We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best !”
Review of Hotel Mar de Plata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mar de Plata
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarria
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best !”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We flew into Santiago de Compostela and then took 2 busses (via Lugo) to arrive in Sarria in order to start our Camino the next morning. The Hotel Mar De Plata was a short walk from the bus station. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful, recommending local restaurants, for us to get a great dinner. We had an immaculate comfortable room and a great breakfast the next morning. Then we were off on the Camino. Highly recommended for those started the Camino in Sarria as we did.

Room Tip: Area around hotel is quiet so all rooms seem to be quiet also - no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dchulack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
43
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

we took the bus from lugo to sarria in the evening to stay at mar de plata hotel and begin our caminata in the morning. we were thrilled to only have to walk a couple of blocks, at the most, to arrive there. the recepcionist very friendly, the hotel very clean, elevator, great dinner in the restaruant. (we highly recommend the caldo gallego). we had a great sleep. the receptionist made a free call for us to the next town. the breakfast is acceptable. what made our stay was the proximity to the bus station, the very friendly and helpful staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. oh, and the camino starts almost right out their door!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We arrived in Sarria after hearing from others on the Camino that lodging was getting difficult to find, due to the number of pilgrims on the last 5-6 days on the trail. We didn't want to walk extra miles in the event the albuergues were full so the receptionist went beyond the call of duty to give us a list of accomodations. She then called in Spanish to make reservations for us for the remaining days. She was professional and refused a tip for her services, which were much appreciated.

The owner of the hotel was also very kind, even making us a special cappacino in the morning because it was our wedding annivesary. Many thanks, Hotel Mar de Plata, for an enjoyable stay and wonderful service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevated outdoor area where guests congregate to chat late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleBackpack282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on June 17, 2012. hotel is cold, looks like a formica barrack facility. yes it is clean. the one staff member we came in contact with was adamant about eating anywhere other than the hotel and initially refused to tell us of other places. when on vacation in europe we expect a bit of charm and not a sterile, formica environment. it was depressing. if you are on a very strict budget and only want a place to sleep this is the place for you. this hotel is definitely meant for the extremely frugal traveler who is on a very tight budget or one who does not care what their surroundings look like. but then, why are you in europe or travelling for that matter. regardless, there are many very charming and comfortable hotels which do not have this appearance. the outside facade initially fools you ( not that it is anything to praise ) but once you get into those rooms you are back in your college dorm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were very pleased with the Hotel Mar de Plata. Our room was comfortable and quiet and the staff was helpful. It's well located, a short walk from the bus station and just a couple of blocks off the Camino.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I started my Camino de Santiago in Sarria and chose this hotel to spend the night. It seemed very stylish and I was surprised to pay so little for it (breakfast included). I was given a very spacious room with a nice bathroom and good heating system. The have a restaurant/bar and I could get a really nice sandwich late night. Wifi signal was good in my room. The girl working the night shift at the reception was particularly nice and helpful. I didn't have any complaint at all. I just wish they had more quality budget hotels in Spain, not only Sarria.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricdyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Nicely located hotel. Upgraded to a suite with bags of room. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarria hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso IX
Hotel Alfonso IX
#2 of 5 in Sarria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oca Villa de Sarria
Oca Villa de Sarria
#4 of 5 in Sarria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.7 mi away
DP Cristal
DP Cristal
#2 of 13 in Sarria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Baran
Casa Baran
#1 of 13 in Sarria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de Sarria
La Casona de Sarria
#1 of 34 in Sarria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergue Monasterio de La Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar de Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar de Plata

Property: Hotel Mar de Plata
Address: Rua Formigueiros 5, 27617 Sarria, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Sarria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mar de Plata 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of our rooms, 7 singles and 14 doubles, is guaranteed due to a modern decor, high quality materials and adaptability to become triple or even quadruple rooms. All rooms are newly built, along with the rest of the hotel and offer all the comfort: Digital TV with international channels and Canal + Wi-fi free of charge in all areas of the hotel Heating and air conditioning Phone Wake up call Fully equipped bathroom Hair dryer Suites: The spacious suites, allow you to enjoy the stay thanks to the ample space and a fully furnished rooms that ensure your well being and cover everything that you need during your stay in our hotel. All rooms together with the rest of the hotel are equipped with all the commodities to make your stay as pleasant as possible: Digital TV. International channels. Canal + PC and Internet connection - FREE Wifi Heating and Air Conditioning Phone Wake up call Complete bathroom Hair dryer Whirlpool bath or shower Living room Minibar The comfort of the rooms is completed by the modern public areas equipped to give you the best comfort in all circumstances. These areas include: Free outdoor Parking Garage Lift Handicapped Access Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mar de Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing