We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments AR Muntanya Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments AR Muntanya Mar
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Myself and a group of 7 others stayed here in June. It was a let down. We were told there was enough beds for each room to sleep 4, there was 3 beds and a small sofa that didn't pull out or even have sheets. We found some blankets in the cupboards but they had brown stains on them.
We were dropped off on a hill with no one telling us where to go or how to get there. We eventually found our way there, where we were asked for a hefty deposit and our passports, so be prepared for that. We also had to make our own beds upon arrival and clean and mop our room in order to get our deposit back, housework wasn't really what I wanted to do on my holiday away. The area itself is dead, you have to trek up and down a hill to get to the beach (the beach itself is quite small) where there are quite a few restaurants some are lovely some were barely even edible. The hotel is unclean and unpleasant and the pool is FREEZING, I would really rethink if you want to stay here, I don't think you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    16
    12
    9
See reviews for
37
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

these apartments have great views across the bay of blanes we love these apartments been there for three times in the last three years.they do need up dating but are very clean and tidy they are fine for a basic stay they are up a hill but for 5 euro you can get a taxi from the centre of blanes the staff are excellent they do a excellent 1 litre of sangria for 5 euro.

Room Tip: higher the room excellent views over the bay of blanes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having checked previous reviews I was a bit worried of what we might find. When reading reviews about being "dropped off in the middle of knowhere", "apartments old, dirty & dated", "staff unhelpful" and "nothing open in Blanes", well you would be a bit concerned.
The coach dropped us off at the bottom of the hill as the police had advised coaches not to attempt the winding hill after a spate of incidents, yes the hill is steep but its not Mount Everest.
We were given apartment 202, it was clean, painted and had plenty of room. Yes the kitchen was basic, but in had a hob and a microwave aswell as a fridge. The beds were comfy with enough pillows, sheets and blankets and the view from the balcony was stunning.
The first day there we had a problem with the boiler, spoke to the guy on reception and by the end of the day we had a brand new boiler fitted. The staff could not have been anymore helpful and all through the holiday they could not do enough for you.
If you go into town during the day, you will not fined many shops open, but go in town after four o'clock and the town comes to life. What a load of rubbish about there was nothing open and no banks to change money, the place had more banks than i could count and as for bars, shops and restuarants, well these were available in abundance.
If your looking for a bargain getaway this is the place to go. If you expecting 4* or 5* experience for 2* money, then best you "jog on".
Already planning next years trip where we will stay longer. By the way, the apartments are being upgraded over winter with new bathrooms and kitchens being installed according to the guy on reception.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, you get great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Muntanya Mar apartments are great value. They sit on a an elevated site with great views of the sea. Obviously if you have an elevated view.. you have a hill to climb! It's pretty steep so not ideal for the unfit or people with reduced mobility. The apartments are spacious and very clean, I would say none has a poor view, but would request not one above reception and bar area, as it's probably quite noisy when it's full. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Not above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelagh187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just got back from a week in Blanes, at the Muntanya-Mar Apartments. They are a bit dated but everything was very clean. The cooking appliances are a bit on the short side, but we dont cook so it didnt matter. The staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you. Eating in here is fine if you are ok with a baguette or a microwave meal, otherwise it is great for snacks during the day.
Pool is fine, and the main town and beach are only 5 minutes away, and both are very clean.
WARNING, we took cash with us and found that all the Banks refuse to change money for you, there was only the Santander Bank that did, as there is no money exchange places you normally find in Spain, if there is we couldnt find one.
Overall a nice friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madtheswine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week mid September. We thought for the price it was good, rooms are dated but big and bright. Towels not changed unless you pay 1 euro, room not cleaned during the week, however brush and mop in room. You do get 1 roll of toilet paper, clean sheets, which you need to fit yourdelf You do need a 120 deposit by cash or card number. Bar was ok, but not used much in the evenings, food was basic but fine and staff very friendly and helpful. Pool area was good, plenty of sun hours. Location very good.
We though blanes was a great resort, not a typical british led place, and we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wt632013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed between 4th and 11th of Sept 2013. Following a stressful, testing day (car parking issues, delayed flight, etc) we EVENTUALLY met our transfer coach. Bearing in mind Blanes is only 30 kilometers from the airport we endured a near 2 hour magical mystery tour of what must only be described as Spains answer to Beirut. The driver then "dumped" us 500 meters from the hotel. Not far? Well, it was virtually a VERTICAL 500m!!!. Not what we wanted or expected. Once we scaled the mountain (hill just doesn't do it justice!) and found the hotel we were informed of the 7 euro tax.....not a problem....AND the 120 euro deposit......BIG PROBLEM as we hadn't brought our cards and it meant dipping into our holiday spending money.
Day 2 things looked up. The staff were brilliant, the accommodation was great (if a little dated), the pool was spot on and the views were great. In short, the staff and hotel made it a very pleasant stay.
We would HIGHLY recommend a local cafe/bar called Veracuz. Again, very courteous and friendly. Buggys restaurant was great too. The one restaurant we visited twice was Santis which is located at the far end of the beach. The Monkfish was perfect AND cheap :) The paella was also great. All in all, a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Please note, NO double beds and pushing the singles together brings it's own downsides. No kettl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blanes hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#2 of 21 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Europa
Apartamentos Europa
#10 of 21 in Blanes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blaumar
Hotel Blaumar
#3 of 21 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
S'Abanell Central Park
S'Abanell Central Park
#14 of 21 in Blanes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#7 of 21 in Blanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments AR Muntanya Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments AR Muntanya Mar

Property: Apartments AR Muntanya Mar
Address: Maresme 3, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Blanes
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Blanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Apartments AR Muntanya Mar 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apartments AR Muntanya Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muntanya-Mar Hotel Blanes
Apartments AR Muntanya Mar Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing