We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected it to be bad but it wasn't all bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Europa
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
cardiff south wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I expected it to be bad but it wasn't all bad”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My 13 year old daughter and I arrived on a Saturday lunchtime, the rooms were clean and spacious and the kitchenette was fully equipped and everything worked.
I was happy with my cheap holiday.
However I had a room that was above the nightclub and I wasn't pre-warned about the noise I might experience and believe me it was noise! Not the nightclub music but the locals screaming and shouting and cars parked below us blasting music, I didn't sleep a wink the 1st night.
We had our breakfast each day at k.d's which is just outside the hotel and the people there (Richard and Terry , if I remember rightly) were true gents and went out of they're way to please, very friendly and great breakfasts at very reasonable prices.
They told me the nightclub is only open on Saturday's as it was out of season but during season time it's open every night till 6am! I'm so glad I went in September!
The next few days were quiet and spent around the pool which was nice and clean with plenty of beds, the pool bar was reasonable.
The beach is a 5 minute walk and was nice and clean and every Monday morning there is a Market.
I highly recommend the Texas ranch steakhouse by the beach,lovely food and very good value, the best food of our stay without a doubt.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to family and friends but only out of season and I would go back as long as I had a room that was away from the nightclub.
Weather was fab! 30 degrees everyday

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    76
    30
    22
    22
See reviews for
43
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me, my husband and our 3 children stayed here for a week in August 2011. We arrived at lunchtime and could not get to sit around the pool, as all the sun-loungers were reserved with towels, although no occupants. This was the set up everyday, and holiday makers were placing sun loungers and towels from 8.30am to guarantee one. The apartments were basic. We required an extra bed for our third child in the living area, and there were no covers on the bed/settee, or spare sheets. I asked the cleaners who were around, they did not speak English and eventually bought a cover for the mattress on the 2nd day. There was no air con, but it was impossible to leave windows open during the evening as it was so rowdy and noisy outside. The apartments seemed to be full of dutch teenagers who spent their days dive bombing into the pool and their evenings drinking and shouting on their balconies. This went on until 3/4am the next morning. There are no cleaners, so our bedding was not changed for the duration, or our towels. I would not revisit or recommend the apartments, and the area of Blanes did not have much to offer apart from a nearby water park called Marine World, which was a great day out and a welcome escape from the apartments for us all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobberti6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blanes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Huge apartment - good facilities - brilliant shower - reception staff really helpful - lovely pool. View from room not great but preferable to overlooking the disco - Shamrock Bar - brilliant breakfast and fab for watching the footie - Bar Stadium good as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I went to Spain on holiday from 08/06/2011 to 17/06/2011. We stayed in the Apartamentos Europa, Blanes, on the Costa Brava.
On 13/06/2011, the apartment was burgled. This happened in the middle of the day. I was on the balcony (1st floor) when it happened. The thieves stole money, two cash cards, from my wife’s handbag, which she had hidden under the bed. They stole a watch, and the keys of the apartment, from the table in the lounge and some jewellery from a drawer in the bedside unit. We discovered the theft after less than 3o minutes. There was no damage to the door of the apartment so it appears that the thieves had a master key.
We immediately reported the theft to Reception but they were completely unhelpful. We asked to use the phone, to inform the banks about the stolen bank cards. They refused to allow us to phone the bank and pointed to the pay-phone. We had no money, coins and banknotes had been stolen. We asked to use their Internet terminal, but again they refused. At that time, the thieves were using the bank cards to obtain money. Reception did not phone the police. There are video cameras on the site and they blocked us on that: said they did not know whether there was a film in it. They told us to come back at 7:00 pm and the manager would deal with it (and the thieves would be a long way off). We waited until the evening then they told us the cameras were not working.
We visited the local police station that afternoon, however, at the Police station, nobody would speak to us. They told us to go away and come back later. We attended for 2-3 hours on 13, again on 14 and yet again on 15 of June. We filled in a form but no police personnel spoke with us. We spoke only to the lady who interprets languages. We wasted a day and a half of our holiday at the police station and we were most unhappy about their procedures.
While at the police station, we met other holidaymakers from Europa apartments (some teenage girls from the Netherlands). They too had been burgled; thieves had accessed their room late at night, again using a key since they were sure they had locked the premises properly. They lost their phones and music playing equipment and naturally were very afraid and glad to leave the place.
We left a day early and found other accommodation since we felt so insecure at Europa Apartments. We were appalled at the lax standards offered by Europa Apartments and the sheer bloody-mindedness of the reception staff. The place has serious failings which allow thieves to operate with impunity. If you are thinking of going there, be warned and go elsewhere.
BH

Room Tip: A nightmare; don't touch the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank disgusted6444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Perfect for anyone wanting a lazy, restful holiday - less suitable for young people at this time of year.
Clean, well maintained and appointed apartment with a spacious balcony for sitting out. Huge, sparklingly clean pool with loads of free sunbeds, parasols and tables. On site restaurant/bar with shady patio, serving good value drinks, snacks and light meals - a glass of good cava 1 Euro.
Pool restrooms include hot showers, so last day, late flight, no problem!
Good beach a 10 minute walk away, passing through a pretty square with really nice places for a coffee/drink/tapas. Don't swim in the sea, tho, as it shelves sharply with an undertow.
15-20 minute saunter along the promenade into Blanes old town for dinner (nothing much near hotel) where a 3 course good meal and a bottle of wine for two can be had for 11 Euros (Salinas Restaurant by the underground car park)
Entertainment in the bar every evening (not all that good, but early season!) and anyway it's free.
Eco friendly complex, with motion sensors and timers for the lights, half/full flush toilets, and towels changed only once during the week. I don't like being hassled by housekeeping on holiday, and don't know anyone who changes their sheets more than once a week!
All staff were remarkably helpful and friendly, and I am sure more clean towels would have been available if necessary.
There was no noise at all during our stay, with bar entertainment ending at 11pm and the majority of holidaymakers in the 25 up age bracket, with most 45-60.
All in all this was one of the best value and laziest holidays we've had - perfect for sun worshippers and shade sitters alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mouldylocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights in early September. When on holiday we like to avoid places that are too English and that are full of drunk people.
Blanes met this criteria. There didn't seem to be many English people and we didn't witness any drunken shenanigans. At this time of year the weather was still good but there were a couple of cooler days. It was 20-25 degrees every day.

The accomodation was clean and had everything we needed. There is a swiming pool and a bar but to be honest we didn't use them at all. Why sit by a pool when the sea is a 5 minute walk? Maybe if you have kids you'd use it. We went into the bar once planning a quick drink before heading out for the evening. We were the only people in the bar and we stood and watched the staff purposely ignore us and tidy up instead for 10 minutes then left and didn't go back.

There is an Irish bar pretty much next door and a few other places offering traditional English food but they are easily avoided.

Our apartment was above the bar. We were initially worried about the noise but the music went off at midnight each night and after that it was very peaceful. This suited our routine fine. However after a few days we thought we may kill ourselves if we had to listen to the Grease megamix again.

Our apartment had one double bedroom, a lounge / kitchenette, bathroom and balcony. They were all fine. There was a fridge, kettle, a 2 ring hob and some glasses, pans, plates and cutlery. The hob was very good and got very hot very quickly. We prepared a few basic meals there with no problems.

There are lots of affordable places to eat so a lot of the time we had ate breakfast and maybe a small meal in the apartment and had a big meal out. If you go for the platos del dia you can get 3 courses and wine for about 10-12 euros per person. I ate some of the best seafood I've had on this holiday. There are no big supermarkets near the apartments but a couple of small ones. We found the one near the fruit and veg market best.

The daily fresh fruit and veg market was fantastic. We bought some huge peaches and other fruit and ate them for breakfast every day. They also had a spice stall and we brought home a load of smoked paprika at a fraction of the cost that it is here.

The beach has small stones rather than sand and it's painful to walk on. The sea was sometimes a bit rough and we saw loads of jellyfish.

We walked to the botanical gardens. The bus is not necessary. It's just up the hill and takes 15 minutes. It's lovely and worth a visit for the views alone. If you continue walking past the botanical gardens you eventually reach a small beach (it was called St Franseca or something like that) on weekdays when the Spanish are at work this is quite quiet and beautiful. It's in a bay and the sea is not as choppy as the main one. We did some snorkelling as the water was clear (on the other beach the waves disturb all the little stones and it's too cloudy). There are lots of fish to see but mostly of the small and silver variety.

If you head up the hill there is a fork where one way leads to the botanical gardens and the other leads to the castle. We walked right to the top of the hill to the castle. It's a bit of a walk and not the most exciting ruins but it was good nonetheless. Fantastic views in every direction and a nice spot for a picnic.

We got a local bus to and from Girona airport at a cost of 8 euros each way.

Blanes is a small place and we certainly exhausted all that it had to offer within 7 days. We paid £550 for 2 people for 10 nights, flight and accomodation. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Remember what you paid and make the best of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cheetara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We came to stay in Europa Apartaments for a week in April, and for the money we paid for it we expected a broom cupboard to tell you the truth but it was absolutely brilliant. We got fair size apartament with nice size kitchennete and bathroom. People at the reception were very nice and helpful with everything. If you decide to go there you will be required to pay 50 euros deposit which I didnt think was mentioned on the website, they gonna give it back at the end of your stay if you obviously dont damage anything in the room. we really enjoyed our stay very much and I would definitely go there again. the beds arent very comfy though but i suppose everyone is different, they were a little bit hard for us to sleep on. swimming pool was brilliant. if u want to have a beer or food, i suggest you eat outside the hotel as it seemed a bit expensive there, there was a bar as you come out on the left called The Stadium. beer is really cheap there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank allegra25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blanes hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
0.4 mi away
Apartments AR Muntanya Mar
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#2 of 21 in Blanes
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stella Maris
Hotel Stella Maris
#7 of 21 in Blanes
169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boix Mar Hotel
Boix Mar Hotel
#5 of 21 in Blanes
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petit Palau
Petit Palau
#9 of 21 in Blanes
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Europa

Property: Apartamentos Europa
Address: C/Lluis Companys,23-25, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartamentos Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Europa/Lotus Hotel Blanes
Apartamentos Europa Lotus Blanes
Apartamentos Europa Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing