We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncomfortable beds and noisy”
Review of Hotel Rovira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rovira
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Reviewed April 27, 2011

the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. too small, (i'm only 5 ft 3 inch) and too hard. Was spanish holiday weekend, resort busy couple of places across from hotel really loud and noisy till early hours of morning. good location, breakfast ok

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaretc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2008

I was in Cambrils 4 days in August 2008 with friends and children. We arrived by the end of the day without any booking and the first night had to stay at an expensive hotel. The next day we were walking in Cambrils searching for another option and that's when (by great coincidence as we were trying to find another Hotel which had seen on internet, located at the main street) we found the Hotel Rovira which drew our attention because of the nice front. At the desk we asked for 1 double room, 1 triple and 1 familiar (with 2 couple beds for 4 persons). We could see the rooms before booking and all were comfortable and spacious, with a balcony and a great view to the sea. We planned to stay there for 2 days but the hotel, the staff and the place was so nice that decided to stay an extra day. The Hotel is family owned and the managers/owners are extremely friendly and usefull. They also have a private parking (9 € / day) which is 300 mts from the hotel but very convenient as we had 3 cars.
1) Location: 20 meters from the beach which never found it crowded. The hotel is just in the centre of Cambrils and nearby there are lots of restaurants, shopping, pubs and bus stop (take the bus if you plan to go to Port Aventura because is faster than going by car and they leave you at park entrance).
2) Rooms: all were basic and standard for a 3 stars but very comfortable. Unlike other hotels, here we found spacious rooms to accomodate the guests, particularly the triples and the familiar. Have a small balcony with a great view to the sea. The bathrooms are basic but functional and didn't have problems with water preassure. Found the hotel very quiet and never heard noise from the halls or other rooms. Probably due to the kind of hotel guests (families, elderly). Also found the rooms cleaned and tidy. The double beds are spacious and unlike other reviews found the mattresses comfortable as no one complaint about a bad night (and some of us are bad sleepers).
3) Food and Beverage: the hotel has a fantastic restaurant which we could notice that has press recommendations as one of the best in Spain. Had a great dinner one of the nights and confirmed the press opinion. Try the paella and the fish soup! The breakfast is based on a buffet with hams, cheese, cakery, different types of breads, juices, coffee and milk (no hot meals) which was enough for our tastes. There's a large esplanade wich serves the restaurant and the bar and where you may dinner or lunch, take the breakfast and have a drink till midnight.
4) Staff: found them great! Particularly the owners were extremely kind and helpfull with us. Could also notice that other guests would have already been there because of the intimacy with the owners.
5) Others: there's also a small pool that we just used once as we prefer the beach.
6) Overall opinion: Highly recommended! Just to leave a note regarding the price i paid 165,00 € per day for a family room that accomodates 4 persons, breakfats included, with a beach in front, in the centre of Cambrils ... in August! Unlike other reviews i found this Hotel recommended for families with children as it is very quiet and the rooms are ajusted to families. The beach is a great place to entertain the kids - do it your self and get a quality time with your children instead of deliver this responsibility to others! We all loved the place and particularly the Hotel and most probably will return. For a 3 stars it deserves a 5 rating on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PPCLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2007

We stayed just one night at the Hotel Rovira. The bed was not comfortable, and the walls thin - we could hear the family in the room next door talking. There was some problem with the drains and a bad smell in the bathroom, which no-one came to investigate even after they told us they would. Dark corridors - haven't they heard of motion sensors? Great location right on the beach, good breakfast, the staff were friendly, and free wireless internet access.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Just stayed in the hotel rovira with my children (11 & 7). Room was clean but the beds were very uncomfortable. A great location for the beach but the hotel had no entertainment at all. Pool was not child friendly as the shallow end was 140cm deep. Nice hotel for relaxing but not for children and young families.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunnysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Just returned from Cambrils, Spain where we stayed at the Hotel Rovira. It had the perfect location. Close to the main beach, the harbor, and the main city area.
The rooms where average with a tiny bathroom and a small balcony (although great sea view). Good breakfast, not so great restaurant (plenty others to choose from close by). The Hotel had a friendly and helpful staff, and the rooms where cleaned every day.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mundilfari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Right on the seaside, A cute little hotel. The staff at check in was polite but not much more. The rooms were ran down, and in need for a refurbishment soon. The corridors were very dark.
The breakfast was on the other hand was pretty good, and the morning staff very nice. And the terrace is very nice to sit on. All rooms seems to have balcony, our bathroom was very small, and the beds were absolutely terrible. There is a pool, but did not use it.
The location is great, just across the road from the beach, and close to all the restaurant and the activies of the town. Overall not a bad place to say, but nothing great.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Barcelona
13
Reviewed February 9, 2006

Hotel Rovira is one of the best Tarragona's Province Hotels. It is located in Cambrils, in the center of the town and in front of the beach. It has an excellent price - quality relation.

Very nice hotel.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.2 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
652 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
833 reviews
2 mi away
Mas Gallau
Mas Gallau
#12 of 33 in Cambrils
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rovira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rovira

Address: Av Diputacio, 6, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range: $74 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rovira 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rovira Hotel is located on the seafront in Cambrils, in front of the beach Regueral Prat d’en Fores (the main of the population), 100 meters from the Yacht Club and the Port of Cambrils, and 10 km from Port Aventura .It has modern, comfortable facilities, and fully equipped rooms and renovated in 2008.The hotel has the Restaurant Rovira, which opened in 1955 is one of the first restaurants Cambrils. The restaurant has stayed true to his style since its opening and is a widely known and typical of Cambrils.The Hotel Rovira has a loyal clientele looking for a quiet hotel, ideally located and with friendly service that will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rovira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rovira Hotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing