makes the room warm and cozy. We try the restaurant downstairs as well. The food was decent and staff was polite and nice, as most part of Switzerland we have been too. Unfortunately we only spent 1 night here. I really wish we could stay longer!
The only draw back is that there is no bus from the train station to the hotel during this season, so either you have to walk or take taxi. Walking will take about 15 ~ 20 mins, down the slopes. Taking taxi is much more convenient when you have luggages with you, and it costs about 15 francs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Wow, what a wonderful place to stay! We saw Spietz from the train one day and decided to spend a couple of days here. This hotel was reasonably priced with a great location. We dragged our three suitcases from the train station (luckily all downhill) and checked into our very large room looking out on the harbor, lake, mountains and town. Absolutely stunning, with a balcony! The staff is so helpful and the setting is perfect. We extended our stay for the rest of our vacation because we couldn't stand the thought of leaving. The restaurant is decent, but with a nice hike up the hill, there are many other places to eat in town. The hotel is right next to the boat landing, so we took boat trips on the lake to Interlaken and Trun. We walked several times on the 100-year-old strandway to the next town, enjoying the public art along the way. The castle is right behind the hotel, with paths through the vineyards to hike. Just a wonderful hotel in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJWayne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel, like many in Switzerland, seems to be stuck in some 1970s time warp. Nevertheless, the standard of the rooms was good and the view across the lake and to the mountains beyond is great. The restaurant was decent enough (lucky - there didn't seem to be much else around). The hotel provides parking in a (very) nearby car park for only CHF7 per night so pretty convenien. Recommended.

Room Tip: Lake view a "must"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

a warm welcome and a friendly atmosphere will greet you as you reach the Hotel Marina Spiez. We had a room with a view on the lake and was comfortable and tidy. The room was very large and the addition of a small seating area was perfect. It was only a short trip with train and bus to the ski race at Adelboden.

Although the decore is a little dated it adds to the charm. A cosy hotel bar was alive in the evening with guests who has taken in the ski racing earlier that day. Perfect summer sunshine made for a very pleasant walk around the marina.

A nice get away in a very quaint town with the mountain on your doorstep. chocolate box Switzerland at its best.

Room Tip: ask for a lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ire_SAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

There is not much choice in Spiez for a good hotel. We liked the location (next to the castle) and the view on the harbor. The rooms are clean and serve the purpose but we were disappointed by the quality of the food in the restaurant downstairs (dinner and breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feykir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiez
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 5 in Spiez
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seegarten Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seegarten Hotel Marina

Property: Seegarten Hotel Marina
Address: Schachenstrasse 3 | Spiez, Spiez 3700, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seegarten Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seegarten Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seegarten Hotel Spiez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing