We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No internet, but nice place”
Review of Hotel Mar de Plata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Plata
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarria
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is an austere but clean hotel with a great restaurant. too bad the WiFi didn't work or it would have 4 stars. Front desk very helpful. Bed was a little too hard. I'd stay there again. Free breakfast was incredible.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank jonchaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We flew into Santiago de Compostela and then took 2 busses (via Lugo) to arrive in Sarria in order to start our Camino the next morning. The Hotel Mar De Plata was a short walk from the bus station. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful, recommending local restaurants, for us to get a great dinner. We had an immaculate comfortable room and a great breakfast the next morning. Then we were off on the Camino. Highly recommended for those started the Camino in Sarria as we did.

Room Tip: Area around hotel is quiet so all rooms seem to be quiet also - no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dchulack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we took the bus from lugo to sarria in the evening to stay at mar de plata hotel and begin our caminata in the morning. we were thrilled to only have to walk a couple of blocks, at the most, to arrive there. the recepcionist very friendly, the hotel very clean, elevator, great dinner in the restaruant. (we highly recommend the caldo gallego). we had a great sleep. the receptionist made a free call for us to the next town. the breakfast is acceptable. what made our stay was the proximity to the bus station, the very friendly and helpful staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. oh, and the camino starts almost right out their door!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Sarria after hearing from others on the Camino that lodging was getting difficult to find, due to the number of pilgrims on the last 5-6 days on the trail. We didn't want to walk extra miles in the event the albuergues were full so the receptionist went beyond the call of duty to give us a list of accomodations. She then called in Spanish to make reservations for us for the remaining days. She was professional and refused a tip for her services, which were much appreciated.

The owner of the hotel was also very kind, even making us a special cappacino in the morning because it was our wedding annivesary. Many thanks, Hotel Mar de Plata, for an enjoyable stay and wonderful service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevated outdoor area where guests congregate to chat late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleBackpack282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on June 17, 2012. hotel is cold, looks like a formica barrack facility. yes it is clean. the one staff member we came in contact with was adamant about eating anywhere other than the hotel and initially refused to tell us of other places. when on vacation in europe we expect a bit of charm and not a sterile, formica environment. it was depressing. if you are on a very strict budget and only want a place to sleep this is the place for you. this hotel is definitely meant for the extremely frugal traveler who is on a very tight budget or one who does not care what their surroundings look like. but then, why are you in europe or travelling for that matter. regardless, there are many very charming and comfortable hotels which do not have this appearance. the outside facade initially fools you ( not that it is anything to praise ) but once you get into those rooms you are back in your college dorm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were very pleased with the Hotel Mar de Plata. Our room was comfortable and quiet and the staff was helpful. It's well located, a short walk from the bus station and just a couple of blocks off the Camino.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I started my Camino de Santiago in Sarria and chose this hotel to spend the night. It seemed very stylish and I was surprised to pay so little for it (breakfast included). I was given a very spacious room with a nice bathroom and good heating system. The have a restaurant/bar and I could get a really nice sandwich late night. Wifi signal was good in my room. The girl working the night shift at the reception was particularly nice and helpful. I didn't have any complaint at all. I just wish they had more quality budget hotels in Spain, not only Sarria.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricdyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarria
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso IX
Hotel Alfonso IX
#2 of 5 in Sarria
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oca Villa de Sarria
Oca Villa de Sarria
#4 of 5 in Sarria
104 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel A Veiga
Hotel A Veiga
#1 of 2 in Samos
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hotel Torre de Nunez
18.6 mi away
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
#1 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
463 reviews
9.1 mi away
Complexo Xacobeo
Complexo Xacobeo
#1 of 1 in Triacastela
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Plata

Address: Rua Formigueiros 5, 27617 Sarria, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Sarria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarria
Price Range: $67 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mar de Plata 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of our rooms, 7 singles and 14 doubles, is guaranteed due to a modern decor, high quality materials and adaptability to become triple or even quadruple rooms. All rooms are newly built, along with the rest of the hotel and offer all the comfort: Digital TV with international channels and Canal + Wi-fi free of charge in all areas of the hotel Heating and air conditioning Phone Wake up call Fully equipped bathroom Hair dryer Suites: The spacious suites, allow you to enjoy the stay thanks to the ample space and a fully furnished rooms that ensure your well being and cover everything that you need during your stay in our hotel. All rooms together with the rest of the hotel are equipped with all the commodities to make your stay as pleasant as possible: Digital TV. International channels. Canal + PC and Internet connection - FREE Wifi Heating and Air Conditioning Phone Wake up call Complete bathroom Hair dryer Whirlpool bath or shower Living room Minibar The comfort of the rooms is completed by the modern public areas equipped to give you the best comfort in all circumstances. These areas include: Free outdoor Parking Garage Lift Handicapped Access Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mar de Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing