We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Blanes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in September this year. The hotel was in fab location! Blanes is a really lovely seaside town, with the hotel being situated a few minutes walk from the beach. The hotel itself was clean, with daily cleaning from the staff. We had a little balcony overlooking the town below which was lovely. The pool is a decent size although we only went it in once as the beach was so close! Food was what you would expect, decent buffet food although I can imagine would be hard if you are a vegetarian as most of the food is meat. Staff were friendly and provided information when asked. I'm use to staying in 4 start hotels back in London and thought this place was decent... nothing to complain about! I would say don't stay in Loret de Mar. We went over to there on the boat and unless you are going away on a lads/girls holiday the place is over crowded, dirty beach and miles more expensive than Blanes. Blanes was lovely, would recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirstyjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    51
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
44
64
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I have just spent 9 days in September at the Stella Maris and we had a wonderful time. We were met my the night porter who explained everything to us when we arrived very clearly and was very friendly. There were two wonderful girls on the desk during the day who were very polite and helpful . Any info we required they were very happy to help, any issues with our room was dealt with immediately.
Room was cleaned every morning when we were out, and towels changed when needed. ( There's a notice in the room and the Bathroom about towel changing) The head waiter kept the dining room running very smoothly, he also was willing to help with any details or use of the utensils. I am a very fussy eater and I always came out of there full.
Nice pool and just a few mins from the beach, Lots of tourist shops outside.
I cannot understand why people complain about this place ( as I have read on this web page ) For what we paid we got very good service and we were very well looked after. I would very happily recomend this Hotel to any of my friends and family.
Surely if you want five star then pay for five star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

4 Adults have just returned from a fortnights holiday at this gem of a hotel .Having worked in the hotel industry for 20 years I feel I am quite discerning when it comes to hotel accomodation.without exception from the first cheery welcome smile the staff were excellent. we had no problems with noise as it was October and the resort was slowing down.our rooms and all communal areas were immaculate, fresh towels and bedding supplied constantly and room cleaned every day no request needed. The food was excellent and plentifull lots of local dishes and very well cooked. As the hotel is small the chef can specialise more. Breakfast was more than just continental and the packed lunch was large and very edible. The dining room staff excellent and if you speak to them lovely natured (try this)! the Other guests stated much more preferable from the larger factory style hotels with more stars.The small pool does not recieve a lot of sun but the beach is only a short walk away and is very clean, quiet ,and safe for all ages.all in all excellent all round accomodation some of our hotels at home could learn from this hotel.Perhaps a little entertainment other than football would be nice, some nights in the very nicely appointed lounge area.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool also have balconies with views over the hills at the rear of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

well, here's my experience, I just came back from this hotel.
the good things are:

1- staff, very good and friendly, receptionists, cleaners, the whole lot, wonderful people, they would help you even if you are not doing the right thing,except for the bloke in the restaurant watching you and looking like he would pay to force you out of the eating hall. and when you arrive, he forces you to stand in a queue waiting to be fed.
2- location, perfect, just 2 min away from beach.
3- room size, enough for 3 (mine was number 216)
4- clean hotel, I must say, everyday fresh everything .. and the cleaners waited for us to leave everyday before we let them in.
5- there is just about everything at cheap prices very near by!

bad things are:
1- the bloke with glasses in the restaurant
2- the food was very limited and the cooking was not very tasty.
3- the swimming pool does not get enough sun, so it was called when we were there.
4- walls are so thin you can hear people giggling in far rooms!!!

to be honest, I would recommend it, but it should be a 2 stars not a three stars hotel.

Room Tip: use the restaurants and supermarkets near the hotel in the same street. stay away from the boat tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

just come back from a weeks holidayhotel and staff first class rooms cleaned every day food good could cater for english breakfast but did find something to eat at breakfast position or hotel close to everything night porter very helpfull and pleasant

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Negative:-

The walls are like paper, sounds like the person next door is actually in your room. If the people above you are noisy you get to hear their balcony chairs and room chair being dragged across the floor.

If people come back and have a shower or a bath late at night (as our neighbours did) the plumbing noise was horrendous.

If people come back and put the TV on late at night (as our neighbours did) it sounds like you actually have the TV on in your room.

If your neighbour has a cough they may as well be sat on the end of your bed.

There is only one piece of moveable furniture in your room (a chair) and people for some reason managed to drag this around the very small room and the noise carried again.

The doors had no slow release so they banged every five minutes.

All in all we cant blame our neighbours as some people are just noisy, however, there should be sound proofing in hotels in order to make your stay a relaxing one.

Positive:-

Staff are all friendly enough.

Food is good, a little samey but it always is in hotels.

Hotel is clean.

Overall:-

I dont know if it was the time of year but I wouldnt say this resort was really for couples - very family orientated.

Beach crazy busy (again I think the time of year) you cant really sunbathe by the pool as it is quite shady, the sunbeds have no mattresses and are really uncomfortable.

You get what you pay for a clean budget hotel with decent food but not at all a restful place to stay, by that I mean a noisy resort as well as a very noisy hotel.

Room Tip: ask for top floor, with nobody ajoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CnD08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Stella Maris for seven nights in June on a B&B basis in Room No.202.

HOTEL
Very pleasant staff with 24hr manned reception (english speaking), everything was incredibly clean and tidy, towels and bedding changed every day, room size was smaller than expected but perfectly adequate with plenty of storage space and a lovely sized balcony overlooking the pool area. The bar staff are very friendly and appreciated any spanish speaking we tried to do! Bar itself had a lovely seating area opening out onto the street, which was nice as we are both smokers - good size spirit measures and lovely, reasonably priced cocktails and bar snacks available! There was also the added bonus of access to a lockable luggage storage room for after you had checked out, so that you could enjoy any time you had before leaving for the airport, without having to worry about suitcases etc. Lovely pool area with plenty of seating and loungers, and waiter service for drinks whilst you were sunbathing. Breakfasts were very nice, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, breads, pastries and a varied range of hot food which changed daily (bacon, eggs, tomatoes, beans etc) and plenty of juice, tea, coffee or chocolate

BLANES
Incredibly clean and beautiful, plenty to do - beach was particularly lovely, with showers, foot washes and refreshment stands dotted along the front, loungers and umbrellas available to hire for approx 4-5 Euros all day. Nice town centre with plenty of shops ranging from Jewellery to 'tourist favourites'! Fruit market seemed to be open every day in the town centre and on Monday's, there is a large market which runs along the promenade selling everything you could want, and for very good prices. There are also an abundance of shops running through the back streets from the hotel towards the town centre (approx 20 min walk)
Another thing to mention is that located right by the hotel is a good supermarket stocking everything you could need (individual long life milk portions were particularly useful for the morning cuppa!(but take a travel kettle as no facilities in room)

GETTING AROUND
Local transport is good - a little road train runs regularly from the hotel end of the beach, up to the port for approx 2 euros, there is also a glass bottomed boar that you can catch that takes you from the beach at the hotel end, up to the port, or you can take a day trip to Lloret de mar or Toassa de mar, or any of the little coves and bays along the way - tickets are available from stands along the promenade. There are also regular public transport buses going to the town centre or further afield. Walking to the town centre takes approx 20 - 25 minutes (dependant on the heat!) but is worth it when you get there!

FOOD
Massive amounts of restaurants ranging from Kebab and burger shops to high quaility seafood. One of our favourites is called 'Es Blanc' and is located in the centre of the prommenade - 'tapas' and bar snacks available in the bar lounge area, or a very high quality restaurant area with beautiful sea views. Not the cheapest but definately one of the best. Another we would recommend is located much nearer to the hotel, a lovely italian restaurant called 'Arpago' (we think - couldn't remember so had to look it up on Google!), wonderful food with a fantastic lunch time deal of 10 Euros for entre, starter, main, dessert of coffee AND a bottle of wine EACH!
Could not fault any of the restaurants that we visited for quality of food, price or friendliness of the staff.

TAKE NOTE - Not neccessarily problems but things to be aware of!
We went from Tuesday to Tuesday and for the majority of the time the hotel was peaceful and calm, however it appeared that the weekend was some Spanish festival and the entire town errupted with people throwing firecrackers until 3am and a particlary loud party was held in the campsite next door that went on until 5am. We admitted defeat and continue to drink cocktails on the balcony until the noise level died down!
Another thing to note is the thinness of the walls within the hotel - we didn't encounter any 'problems' as such but I was kept awake on one occassion by the guy next door snoring!
Also - be aware that although the air con in the rooms is fabulous, it is powered by the presence of your room key - therefore if you are out for the day, the room warms up quite alot - there are no fridges in the room so we had to store things in the sink to jeep them cool, however, these may be available from reception (we never really needed one so didn't bother to find out)

All in all, a fantastic holiday for the price and would definately go back again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms seem to be nicer, quieter and also get the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blanes
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#2 of 23 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petit Palau
Petit Palau
#8 of 23 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boix Mar Hotel
Boix Mar Hotel
#6 of 23 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blaumar
Hotel Blaumar
#3 of 23 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Horitzo
Hotel Horitzo
#5 of 23 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Property: Hotel Stella Maris
Address: Av Vila de Madrid 18, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Blanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Blanes
Stella Maris Hotel
Hotel Stella Maris Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing