We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy”
Review of Can Miquel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Can Miquel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Breakfast is basic (mixed sweet and salt ) but good. That much we were happy about. The restaurant and the food were overrated in reviews. We only ate the first night and looked elswhere after but it is not the worst. The owner's dog was next to our table shaking while we ate(nasty), I Sneezed the whole night. When asked about the dog was asked "what is our problem?" and not in a hospitable way. Dog was left to roam where he pleased.
BAD: 6 and a half months pregnant and horrible mattress. They said had I complained they would have put boards beneath. But we did. It went on a list where they put your room number and problem. I guess they havent got to our room yet. There is no elevator and if you are on the 3rd floor like we were it is not funny. Most of the staff can get pretty busy and hectic even when its not packed and it is not a relaxing ambiance.
GOOD: Great place for family and kids, nice little cove.Rooms not small just right. Cleaned and changed towels everyday. Nice pool.
There was no AC in the room or we could not find any. Some nights got too hot (even with window open) so that would have been a plus. The beach Cala Montgo was filled of clear jellyfish (not so dangerous) and red ones (pretty but dangerous).
Hotel was okay but 3 stars for the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flairelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 182 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our second year here and cannot speak more highly. Not flash but modest. Clean and family run. Superb food. Lovely pool, total relaxation. Dumped the car as everything we need is here. Ugly exterior hides this absolute gem of a hotel. Hope it stays this way as the flash go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on the night of St. Joan. The food was fantastic, very fresh and tasty. The only problem was the atmosphere . The staff were not rude, but seemed very rushed, and really did not spend time with you or made you fell welcomed. They were not that busy, but maybe they had a very busy day or were short staffed. Definitely will go back, as stated before the food was really excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joanmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A quiet and peaceful place.
The rooms are cosy, but rather small.
There is no lift, it's kinda annoying when you carrying your suitcase to the 2nd floor (which is actually the 3rd).
The breakfast is basic.
The pool is well-kept.
A nice beach is near by, but the sea is knee-deep.
They have only 5 beach towels for all the hotel.
But it's probably the best you can get in L'Escala)

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tumbleweed007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I live in L'escala and haven't been to this restaurant before. I went with 2 friends and we had the menu del dia for 14€. For the first course I had the mussels and they were the best I had ever tasted. The sauce was delicious and was thoroughly mopped up with the fresh bread. For the second course I had the grilled lamb chops. They were served with asparagus, fresh mushrooms and homemade chips. They served leg chops,which is not usual here and they were cooked to perfection. There was a good selection of deserts but I settled for the ice cream as I was so full. I was not disappointed as the ice cream was home made and delicious. The menu included wine, water, bread and tax. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We only had a meal here rather than use the hotel. My wife had baby squid fried in batter, as a starter. She got a dinner plate full and the batter was light and crisp. Good one! My starter was carpaccio of tuna on guacamole. Again, very unusual but beautifully done. Another good one. My wife's main was tagliatelle with mushroom and truffle with a poached egg on top. She loved it. My
Main was a brochette of monkfish, salmon and prawns on a bed of mixed rices with mushrooms and vegetables. Another winner. For a sweet, my wife had creme catalan which again was an excellent example of how it should be made. My sweet was a plate of dried fruit and nuts surrounding a flute of moscatel wine. An unusual combination that worked very well. The waiter who served us provided good guidance on selection of a suitable wine - and very good it was too.
The downside to our visit was that the restaurant lacked atmosphere and the staff were running about too much to provide any major friendly contact. The food was great but the "eating out" experience was only middling. It was good value and the food was great but these few details improved could change the experience from " O.K." to truly amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BioToxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a lovely pleasant hotel situated off the beaten track from the town of L'Escala (about 5-10 minute drive away). The 'Can Miquel Hotel' is set in a small bay that feels relaxing and tranquil. The rooms are modern, clean and a decent size without having the extras. The bathroom was nice! Breakfast was a simple continental, but with great views looking out onto the bay. We travelled in March so the whether was not warm enough to utilise the pool or the sea, but would imagine that this would be very nice during the summer months. All in all, an excellent hotel in a relaxing location for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LockyNuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Escala
2.1 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
268 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostal Spa Empuries
Hostal Spa Empuries
#3 of 6 in L'Escala
689 reviews
2.1 mi away
Can Catala
Can Catala
#2 of 6 in L'Escala
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Anna
Hotel Santa Anna
#1 of 16 in L'Estartit
330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rallye Hotel
Rallye Hotel
#6 of 6 in L'Escala
62 reviews
9.6 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Miquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Miquel

Address: Platja de Montgo, s/n | Ap. Correus, 70, 17130 L'Escala, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > L'Escala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in L'Escala
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Can Miquel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Can Miquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Miquel Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing