We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value / Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olimar II Aparthotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Olimar is a pleasant apart hotel situated just a few roads back from the seafront, a peaceful location yet still very central.
Reception staff were extremely helpful and assisted us with every request. Angels in particular was very resourceful when arranging an excursion.
Our apartment was located on the fourth floor and was very spacious for two people – we were expecting a studio apartment so this was a bonus. A small balcony overlooked the street, nice enough in mornings & evenings. One item missing from the apartment which would have been useful was a dressing table or even shelf underneath the main mirror (minor detail). Decent shower and the bathroom well appointed.
The apartment was cleaned and towels replenished every day, cleaning was to a high standard.
Breakfast was a busy noisy affair (canteen springs to mind) not the most relaxing first thing in the morning. Good selection of hot and cold food although not quite my choice, good coffee machine though!
Evening meals were on a similar note to breakfast (noisy & busy) although selection of food to a higher standard and something to suit the most fussy of eaters. Waitresses & Waiters very professional and efficient.
The pool area had a lovely relaxed feel, never too crowded or noisy, plenty of sunbeds regardless of time.
This hotel is very popular with families who have younger children; there were a few mature couples. If you prefer more relaxed dining and generally a quieter atmosphere inside a hotel you may wish to re-consider booking the Olimar although for families it seemed the perfect choice.
Overall we enjoyed our short break - Cambrils itself is a lovely place, un-crowded beach, plenty of shops, excellent public transport, lots of restaurants and a market, not to mention the beautiful old town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 533 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just back from a 1 week break at Olimar 11. Staff here is the nicest and friendliest we have encountered. They all went out of their way to help make the holiday enjoyable. Stayed there last year and would certainly stay again. We were Din/BB basis. Our flight in was a late one and after checking in and going up to the room a girl arrived with 2 salads, fruit and yogurts. A very nice touch. Breakfast was Ok but dinner was limited enough. Cheat cuts of meat and fish. Deserts looked great, if you are into that!!. Would highly recommend because of excellent staff and location. It is also nice to have a separate sittingroom. AC in both rooms which was great as the weather was very hot. Cleaners come in every single day and changed linen and made up the beds. The service was excellent. Yes, will go back next year. A Farrell, Dublin

Room Tip: If you have a late flight home you can stay for a fee of €35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This hotel is set back from the beach, but is in easy walking distance. there are plenty of places to eat along the beach front, even though we went half board. The food available was of good quality and hot.The hotel caters for the younger family with entertainment throughout the day for the children.Our room was cleaned every day and had air conditioning which we were glad for, even in October.
NO night clubs & NO sports bars offerring full English breakfasts .........WONDERFULL !!!!
Salou is just a few minutes up the road by the local bus service if your into that !!!!!
The beach is large with golden soft sand which shelves out gradually into the clear calm safe sea, which is ideal for the children.
This area does cater mainly for the Spanish,so try your best to learn a few spanish words, even if its only "Hola"
The shops are in the back streets behind the harbour which are fun and safe to walk through even at night time.
So if your looking for a quiet holiday away from all the night clubs & touts this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liznbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

stayed at these apartments for five nights food good better lunch time than evening found it strange to clear your own table of plates while waiters stood around would expect this from a one star rooms cleaned every day nice size apartments we asked to be moved as were over entertainment reception very good moved us soon as room ready that day hotel was full of small noisy children so do bear this in mind i am not used to noise perfect position for walking to the harbour and buses to salou also cava cheap in supermarket right turn from hotel keep walking you will find it. wine at hotel was very reasonable and this was put away for your next meal would not stay again only reason being noisy nothing else everything else was fine

Room Tip: ask to be in c block as this is furthest away from entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loopy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We organised independent holiday flying with aer lingus to barcelona and then getting the coach from El Prat to Cambrils. After a smooth trip we arrived at the Olimar II to be told you are just in time for lunch, we'll look after your cases. So off we went and were we in for a treat, what great food! We had booked full board with the intention of possibly being in the hotel for lunch on the occasional day and maybe eating out a couple of nights - oh no the food was so good we were drawn back like moths to a flame for every lunch and dinner. So after that we went to our room which was in block C (the hotel is arranged in 3 blocks aroud the central courtyard with the pool). Great one bedroom apartment overlooking the pool, we had a lovely long balcony with 2 sets of patio doors 1 from the bedroom and 1 from the living room. More than enough room for a family, the couch turns into 2 full single beds, and the beds in the main bedroom were comfortable but were 2 singles pushed together. There was a full fridge (we just put water beer and cava in it - he he). The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard and beds/towels changed every day. The whole hotel and grounds were kept extremely well, I saw the pool cleaned every morning and the results from the pool testing were posted on the wall beside the doors through to the bar. There were few problems getting a sun lounger with none of the usual bun fight or reserving, probably because the beach is 5 minutes away and is excellent.

The entertainment in the complex is mainly aimed at the Spanish crowd, as the guests in the hotel are predominantly Spanish however this didn't detract from our experience because cheesy cabaret is cheesy cabaret. It was all very pleasant and we had great fun trying to play bingo. If you are going with kids this hotel is fantastic, the animacion guy Micha is great and brilliant with the kids and will try and get them all involved. Also I was very impressed that the pool was closed off with a proper safety fence every night (although the wee round kiddies pool wasnt).

We had a fantastic holiday at the Olimar ii and would recommend it to anyone with kids, defo not for the party crowd as you could hear a pin drop after about 1am. Cambrils is a great town and very pretty and not too commercialised. We loved walking along the front and the marina and also loved the beautiful golden sandy beaches. Cambrils has loads of play areas for kids and don't miss the fishermans park.

Room Tip: Used travel republic as it was so cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank mags-belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Just back from Olimar 2 after a 1 week stay. We had a nice twin bedded room with AC and another room with smallish balcony, also with AC and a small kitchen, table and four chairs and a couch that pulled out as two single beds. Also tv. There were lots of presses, sink, a two ring cooker, microwave and a fridge. Fridge didn't have ice compartment so couldn't make ice. Presses were empty except for one very small pot, 4 glasses and lots of cutlery, no cups but a few plates. Wouldn't really have been suitable for cooking. We were half board so it didn't matter. Staff exceptionally friendly at all times. Nice pool area. Had asked for pool view but didn't get it so no sun on our balcony. Lots of couples with children around. We didn't find the food very good. Very limited. Ok enough for breakfast but the choice was simply awful in the evenings and we are not fussy eaters at all. I like fish but on some nights there wasn't any or just shell fish. We have stayed many time in its sister hotel, Port Eugenia, and the food there is so much better and a greater choice. However, we would go back as price was reasonable, staff fantastic and lovely area. Hotel seemed to be in several blocks. Cambrils is beautiful. A Farrell, Dublin

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have just returned from a week long stay with my wife at the Olimar II and highly recommend it. We arrived late (just before midnight) and when we arrived at our apartment the staff had left a buffet meal for us of cold meat/salad/fruit/yoghurt, a very nice touch and made us feel very welcome straight away.

The apartment was very clean and well laid out, we had a large balcony overlooking the pool with sliding doors into the bedroom and the sitting room/kitchen area. Kitchen had a 2 ring electric hob, microwave & fridge and the cleaners were in every day to clean and make beds

There was a good selection of food on offer at each mealtime but as Cambrils is a resort that the Spanish use for holidays it was very continental orientated, not a problem if you really do want to see authentic Spain and sample their food

The staff were all very friendly and most of them spoke English well, avoiding any potential language issues

The pool was large enough and never that busy, and a full time lifeguard was employed to ensure safety

All in Cambrils is a beautiful place to stay and the Olimar is well located for the beach & shops etc, and I would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mighty_mondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.1 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,075 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
650 reviews
1.5 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Eugeni
Port Eugeni
#20 of 33 in Cambrils
229 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#12 of 33 in Cambrils
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olimar II Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olimar II Aparthotel

Address: C/ Colon, 3, 43391 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cambrils
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range: $59 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olimar II Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for families, Olimar II offers the spaciousness of an apartment with all the amenities of a hotel. Independent double bedroom, bathroom with hairdryer and lounge kitchen with sofa-bed for 2 people, TV with satellite channels and different languages, air conditioning-heat pump, kitchenette with fridge and garden with hammocks microondas.Zona and umbrellas, pool for adults and children, indoor and outdoor playgrounds, mini club extensively equipped and great entertainment program for adults and children, every day of the semana.Restaurante buffet with children's buffet, show cooking and special menus celiac. Mediterranean cuisine is highly valued by our clientes.Recepcion 24 hours with Free Wifi ideal comunes.Ubicacion areas, 250 meters from the best beach and the port of Cambrils. At 100 meters from the shopping are ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Olimar II Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimar Ii Aparthotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing