We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed with our 4 year old son in a family room (#101 & 102) with excellent view across the lake and towards the castle. This suite is at the opposite end of the hotel to the conference centre and benefits from being quieter. Room facilities were as I would expect for the price. All staff were extremely polite and helpful and offered a lot of warmth to our son - not the indifference some hotels can give to kids. Service at breakfast and dinner was very good with again a good range for kids. I've noted some comments about the age of the building and I would say that the hotel has character (creaking floorboards and all). If you want a modern, sterile hotel then go somewhere else! We were given a lift both to and from the station by the receptionist as a matter of course. The hotel does have a conference trade but this did not interfere with our enjoyment. The town is a short walk away along a quiet street and the surrounding area is fantastic for families. Our son loved the lake ships, trains, cable cars etc. We would definitely return. We did stay at the start of the season and the hotel was reasonably quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 181 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2008

The best part about this hotel is its location. It sits up on a hill with a commanding view of the Spiez marina and Lake Thun. However, from the hotel's website, I was expecting to find a lovely and private hotel with lots of charm. What we found instead was a hotel that catered to business and tour groups, community gatherings (lots of meetings) had a busy conference center right next door. The Strand Belvedere does indeed have a lovely view but it sits in an awkward location: because it is located on a busy street that leads down the hill to a group of homes and a large community swimming pool complex there is a lot of noisy back and forth traffic all day and late into the night. Because the hotel's parking lot backs onto the conference center, there is a lot of traffic and noise there, too. Our family had two connecting rooms on the second floor (#106). Surprisingly, both bedrooms looked out onto the busy street. #106 did come with a "living room" that had a huge deck, and the deck did indeed have a great view of the marina and the lake, but it also was in full view of the conference center and parking lot from behind. Also, there was a huge spotlight mounted on the deck that shined up at the hotel's facade at night, lighting it up in dramatic fashion. Unfortunately, since the spotlight was mounted above the deck's floor, the light shined directly at us and made us very uncomfortable. Not good. Also, the rooms are not air conditioned and the ventilation was inadequate. The carpets were quite worn and the floors were uneven and creaky. There is a bizarre "good night" message left on your bed at night as part of turndown service. The bathrooms were neat and organized but the glass shower door was very inconvenient and the toilet seat had a bizarre, self-cleaning function I'd never seen anywhere else. The wellness center took a little getting used to. Instead of a full sized pool, there is a resistance pool that my wife actually loved. I had a massage and was expecting to get a real pounding, instead I got a very light and wimpy massage from a woman who spoke only German and didn't seem to understand the concept of "deep tissue." Having said all this, there were quite a few good things about the Stand Belvedere, too. The staff is quite friendly and hardworking. Andy, the Assistant Manager, seems to be on duty all the time. He was exceedingly polite. The breakfast buffet was incredibly good....but the room it was served in was very hot and very stuffy. We eventually retreated outside to a lovely terrace. We didn't spend a lot of daytime in the hotel, using Spiez as a jump off to other parts of Interlaken. The boats that scoot around lake Thun are a delight to take giving great views. There are several other hotels on the water in nearby cities. While the Strand Belvedere wasn't great, it wasn't terrible either. I'll give it a mixed review but proably wouldn't return there. The business center and hotel's crowded business gatherings chased me away.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Very smart rooms and a well organised hotel. A good continental breakfast. We had the half board menu which we found of excellent quality.
Our only minor gripe was that it was difficult to ventilate the rooms adequately when the weather was warm - wedges for the balcony doors would be useful.
Excellent view over the lake from the dining room / lake view rooms. The hotel is in a very peaceful location.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk downhill from the railway station - the hotel has a minbus, so would collect / take guests if asked.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

This very good four star hotel is located in a quiet part of Spiez with a ten minute stroll to the lakeside.The lakeside bedrooms, dining rooms and terrace have stunning views of the lake and mountains.The food is excellent and staff helpful and friendly.We would certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAKDAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on three occasions, and I agree with the posting below (except that they are no longer members of the Relais de Silence and omelettes only seem to be served at Sunday breakfasts). The hotel has much that is good about it (view, cuisine - as long as this chef lasts - see GaultMillau Schweiz, and they posted a tie I had forgotten, without my asking). It however has two big disadvantages; the managers Frau Seiler-Bigler and Herr Schneider.

On our first stay, we were given a bottle of corked wine. Herr Schneider tasted it and said that it was not corked, asking me if I had had wine from that vineyard before. I insisted that it was corked, but when given a second bottle which was not corked Herr Schneider declined my offer to taste it.

At the end of our stay last year, I was told when paying that both my credit cards were ‘blocked’. On contacting the credit card company the next day, I was told this was not the case. Maybe the hotel didn’t want to pay the commission to the credit card company.

Our most recent, and last, stay (until the managers change) was from 7th to 9th April, 2006. Firstly, we were not met at the railway station as arranged. I had booked two rooms one a specific room, and received a confirmation for this specific room. On checking in, I noticed that we had not been allocated the room I had requested. I pointed this out to the receptionist who asked us to sit down and asked if we would like a drink. Frau Seiler-Bigler then came and told us that the room we had been allocated was better than the one we had reserved (however same category and price), and that they had given our reserved room to other guests since they had been staying in that room for 35 years and were staying longer than us. I told her that they were in breach of contract and that I would accept the substitute room for a 50% reduction. She replied that she didn’t know if a 50% reduction were possible and walked away. After waiting for about five minutes, I asked one of the receptionists what was happening; she said she would get Frau Seiler-Bigler. Frau Seiler-Bigler asked me what we had decided (as if we had been given a choice); I repeated my offer, which she accepted. When we received the bill for dinner that night, I noticed that the drinks we had been given while waiting for Frau Seiler-Bigler were on our bill, but when I pointed this out they were removed.

When checking out, Herr Schneider gave us an introductory spiel on how mistakes happened, but that they were willing to amend for their mistakes, thus we had the 50% reduction. However, on checking the bill I noticed that we had been charged for a dinner which we hadn’t had, (this “mistake” neatly covered the reduction we were given and more). When I pointed this out the dinner was removed from our bill. Next I noticed that we had been given the 50% reduction on the cheaper room (CHF 210- per night) which was as reserved. When I pointed out that this was not as agreed and that they were in breach of contract a second time, Herr Schneider put up a smoke screen concerning which room replaced the one we had specifically reserved and category of rooms. I asked him not to make an already bad situation worse. He continued with his smoke screen, and I told him I was sick of his swindling. He then became sarcastic, told the receptionist to give us what we wanted and walked away.

In short, a potentially very good hotel spoilt by two bad managers.

This hotel is part of the small Hauenstein chain. I have not stayed at their other hotels and thus cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Basle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2005

My husband and I, and a friend, spent a night at the Strand Hotel Belvedere in Spiez in December. We had gone to a concert in Bern, and all the hotels in the city were booked solid since the Schweitzerhof is closed for renovations, taking some 300 beds off the market! Spiez is a lovely small town about 30 minutes from Bern by train.
We arrived a little late because the concert ran overtime and I called ahead to change our reservation for dinner to 8pm instead of 7.30pm. My request was greeted with "no problem" and that is pretty much how the entire stay went!
On arrival a very lovely receptionist greeted us by name and gave us the keys to our rooms. She also upgraded us, which was really great!
The rooms, overlooking the lake of Thun, were spacious and ours had a lovely big balcony. Too bad it was December and snowing! The hotel is a member of the Relais de Silence and is very, very quiet. It has lovely gardens that go down to the lake.
The dinner was simply terrific. Excellent food, beautifully presented and super service.
The breakfast buffet the next morning (included in the room rate) was just as good. One could have eggs and even omelettes if one wanted!
When I asked for a taxi to take us back to the station the receptionist told us that she would drive us there!! What service. This is a very, very nice hotel and we plan to go back there next summer.

5  Thank Hambagahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank filomena92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiez
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 5 in Spiez
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seegarten Hotel Marina
0.9 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
102 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
105 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant

Address: Schachenstrasse 39, Spiez 3700, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Belvedere Spiez)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range: $244 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful recently (2012) complete renovated luxury Hotel in the Alps of the Bernaise Overland, situated on the Lake of Thun. Enjoy the hotel facilities or the unforgettable Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Strandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing