We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed a few times”
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are regular Swiss and European Holiday makers and have stayed at the Belle Vue a number of times over the years. (Didn't this year due to the fact it was full on our dates) Looking at some of the older reviews on Trip Advisor I'm a bit puzzled as to some of the critiscm (over the top I think!) Generally speaking this hotel has served us well and presents fair value for a Swiss establishment. Yes, It is a 2* hotel so a lot of the extras some people expect will not be there so it equivalents to a good quality guest house rather than an expensive 4* Swiss hotel with the trimmings. (Just compare the prices) During our stays, the rooms have always been clean, with a nice basic shower/toilet room and sometimes a balcony view. The TV has always worked well and the Wi Fi has, but sometimes a problem on the top floor rooms. The breakfast always adequate for our needs and the restaurant provides fine dining home cooked meals rather than the fast food style. A little expensive for us but one or two nights no problem!
Some of the reviews state that the décor is dated but this is fairly traditional style for smaller Swiss establishments, it can be quite appealing rather than the corporate style of Hotel.
The owners are friendly and helpful without being in your face. Just ask! We were double booked for one night once and we were taken by car by the owner to another establishment in the Town to make sure we had a room for the night for which she sorted the extra bill out for us.
The location of this Hotel is a real bonus as it is a few mins walk to all of the public transport so you can be up and away to explore wonderful Switzerland which really is what it should be all about !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our stay at the Bellevue Hotel was a wonderful experience. We arrived with trepidation after reading some negative comments on this site, but our expectations were completely surpassed! Veronika and Walter, the couple that owns and runs the place, could not have been more hospitable and welcoming. The rooms were simple, but very clean and tidy with wonderful sheets, eiderdown covers, and down pillows, and our room, #7, had a glorious view over the town, lake and mountains.

Walter is an incredible chef preparing marvelous and novel dishes accented by local mushrooms and herbs he hand picks in the surrounding hills. We ended up eating in both nights to be wowed by his cooking.

Both Veronika and Walter were a delight to chat with, and get information from on what to see and do in the area.

For a very reasonable rate, we got a top notch experience and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a pleasant experience in the Interlaken region. Looking forward to the next time.

p.s. whatever problems people wrote about with wi-fi, I certainly did not experience any. Although the first log in is quirky, once I got the correct info from Veronika, it worked wonderfully from my room.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake on the second floor. The view is excellent. Plan on eating in at the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edouard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is not the first time I have stayed in the Bellevue and reading some of the previous reviews I wondered if its the same hotel. Yet again our stay (4 in our group, 2 double rooms) was excellent.
the rooms are spotless and comfortable although slightly dated . We did have rooms overlooking Lake Thun which have an excellent view.
Free WiFi was provided and we didnt notice any problems with the signal.
Breakfast is a self service buffet and is superb with a large selection of breads, cereals, cold meats, cheese etc.
We did not eat in the hotel in the evening on this visit as we prefer to eat out.
If you are looking for a base for a walking holiday then this is ideal. its a less than 10 minute walk to the station (uphill) or down to the lake. Spiez has a selection of local shops and the obligatory Co-oP and Migros supermarkets in the town.
I have always found the owners and staff very friendly .

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I were on a 9 day tour of Switzerland and stayed here for 2 nights in July 2012 in room 1 in the Hotel Bellevue

Spiez is a small town along the lake – between Thun and Interlaken

ROOM 1 – see pics
• Large size. Largest room of our trip. Closet, desk, alarm clock, chair,
• Terrace – huge terrace – but it is shared. See below.
• Bathroom – shower only – decent size, hair dryer.
• TV – a few English channels.
• No mini bar or in room safe.
• INTERNET – Wifi worked in the room. You have to get a password from reception.
• Air conditioning – none.

STAFF – The staff were very nice and helpful.

BREAKFAST Buffet – a bit below average – breads, jams, cereals, yogurt, cheeses, cold meats, coffee, tea, juice. No hot food, no eggs. There is a very nice view from the breakfast room – same as the posted picture from the terrace.

TERRACE – the terrace is huge and has a terrific view. We were very excited to see we could access it directly from the room. It has 4 tables and chairs on it. HOWEVER, it is shared by the entire hotel – not just the rooms that connect to it. Normally this would be okay too except for the first night a family and others parked themselves directly in front of our room from 5:30 to 10pm. They were smoking, drinking and talking loudly. It happened to be a very hot day that day but we could not open our windows to catch the breeze and cool down the room because of the cigarette smoke was coming into our room and a total lack of privacy. It is hard to have privacy when someone is only a few feet away. We finally had to go downstairs at 10pm and ask hotel staff to intervene, which they did and then the family went to their room. So no privacy for Room 1 or 2

PARKING – They have 6 spots reserved for the hotel directly across the street.

GROCERY– the CO-OP is a full grocery store – go out of the hotel to the left. Take a right on the main street and walk for a few minutes. It is on the left side of the road. Before you reach the coop you will also see a smaller store with cheeses etc.

RESTAURANTS - The hotel has its own restaurant. They use a lot of fresh, local food including fish from the lake. We didn’t eat there though as I am strict vegan (no meat, fish, dairy, eggs) and it was too difficult to get something for me. There are a couple of restaurants right by the lake. Walk out the hotel, take a right and follow the road all the way downhill to the lake. You will see them right by the road.

SIGHTSEEING
We walked around Spiez, the area around the lake. There is more to see but we didn’t have time as we also did Thun and saw a friend who lives an hour away.

OVERALL: We had a nice time in Spiez and Hotel Bellevue and would stay here again but not in room 1 or 2.

A few differences between American and European hotels for those who have not travelled over here before:
1) Class of hotel is different. What is classified as 4 star in Europe would often be classified as 3 star in USA
2) Small room sizes - especially in cities or near old towns. Often just enough room just to get around your bed and put some luggage down etc.
3) Bathrooms – Often have either a bathtub or shower but not both. If you want a particular one check before you book. .
4) Pillows are very different – and very flat. You will have to double them over otherwise your head just ends up on the mattresses.
5) Blankets – each person gets their own duvet / quilt – which is good if you are a couple and one is always hot and the other always cold
6) Breakfasts – most don’t have foods that Americans are used to (oatmeal, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, peanut butter etc). Eggs are usually scrambled or hard boiled.
7) Not all staff will speak English – if you have communications issue contact reception.
8) Elevators are TINY in small hotels. Often 2 people plus luggage is not possible. Have to do a couple trips.
9) Most do not have Fitness Room. If they do they are tiny with a couple cardio machines, a mat and a few hand weights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel Bellevue it looked as if it was closed. When the manager did appear his only explanation for there being no-one to meet us was that “Italians don’t usually come until the evening.” We found the breakfast meagre to say the least and the dinner not one to be repeated-unless it repeated itself. We also discovered one other peculiarity. Wherever we go my wife, quite sensibly, looks for the nearest Fire Exit. Imagine, then, our surprise when we found that that exit passed through our room. Furthermore looking out of our window we saw a balcony which led to a fifteen foot drop. Subsequent exploration uncovered a ladder strapped to the balcony. Questions immediately presented themselves. Did we leave the bedroom door unlocked so as to facilitate access? Were we responsible for the ladder being lowered over the balcony and, if so, did we bear responsibility if people were injured whilst using it? Like a ship’s captain should we be the last to leave? We had visions of lying in bed whilst hordes of people in various forms of undress streamed past the bottom of the bed leaping lemming-like over the balcony into the darkness.
And this was the hotel where the 1954 German World Cup soccer team spent their preparation before they went out to win the world championship!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Plock7on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Unreasonably expensive. On top of that, you have to ask for towels - they will nickle and dime you to death. In the morning they insist you get out of the room so that they can clean it. Which is ironic, as the rooms were not v clean. Disgusting bathrooms. Very spotty Wi-Fi, the owners know it but will not tell you. What a waste for a location like this.

Room Tip: Watch your bill closely. They are dishonest and will purposely overcharge you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We did a road trip looping from home In Ireland through England,then France, Switzerland, Germany, Luxembourg, Belgium, then back, and I found this hotel to be the most expensive accomodation by quite a margin. They didn't have any 4-person rooms, so we had to squeeze into a double.We then found our TV wasn't working, and when we asked about it at the front desk, and they said they knew. They did eventually get it working, and the breakfast was good, but overall, quite disappointing.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Holiday-Holic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spiez
0.5 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Seegarten Hotel Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#2 of 5 in Spiez
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Strandhotel Seeblick
Strandhotel Seeblick
#1 of 2 in Faulensee
133 reviews
5.4 mi away
Restaurant & Hotel Schlossberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Address: Seestrasse 36, Spiez 3700, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range: $125 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellevue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing