We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cheap apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apartamentos Europa
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
South Shields
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fab cheap apartments”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a short break at the europa apartments. Was really surprised , was expecting nothing special but our apartment was spotless and couldn't fault anything at all. Staff really helpful too. Can't believe we paid so little as we have been to many worse places for Double the price. Location is fab for transport too.

Room Tip: Go to K D s restaurant and bar next door. Great food and lovely staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    80
    31
    22
    23
See reviews for
46
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

After reading trip TripAdvisor I thought oh god where are we going. We only paid about £160 each for the week so I thought sod it its a room at the end of the day we are on holiday so wont be spending much time in there.

Well, I was really surprised. The staff at reception are welcoming. The Europa block and pools looked really nice. When we reached the room I was even more surprised. Lovely spacious rooms, basic kitchen facilities but all the basics you need. Kettle, hob, microwave, bowls and cups galore and cutlery. Decent size fridge for chilling wine and beer!

We requested a Pool facing room in the Europa block. We were placed in Block C with a pool view and to the back of the balcony a view of the building site. You only see this if you deliberate point your chairs at the building site or are walking back in to the room otherwise we had a brilliant view (see pic)

The staff where very friendly and if we had a problem they came straight away to fix this. We had a issue with the TV an the man arrived and fixed in no time. The only bad part really of the holiday was the weather but Blanes itself made up for this.

Around the corner from the apartments is a must visit. The Shamrock Irish bar is a fantastic little pub. Spike behind the bar is very friendly and doesn't mind you taking the mick out of him for being a Arsenal fan. If you want a friendly lively atmosphere here is your pub.

We also visit Texas Steak house on the front which sells cracking Hot wings and again very friendly atmosphere. Lovely view on to the sea and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. On our first night we where given advice and maps from the gentleman ( I think Alex) on how to get around Blanes and how to reach Barcelona ( about 14 euros on the combined bus and train from the bus station).

All in all Blanes is a lovely place, the people are brilliant and the Europa apartments are a cracking base!

One last note, a 50 Euro or £ deposit is expected on arrival. Thanks to TripAdvisor we were aware of this just a shame the travel company don't forewarn you.

Room Tip: Request a pool view Europa Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just remember everyone you get what you pay for. We went here September 2011 and had a great holiday. I think it was from the Wed - Wed and over the Sat and Sun we took a train trip down to Barcelona and stayed a night there. It was a great holiday! Although we thought self catering would be cheaper but not so much! Spent a fortune on food! The apartment had what we needed and no more or no less. Great wee place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The apartments

We are NOt stuck up, we are NOT snobs but this place is the pits! On arrival we were greeted to a very tired spanish man on reception who was in a foul mood! On arrival to our room we were greeted with the smell of raw sewage that was so bad we had to keep the bathroom door closed. The day after we were moved but wated to charge us 50 euros..... yes thats right 50 [--] euros to change rooms!!!!! We were put next to the lift shaft that was so noisy that we hardly slept the whole week we were there. Our room also overlooked an abandoned hotel with rather an amusing crane that moved in the wind acting as a giant sun dial (see pics).

Blanes

Fantastic place! Great beach, great shopping, not too many resturants out of season but the ones that were open were amazing!

Short bus ride to lloret de mar, tossa del mar or the other direction malgrat de mar (these a must)

Just over an hour train ride to barcelona.

If you must stay here we can highly reccomend K.D's bar next to the hotel. Thank you Richard and vikki for keeping us sane!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blanes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

WORTH TO REMEMBER/KNOW:
On the arrival you will be asked to leave deposit of 50 euro, however you can leave pounds instead which will save you hustle with exchanging money etc. Money will be returned to you easily and with no hustle (of course that is you didn't "trash" the place completely).
Shops are close for the siesta between 1-2pm and 4-5pm.
Closet cash point is hidden a bit and we didn't spotted till much later into our stay. When you leave Apartment Europa turn right, walk down 10 meters and look to your right it is just behind "europa internet cafe".

POSITIVES:

KITCHEN:
The apartments kitchen have most things you need. the only things missing (as someone earlier noticed) was can opener (however there is a wine opener) and kettle (there is pot for boiling water therefore it is not a disaster).

BATHROOM AND REST OF THE APARTMENT:
The whole of the apartment was nice and clean. The bathroom was disinfected and the bath curtain was clean. We asked for the room with the bath (I was raised with person suffering with OCD therefore I learned few "bad" habits) I had to wash bath again but it was clean and there was nothing wrong with it. All in all the bathroom was clean and spacious.

BEDROOM:
Our bedroom was nice, clean and very good size too. Beds were big and comfy. The covers were clean and pressed but I brought my own cushion cover (standard size). The only thing I could not bring myself to touch were blankets. They were not looking too inviting and had few too many winters behind them. I do understand that most holiday makers will not use them as the weather will be nice but we were unfortunate to catch 2 cold nights and me (and my partner) prefer to be cold then use them.

BALCONY, LIFT AND POOL:
Every room have a balcony and if you can choose room ask for one with the pool view (even though it is very close to the beach you can't see the sea so the pool one are the best otherwise you will face street or the building site).
There is lift in the building but we were living on the first floor so we didn't use it (but it look rather small and dated).
There are two swimming-pools there. One very small but very popular for the smaller kids and one big for the adults. The swimming pool was spotless clean and there is plenty of the sun bed to use for free. The swimming pool is very popular so a lot of people were getting up early to take a space by putting a towel etc. We went in end of September so I can only imagine how packed it is in the pick of the season.

OTHER FACILITIES:
There is lovely lady in the reception who speak english and is always very helpful.
There is pub/bar with the billiard table, fruit machine and some live entertainment in some nights.

OUTSIDE:
You don't have to walk far if you fancy full english breakfast. There are two English pubs just around the corner (2 minutes walk tops). They both have lovely food and people. Plus of the Bull is that is showing football games and it close late and plus of the KD's is that is open early and shows the news.

BLANES AND AROUND:
There are few shops around quick walk around and you'll know everything but if you stay for longer it is worth to catch a bus to LIDL (3-4 stops) and have big shopping for a week done there, otherwise the food is quite expensive.

The bus station is just opposite apartments and server the best espresso in whole Blanes. They sell volume tickets to Barcelona (bus to the station+train return £13pp). It is really worth it. The train runs approx. every 30 minutes and it takes around 1hr 30min (although we were coming back what it was looking like rush hours and we were stuck for better part of 3 hours).

There is plenty to see in Blanes itself. If you staying long enough there is big market on Monday morning which is great to get little gifts from you voyage. There are interesting ruins of the castle saint Joan which is free and worth to visit for the amazing views (I wouldn't miss this one if you want to have amazing photos from your holidays). The botanic gardens Mar i Mutra are very relaxing and again have the most pictures views but I would not go there twice. There is few more places worth to see but if you interested visit site which helped me www.don-travel.com/places-of-interest-blanes/.

The beach can be reached within 5 minutes walk and to walk to the city it takes approx. 15 minutes.
The beach is vast and clean and you can spot few restaurant on the promenade some of which serve set menu (those deals are usually good value for money starter+main+desert+1/2litre of wine).

NEGATIVES:

Ok I will start from one simple negative... place is dated and need a little renovation. Nothing major just but place would benefit greatly from a little refreshment paint etc.

It can get loud. You can hear everything your neighbours do (dropping coin, switching light everything) so my advice get top floor room. During the weekend there are some parties going on in the area so you have to choices. Join, drink and fall asleep this way or buy your self ear plugs.

I hope you find this helpful.

Room Tip: Choose room with the swimming pool view and top floor to avoid noise from the room above you. As wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

stayed at these apts with my husband ,in oct ,apts are spacious and clean although basic,have a good sized balcony,and a good sized pool with seperate kids pool.staff are very freindly,from what icould gather europa apts and lotus apts are two different blocks we stayed in europa.

Room Tip: ask for pool view,as other apts face building site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Clean slick, better then you expect, lovely pool abit chilly, apartments spanking, brilliant value for money, get your selfs booked up will be back next year, lovely area, shamrock bar just around the corner, the place to be

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamandhollyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blanes hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartments AR Muntanya Mar
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#8 of 21 in Blanes
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#4 of 21 in Blanes
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petit Palau
Petit Palau
#9 of 21 in Blanes
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Horitzo
Hotel Horitzo
#5 of 21 in Blanes
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Europa

Property: Apartamentos Europa
Address: C/Lluis Companys,23-25, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Europa/Lotus Hotel Blanes
Apartamentos Europa Lotus Blanes
Apartamentos Europa Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing