We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - shame they don't make the most of it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Spa Empuries
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This review is about the hostal's restaurant as I have never stayed there. Over the last 10 years we have eaten at the hostal every summer. The food was always excellent and extremely reasonable and it was always lovely to be able to sit on the terrace enjoying the view whilst eating! However, we have found that over the last couple of years, the prices have increased considerably and for some strange reason, you are no longer able to sit outside and eat! I could understand it if the weather was bad, but as it so rarely is, it seems very odd that you can no longer enjoy eating 'al fresco'! It is a real shame as the location of the hostal is it's main attraction and the change in management appear to be ignoring that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CMHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Dear Mr. CMHKent,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Hostal Spa Empuries.

I would like to inform you that from the last two years the Hostal Empuries gastronomic offer has change quite a lot in order to keep improving and always rich the highest levels of commitment with the eco Mediterranean cuisine. As you probably know at the beginning there was only one restaurant, which is currently Restaurant Portitxol, nowadays in high season we have three different gastronomic offers.

Restaurant Portitxol is our gastronomic restaurant in which we offer a high quality product, mostly with bio certification and provided by local suppliers. In this restaurant the average check it is between 45 euro and 65 euro per person. This restaurant is closed Tuesday and Wednesday.

The second offer is Bistro de Mar. During high season we offer a very wide buffet for 27 euro per person, and it opens every day. The rest of the year we offer a casual menu, also with fresh and high quality products with an average check around 27 euro.

Finally at the terrace we offer a menu of tapas. All the tapas are home made except for l’Escala anchovies, sardine in oil and pickled mussels. But we have chosen them for his high quality.

We will take your comments in consideration and we will improve the communications of these different offers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hostal Spa Empuries.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Spa Empuries
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 675 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Have been visiting this hostal to eat for the last fifteen years as live nearby .This year the "cheaper" eating option provided a wonderful , imaginative and price reasonable buffet which myself ,family and friends availed ourselves of on several occasions .
They have now changed the formula to an short a la carte menu which is supposedly more reasonable than their extremely expensive other a la carte . We tried this menu last Sunday. Portions were miniscule,food average and price wise exorbitant. Just because a tiny bit of green salad is served on a slate, it does not warrant the price tag of 10 Euros .My chicken breast stuffed with herbs was dry and totally uninteresting as opposed to oozing with flavour . The other starter of raw cod consisted of two small chunks of cod swimming in tomato.We hadn`t actually ordered this but had requested the cod balls instead , but unwisely decided to keep what was presented at the cost of 12 Euros. We noticed that the order was wrong on the table next to ours too. The dessert was so unmemorable, I can`t actually recall what it was except that it was expensive !we had one bottle of wine and the bill was 44 Euros each .This is totally opposite to our experiences earlier in the year when the food ,service, quality and value were all excellent.This is such a shame as setting is unbeatable , but NOT the way to deal with an economic crisis.Have never seen the place so empty --people can`t afford these prices for a meagre meal especially when there are good 15 Euro menus on offer in St Martie square which is were we will be going for the rest of this winter .Come on --you can offer better than this ..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikitaPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for been with us through all this years, you had have the opportunity to live the hotel evolution.

It is always our intention to improve and offer different culinary experiences with the best bio certified products. Allow me to detail below our two different proposals:

Portitxol Restaurant (Thursday to Monday)
Lunch menu for 24€
Dinner menu for 26€
Dinner a la carte which has an average cost of 45€ per person
Menu Tasting for 49€ (just created two days ago!)

Bristo de Mar
Extensive Buffet concept on high season (July & August - dates my vary)
Close Menu for 14€ in low season (September to May)

Thank you very much for let us know your comments about your last experience lived in our Bristo de Mar Restaurant; it is because of our guests comments that we are able to improve ourselves. I am happy to inform you that we have made some adjustments in the menu options and prices of our Bristo de Mar menu.

I do apologize because of the mistake we had with your menu order, we had took the proper actions to correct our service.

Please take into consideration that currently we are in low season, although we have repetitive guests that comes to enjoy both culinary offering and every time we have more and more guests visiting our restaurants.

I really look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back and show you the improvements implemented.

Sincerely yours.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were back at the Hostal Empuries to celebrate a birthday. This was at least our 7th visit and it won't be our last. We were in a Spa room this time (we usually stay in the older part of the hotel) which was rather too much black walls and slate for us. We much prefer the small old rooms where you can open the window and fall asleep to the sound of the sea.

The restaurant was excellent, as always and the staff were very helpful assisting me in getting my Spanish data SIM working.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeinHerault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in a Spa Room, and it was great. Lots of space, large bathroom, front patio and sitting area that can sleep a couple of kids (if you need that). Excellent dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Spa facilities are nice. For 20 euros you get lap pool, steam and dry saunas, large whirlpool bath with various jets (the foot massage jets were amazing after hiking 24 km,) heated and icy showers, etc. Hotel sits on the beach so the sea is right there. The room was part of a vacation package, so I don't know how much I actually paid for it. But from what I read of other reviews, the spa rooms are the way to go.

Room Tip: Spa Rooms are clean, large and well appointed and have outside patios.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global-Villagerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Views are absolutely amazing, at least for us that we were in a double superior sea view which was kind of small. They claim it has a terrace that in my view, it is just a big balcony.. I truly wonder which sea view they offer in the new wing of the hotel because the rooms to be a little far away from the sea, so I would double check before booking. Ours was small but as said, great views.

The rest of the experience was a little bit disapointing. Decoration has been done with taste but in some areas, the execution is poor: the carpet of the corridor was not in good shape; leaving the elevator, in our way to the room, we faced a matrass lying on the floor, the decoration on the common areas on the floor was just a couple of chairs, the soap dispensers look cheap, the color theme of the room was brownish which is not that appealing by the side, etc. As someone pointed out, you could sometime listen the other rooms.

The staff was not much better. We were told that they ran out of linnens for the table at only 10.15 when the breakfast was meant to last until 11.00; we were told to wait 10 min to get bread, they were already removing the food 10 min before 11.00 although customers were coming in, they were arguing with clients, etc...Food was good althiugh...

Overall, great views but somehow pretentious...and it is not cheap, so you leave with some mixed feelings..

Room Tip: if the new wing looks more modern but I am not sure if the sea views are that great as in the old wi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

+ good location, good design, nice staff, good food.
- noisy rooms ( you can almost follow the conversation of neighbours), not very flexible re dinner reservation for guests ( cant have dinner on the terrace, cant seat one more person even though tables were empty during dinner etc) guests have to pay for the sauna and steam etc, shouldn't be the case at € 165 a night. no nice products in the bathrooms (the 'sustainable' soap dispensers are filled with throw away plastic cartridges.

overall good but they should lose the 'suffering for a sustainable environment' attitude. It can be done in a more luxurious way because, if not, their prices aren't sustainable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rients b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALEMPURlES, Gerente at Hostal Spa Empuries, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Mr. Rients B,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your opinion about our hotel.

We work in order to ensure the highest levels of confortability for our guests with the maximum levels of commitment with the environment, that's one of the reasons why we have reach the LEED Gold certification being the first Hotel in Europe to be awarded.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that during high season we always recommend to our guest to book in advance in our restaurants because, although we have three different dinning areas (Restaurant Portitxol which is the gastronomic restaurant, Buffet Bistro del Mar, as a casual buffet option and our terrace where we offer a selection of tapas) during high season all of them are really popular and that’s the way we ensure to all our guest a table in any of the three options.

Again, thank you very much for your comments, we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Albert Marin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I've been to this hotel about five times in its current incarnation and have recommended it to friends and family, but I think I'm going to have to start adding a caveat to the recommendation. I've now stayed in all types of rooms except the new spa rooms. I've always thought that maybe the OTHER type of room is better but now that I've seen almost all of them, I can say that they have the same problems - some of which are fixable with a little more attention to detail, and some of which are more problematic. The big problem is the small size and sound insulation. I'm not bothered by the lack of TV - when you're right on the beach, who needs it, and it would just add to the general noise if your neighbors were watching TV. However I don't think there's much that can be done about this. What I don't really understand is why the hotel goes for elegant understatement and then has soap dispensers rather than individual soaps. It could be for ecological reasons, but I must say it feels more like a cheap gym and less like a charming hotel when there are just two dispensers in the shower, one for hair/body gel and one for conditioner. With what they charge at the hotel, they should invest in some luxury brands and at least get three dispensers, one for body, one for hair, and one for the conditioner. Bottles of lotion are also a necessity.
The bistro buffets for both breakfast and lunch are pricy but worth it. i can't say as much for the full-service restaurant, which, like the hotel, aspires to something but hits too many wrong notes, and is VERY expensive.
The location will probably keep me coming back, but there are other beachside hotels on the Costa Brava and I may try some other ones first.

Room Tip: If you're a couple with kids, consider getting more than one room rather than a triple or quad...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Escala
1.5 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Can Miquel
Can Miquel
#1 of 6 in L'Escala
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bonaire
Hotel Bonaire
#4 of 6 in L'Escala
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
472 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 16 in L'Estartit
321 reviews
6.8 mi away
URH Moli del Mig
URH Moli del Mig
#1 of 6 in Torroella de Montgri
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Spa Empuries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Spa Empuries

Address: Platja del Portitxol s/n | Ap Correus 174, 17130 L'Escala, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Escala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Price Range: $125 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostal Spa Empuries 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legacy Hostal Empuries stands on an ancient settlement, beside the Greek and Roman ruins of Empuries, whose beauty and tranquility attracted the Iberians as much as the Greek seafarers and the first Romans who settled the Iberian Peninsula. Moreover this is the place from which the mythic country of Emporda took its name. This privileged location is the actual cradle of our culture and the only Greek and Roman archaeological site in the whole peninsula. Consequently, to protect and enrich this legacy is one of the main objectives of the Hostal. The History The original construction of Hostal Empuries appeared in 1907, under the name of Villa Teresita, with the idea of giving lodgings to the first archaeologists, who directed by Puig i Cadafalch, set out on the job of excavating and restoring the Greek and Roman remains. From these historic beginnings the Hostal changed at the start of the 20C and became the precursor to touristic lodgings in the area, even before the use of the term Costa Brava. Years ago there was a change of management in the Hostal which undertook to finish extensive reforms with the idea that activities should flourish throughout the entire year and that the badly run-down site would be restored. With the same pioneering spirit of the ancients and the ability to responsibly and sensitively modify this magical spot, alongside the exacting requirements of the modern tourist, the Hostal is really striving to transform itself into a new reference point, a new model of tourism under the name of Sustainable Tourism, founded on social and ecological responsibility. The spirit The new Hostal Empuries is a project based on the idea of improving the world in which we live and share so that future generations might also enjoy themselves. We would like to become the best Hostal for our world... for a world where we all belong and for the Earth that surrounds us. Accordingly, we take our responsibility for managing this site very seriously and we endevour to serve all those who come to enjoy this encounter with nature and history of which we proudly form a part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Spa Empuries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Empuries l Escala
Hostal Empuries Hotel l Escala
Hostal Spa Empuries Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing