We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly & very nice”
Review of Blaucel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blaucel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We came to Blanes for a week-long August breakaway from Moscow, Russia with my son, 13 y.o. The check-in went smoothly and the corner room on the 5th floor was spacious, with a great view and a big balcony with some plastic table/chairs. Actually there are two hotels interconnected by an underway passage, so patrons of Blaucel could go to Blaumar and vice-versa. The food was beyond and above, and I could not probably think of anything to improve here. Sometimes, late at night you would hear some noise from discos in the nearby hotels, but this is August after all and the noise did not seem annoying. the rooms are pretty clean, we did not use any room service. There are several swimming pools, including one inside the building which is very good for smaller kids. There are enough sundebs around the pool area. The staff is multilingual, including Russian which is handy for those not speaking other languages. There are a couple of computers in the reception area to check emails which work for coins, something like 1 Euro/15 min or so. However the front desk told us that wi-fi is coming soon. Blaucel has good entertainment program every night and even if you do not participate it is simply fun to watch others so doing. There is kids' playroom although my son was too old for that, but at least it is there. Parking can be difficult, however the hotel staff tries to help especially if you make an arrangement in advance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for family vacations and plan to come back there with my family next summer, although probably not in August.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexei_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2008

We had high expectations. This is a 4 star hotel. We were placed on the first floor, even when we had book a room high up in the hotel. If you live on the first floor its very, very noicy, and you cant go to bed early. The cleaning was not good. It was dirty under the beds and in the corners.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GunnarVanersborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We have just returned from an enjoyable week at the Hotel Blaucel in Blanes (blaness). The location of this hotel gives you the best of both worlds, a fantastic beach, one block from the hotel and easy access to all the beauty and mystery of Barcelona. This is a good three star hotel. The room we were assigned was in the 300’s (actually the fourth floor) and looked out over the tops of the pine trees for a fantastic view of the sea. The room was very pleasant, with comfortable twin beds, TV, air conditioning, a balcony and a big beautiful bathroom. We rented a safe for the week. The maids did the room promptly every morning and replaced the towels every day. The only complaint here was that toiletry supplies in the bathroom were not replenished very frequently and we had to ask for them at the front desk. Checking in and out at reception was the fastest ever experienced and they were helpful with requests for bus and train information.
Breakfast in the dining room was a very complete buffet with anything anyone could want. The dinner buffet was not always the greatest but you could always find enough to be satisfied. The service and the staff’s apparent lack of attention to the guests in the dining room would barely qualify it as three stars. However, one must always keep in mind that the value of a stay at this hotel with breakfast and dinner is well worth it even if you wish to eat out one or more nights.
The hotel has very good swimming pools, indoor and outdoor and nightly entertainment in the bar.
The centre of the town of Blaucel is about two miles away, a pleasant walk along the beach or take the little tourist train that stops outside the hotel. There you will find the market, shops and many restaurants. The bus station is a 20 minute walk, here you can buy a combination bus ticket to the train station and the train to Barcelona. We also took the train to Figures to see the Dali Museum. We went into Barcelona on the train three times, a trip of about 1.5 hours, used the Bus Turistic, saw many of the beautiful sights and walked La Rambla a lot. The statue people were the most amazing and entertaining.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PLESLIE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Just come back from a week's stay at this hotel (4-11 april 2007)(2 adults, 2 kids - both aged 8). The hotel was very modern and clean, no problems with the rooms, which were cleaned daily. But do not stay over Easter - most things were shut, including nearby hotels and shops. We were the only 4 British guests staying there - mostly French, Spanish and Dutch. The entertainment at the hotel, for adults and kids alike, was absolutely dire. We went on a half board basis, which was fine. The breakfast and dinner were fine, but if you want lunch or a snack in the bar or by the pool there is absolutely nothing available at the hotel, only crisps. They didn't even sell ice creams/lollies for the kids. There was an indoor and outdoor pool, both of which were very clean, but apart from that absolutely nothing for the kids to do. Wouldn't stay here again because of lack of entertainment/ child activities, food, snacks etc.

Stayed: April 2007
3  Thank sollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We (Spanish couple 30+ yrs old + 3 yrs old daughter) stayed 1 week, all-in at Hotel Blaucel (4*).
This hotel is recently build, and is connected through an underground corridor with Hotel Blaumar (3*), across the street. So, the dining room (right under the swimming pool: from the corridor you can even see the people swimming above your head through the glass-ceiling) has to be shared with the guests of Hotel Blaumar. Sometimes is thus very, very busy at the restaurant, though you never have to wait too long.
Plenty of East European guests (Russians, Czechs...)
Very good quality of food, tasty, varied and always in plenty. Only desserts are not so good.
Swimming pool is fantastic: indoor and outside, solarium, terrace..., also great for children and even little baby's.
Great service, the staff is very helpful. Rooms are very nice and quiet, fully equipped. If you are looking for a paeceful stay, be aware to ask for a room at or above the 2nd floor!!! It's party every night at the bar, so you can effortless sing along with the musicians (every night live -and very noisy- entertainment) if you stay in a low-placed room.
From the hotel you walk 1 minute to the beach: smooth sand, perfect location, quiet and clean. A 20 minutes walk along the sea front (great views!) gets you to the village centre. Shops, restaurants and entertainment also very close to the hotel.
Great stay, great time, great price!!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MGyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2005

Just returned from a 2 week package holiday at the Blaucel organised through Globespan. Package was excellent value for the price paid.

The hotel is well located about 20 mins walk from the centre of Blanes, near the beach in an area of other hotels and camp sites. Its rooms are of modest size with minimalist style furnishing and luxury bathrooms (Photographs we saw on some agents' web sites were representative). Many facilities are shared with the *** Hotel Blaumar, which means lots of people in the restaurant so it can be a bit of a bustle at times (don't expect fine dining!). Meals are buffet style and to a high standard with plenty of choice. Food is regularly replenished and fresh. Some dishes might not be to your taste, but you can try something else. The head chef is regularly present in the dining room checking things and is very friendly. Drinks are moderately priced.

Blanes is well located for travel to Lloret de Mar, Tossa de Mar, Barcelona and Girona. We got to Montserrat on the train (via Placa de Espana station in Barcelona - the tourist information office aren't good at telling you about this). We thought it a more interesting resort than its near neighbours. The station is served by a local bus which connects with trains but we eventually found an almost direct footpath from the hotel to the station (25 mins walk) which was more convenient than waiting for a bus (again difficult to get information about this path).

Nightly entertainment provided in the hotel sometimes started at 2300 and noise penetrated to our room through the ventilation system (We were on floor 2 and above the entertainment area so there may be quieter rooms).

Some hotel staff could take a more personal and friendlier approach (rather unusually these days, staff do not use name badges nor is information displayed about the management team) but otherwise things are done well.

In summary, bearing in mind the price paid, this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank brianedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: nessun problema di rumorosita' neanche dall'esterno , le stanze sono dotate di doppi vetri
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blanes hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blaumar
Hotel Blaumar
#4 of 21 in Blanes
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
0.6 mi away
Hotel Horitzo
Hotel Horitzo
#5 of 21 in Blanes
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#2 of 21 in Blanes
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petit Palau
Petit Palau
#9 of 21 in Blanes
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#7 of 21 in Blanes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaucel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaucel

Address: Avda Villa de Madrid 31; Blanes | 17300; Girona Espana, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blanes
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Blanes
Price Range: $101 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blaucel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 star hotel in Blanes, tourist centre and fishing resort on the Costa Brava. Is attached to the villa by a sea side promenade. Its position on the seafront separated from the beach by a pine forest creates a perfect environment for family holidays or couples. His family rooms are designed for comfortable accommodation for families with 3 children. The SPA with solarium, gym, terraces with sea views and its outdoor pools and heated one allow you to enjoy the bath and relax all year round. The Hotel has large rooms for conventions, incentives and company meetings. Playground and Mini Club for children. Animation for adults with sports, live music, dance and show's. Nearby facilities offer water sports, scuba diving, golf, tennis, paddle and other entertainment for the whole family. Adapted for the disabled. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blaucel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaucel Hotel Blanes
Blaucel Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing