We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A pleasant place to recharge the batteries.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Salvi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mas Salvi Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Pals
Surrey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to recharge the batteries.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Mas Salvi was the second stop on a gastronomic walking holiday organised by Inntravel. The hotel is only a short distance outside the village of Pals and is set in wonderful, well kept grounds.
It is a restored manor house. I believe that there are bedrooms in the maina building but we had a junior suite in a block in the garden. The block was not particularly attractive to look at but the rooms belied the outside appearance. They were a good size, plenty of space to lay our suitcases on the floor without falling over them. As I have said we were on a walking tour moving to a different location every couple of days, and as such, did not unpack our cases and we appreciated the extra space. (Believe me, being able to access the cases easily is a big bonus!) The bathroom was superb. Very big with a double bath and a very efficient thermostatic shower and good quality toiletries.

The grounds are amazing and very well kept. The heated indoor pool is available 24/7 and has a jacuzzi and sauna. We didn't use these as we prefered to laze by the pool on our 'day off'. There is a small snack bar by the pool which served lunches at lunchtime but was open for drinks for most of the day. A very pleasant place to relax. There were several bars as well, little nooks to enjoy pre-dinner drinks although we had to go and look for the bar staff to serve us!

We were staying at Mas Salvi for two nights. When we checked in we were told that it was usual to have the set menu on the first evening and the a la carte (at no extra charge) on the second evening. The set menu which was a limited version of the a la carte menu. The choice was good and we enjoyed our meal but did feel that some of the dishes did not come up to 'gastronomic' standard. The general standard of service was quite poor as well. The restaurant was full but was serviced by one waiter and waitress. In fact, the pressure seemed to be affecting the waiter as he became increasingly offhand. Service slowed down alarmingly. Our wine bottle was kept on a separate table and our glasses topped up by the waiter when he could spare the time. Finally we had to ask for our wine and the poor man was so distracted that he picked up the wrong bottle and proceeded to pour a different wine into our glasses! Our first evenings meal was less than satisfactory.

There were six in our group and we debated about whether to mention our experiences to the hotel management. In the end we decided that it was a good idea because if things are going wrong and they are not told, then they do not have an opportunity to put things right. They took our comments very seriously and glad that we had told them. Dinner on the second evening was a totally different experience and as recompense the hotel did not charge us for our wine which was a nice gesture.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding, the grounds and location are beautiful, the food was also excellent. Mas Salvi is only a few minutes drive (not walkable) from the lovely town of Pals, and it's a great area to explore. However, the price we paid was equivalent to the level of top hotels and the room isn't in that range. The accommodation block is utilitarian, the shower poor, the terrace small and enclosed, no shower gel / shampoo etc. The swimming pools are great and I have no complaints about the service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppdal Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very surprised to find a hotel of this class outside the small village of Pals. The restaurant had a tating meny that was a gastronomic plesure.

Room Tip: I think every room was suberb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Very disappointing food. We were booked into this hotel for a gastronomique experience!
My main course one evening was two pieces of fried fish accompanied by three fried disks of fried sweet potato no sauce, veg or salad! Ugh!
On returning from a long walk we requested some light food at 3.45 pm but were told that the kitchen was closed.. However they managed to rustle up two ham baguettes at exhorbitant prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshwalkersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The room was in a ground-floor building, leading off the garden. It was a very good sized room with pleasant décor and all the usual amenities. (We would have appreciated a luggage stand, however.) There is also a little private terrace area at the back of the room. The bathroom was also a good size and well equipped; and the room and bathroom were very clean and well-maintained.
The hotel is set in very pleasant grounds, and these (and also the indoor public areas of the hotel) were smart and well-kept. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were splendid - in a lovely garden seeting, and clean and tidy.
Reception staff were helpful and efficient, and spoke good English.
It was very quiet when we were there, and I got the impression that there were only a few other guests staying in the hotel.
The breakfast was rather disappointing (and my main reason for rating this 4/5 rather than 5/5). There was no full buffet, but a selection of breakfast foods were set out on the table (like a mini-buffet for each individual table), and this inevitably meant that the choice was a bit more limited than we are used to at other hotels where there is a full buffet arrangement. (I don't know if it would be different here if the hotel had been busier.) Tea/coffee was served to the table.
The evening meal was very good, with some interesting and quite elaborate dishes, and good service. However, I thought the restaurant lacked some ambience, but this may be partly due to the fact that there was never more than one other table occupied when we were there.
We found it an easy (and quite pleasant) walk into Pals - about 15/20 minutes - which is a very interesting town to explore.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed in the hotel for the wedding of a friend. I was very disapointed when they did not serve me breakfast in my room, even though I asked if it was possible the day before. I believe that such an expensive hotel should show more flexibility for the clients. From my point of view the price is excesive for the service you get.
Otherwise rooms are beautifuls and the environment too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerdidaEnElMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwyz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We absolutely loved it! The junior suite in the new building was spacious (especially the bathroom), clean and very stylish decorated.

Service was multilingual and extremely professional. We asked for a romantic restaurant and we got it (in Sa Tuna, Begur). We got lunch at the pool although kitchen was already closed (4pm). The breakfest was very good!! We were very satisfied and we would love to go back!

You will need a car as the hotel is a little outside of Pals and the coast is about 3-5 miles away (you have to visit Aiguablava and Sant Marti d'Empuries!!)

  • Liked — landscape, food
  • Disliked — slow internet connection
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pals
3.0 mi away
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
1.7 mi away
Mas de Torrent Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hostal Barris B&B
Hostal Barris B&B
#5 of 14 in Pals
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Salvi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Salvi Hotel

Property: Mas Salvi Hotel
Address: Calle Carmany 13 | Mas Salvi s/n, 17256 Pals, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas Salvi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mas Salvi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mas Salvi
Mas Salvi Hotel Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing