We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed for two nights recently in the Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant and my stay was too short! I would have loved to stay longer and have time to take in the magnificient views from my breakfast table - a lake below and mountains in the near distance. The rooms were perfect; the pillow and bed wonderfully comfortable and, for someone who is 6 feet 2 inches tall, unusually long - my feet couldn't touch the bottom! The bathroom was spacious, with two sinks, and everywhere was spotless. I arrived late at night and although the kitchen was closed the staff immeiately arranged for food to be prepared and brought to my room. Likewise upon departure; leaving at 5.30 a.m. the staff again arranged a packed sandwich and fruit to take with me. All in all an extremely pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downarmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed for three nights and had a "mountain view" room. The room was noisy being above the kitchen and the tour buses loaded outside our room very early in the mornings. We did not get a good night’s sleep. I think the lake room views would be much better. The dinner meals were a lot more than we could afford so we cannot rate the meals other than the menu looked great. Breakfast was quite good, especially the coffee, and the variety of choices was the best we had encountered. There are plenty of places to dine in Spiez, so options are available. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms were quite large. The room, however, was quite warm and could have used an overhead fan since AC is not available. We did love the character of the hotel. The location was excellent and we could easily walk to Lake Thun and the marina to enjoy the view. The walk from the train station to the hotel was downhill so not a terrible trek. They were nice enough to give us a ride when it was time to leave - about three minutes by car uphill. The staff was first rate but we were left wondering why our room was not changed since there were other rooms available.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GnC4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Great place! Definitely recommend. Wonderful breakfast with eggs/omelets cooked to order. This is more French speaking area of Switzerland. We walked about 7 mins. from train station on hot day. Staff very attentive to our needs and provided refreshing water. One thing we're getting used to in Switzerland: they don't serve drinks cold, just cool. And when you ask for ice, they look at you strangely. Anyway, we had a nice patio area and enjoyed our stay. Oh, floors in room were a little sweaky.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed with our 4 year old son in a family room (#101 & 102) with excellent view across the lake and towards the castle. This suite is at the opposite end of the hotel to the conference centre and benefits from being quieter. Room facilities were as I would expect for the price. All staff were extremely polite and helpful and offered a lot of warmth to our son - not the indifference some hotels can give to kids. Service at breakfast and dinner was very good with again a good range for kids. I've noted some comments about the age of the building and I would say that the hotel has character (creaking floorboards and all). If you want a modern, sterile hotel then go somewhere else! We were given a lift both to and from the station by the receptionist as a matter of course. The hotel does have a conference trade but this did not interfere with our enjoyment. The town is a short walk away along a quiet street and the surrounding area is fantastic for families. Our son loved the lake ships, trains, cable cars etc. We would definitely return. We did stay at the start of the season and the hotel was reasonably quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The best part about this hotel is its location. It sits up on a hill with a commanding view of the Spiez marina and Lake Thun. However, from the hotel's website, I was expecting to find a lovely and private hotel with lots of charm. What we found instead was a hotel that catered to business and tour groups, community gatherings (lots of meetings) had a busy conference center right next door. The Strand Belvedere does indeed have a lovely view but it sits in an awkward location: because it is located on a busy street that leads down the hill to a group of homes and a large community swimming pool complex there is a lot of noisy back and forth traffic all day and late into the night. Because the hotel's parking lot backs onto the conference center, there is a lot of traffic and noise there, too. Our family had two connecting rooms on the second floor (#106). Surprisingly, both bedrooms looked out onto the busy street. #106 did come with a "living room" that had a huge deck, and the deck did indeed have a great view of the marina and the lake, but it also was in full view of the conference center and parking lot from behind. Also, there was a huge spotlight mounted on the deck that shined up at the hotel's facade at night, lighting it up in dramatic fashion. Unfortunately, since the spotlight was mounted above the deck's floor, the light shined directly at us and made us very uncomfortable. Not good. Also, the rooms are not air conditioned and the ventilation was inadequate. The carpets were quite worn and the floors were uneven and creaky. There is a bizarre "good night" message left on your bed at night as part of turndown service. The bathrooms were neat and organized but the glass shower door was very inconvenient and the toilet seat had a bizarre, self-cleaning function I'd never seen anywhere else. The wellness center took a little getting used to. Instead of a full sized pool, there is a resistance pool that my wife actually loved. I had a massage and was expecting to get a real pounding, instead I got a very light and wimpy massage from a woman who spoke only German and didn't seem to understand the concept of "deep tissue." Having said all this, there were quite a few good things about the Stand Belvedere, too. The staff is quite friendly and hardworking. Andy, the Assistant Manager, seems to be on duty all the time. He was exceedingly polite. The breakfast buffet was incredibly good....but the room it was served in was very hot and very stuffy. We eventually retreated outside to a lovely terrace. We didn't spend a lot of daytime in the hotel, using Spiez as a jump off to other parts of Interlaken. The boats that scoot around lake Thun are a delight to take giving great views. There are several other hotels on the water in nearby cities. While the Strand Belvedere wasn't great, it wasn't terrible either. I'll give it a mixed review but proably wouldn't return there. The business center and hotel's crowded business gatherings chased me away.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

Very smart rooms and a well organised hotel. A good continental breakfast. We had the half board menu which we found of excellent quality.
Our only minor gripe was that it was difficult to ventilate the rooms adequately when the weather was warm - wedges for the balcony doors would be useful.
Excellent view over the lake from the dining room / lake view rooms. The hotel is in a very peaceful location.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk downhill from the railway station - the hotel has a minbus, so would collect / take guests if asked.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

This very good four star hotel is located in a quiet part of Spiez with a ten minute stroll to the lakeside.The lakeside bedrooms, dining rooms and terrace have stunning views of the lake and mountains.The food is excellent and staff helpful and friendly.We would certainly return

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAKDAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiez
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#2 of 5 in Spiez
277 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
0.9 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seegarten Hotel Marina
2 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
108 reviews
5.9 mi away
Restaurant & Hotel Schlossberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant

Address: Schachenstrasse 39, Spiez 3700, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Belvedere Spiez)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range: $250 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful recently (2012) complete renovated luxury Hotel in the Alps of the Bernaise Overland, situated on the Lake of Thun. Enjoy the hotel facilities or the unforgettable Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Strandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing