We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break in Cambrils”
Review of Port Eugeni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port Eugeni
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from our stay in Cambrils and thoroughly enjoyed our week.

Hotel was excellent for location, cleanliness, food and service only wishes were a balcony and possible pool bar.

Were pretty much only English guests as many were Spanish or Russian but this made completely meant we could relax!

Two minute from fantastic beach on way aNd the harbour in another direction.

Got brilliant offer for hb basis which we planned to use as a fall back in the evenings but found the food to be of such quality that we ate all evening meals here; Serrano ham, mussels, steak all featured in the buffet style meals. We were also pleasantly surprised by the reasonable drinks prices which saw house wine around 7 euros a bottle

Cambrils itself has much to offer and we anticipate a return in a few years as it was so simple to do a DIY break- flights to reus, taxi 30 euros or bus 6 per person each way. We found hotels comparison to provide best hotel price.
Great resort if you like it fairly low key and catalan in nature

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank deva_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We travelled to Cambrils in June 2011 & stayed @ Port Eugeni on a half board basis.
Our rooms were clean & quiet, however, we didn't have a balcony (although we booked one) - it wasn't a major problem as the roof pool was sufficient to sit out & take in the fantastic views of the sea etc. there are nice walks for miles in both directions just beside the seafront.
We had a lovely breakfast - buffet - plenty of good food & for the evening meal there was an ample choice. Weather was cloudy in mornings but just hot enough to sunbathe most afternoons.
So all in all, we could not find fault with this hotel + the staff were courteous. There were some really pleasant, chatty visitors from Catalunya area to greet us most days... I would recommend this hotel for value, location & a nice break.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cloverhillgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My partner and I came here half board for 1 week for his birthday! The hotel itself is clean, rooms very basic, two single beds, tv and balcony. The food was terrible, sausages looked uncooked at breakfast like they had just been brought out the freezer and the amount of hot food available was minimal, cereal, bread and jam was there for those who did not like the hot food! My partner and I ate toast and jam for breakfast for the first 3 days and no dinner! The evening meal, well here is another story, The chicken was not chicken and there were only 'chicken' drumsticks available anyway, many fish dishes on offer which is great unless like us you hate fish!!!! There was not a great number of options availble in the way of food! We ate out as best we could.

The swimming pool is one pool which does not have a shallow end for young children, no inflatable beds or rings are allowed in pool, not good for a young family living at hotel.

Now if you are over 65 then this is a good hotel for somewhere to put your head down. If you are under 65, single or a couple and look forward to a holiday where you can go to a pub for a drink and possibly meet other couples/families then this is not the place!!! Full of spanish people who made no effort! Would not recommend this hotel! This is a smal fishing resort.

If you are planning on going to Salou then stay in Salou itself and visit a wee bar called The Bell Tavern, great friendly service and food and drink is great also!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dashm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Hotel much as expected from previous reviews - adequate, perhaps not real 4 star quality. Room was very big - think we were given a family room even tho we had actually booked an apartment. Kept very clean with clean towels everyday if you need them. Pool on roof small but big enough for quick dip at the end of the day. Breakfast was again just adequate. Small choice of hot food but plenty of pastries cakes and breads, yoghurt, fruit and cereals. Eggs would have been lovely if they were hot!
Evening meal ok - only ate in the hotel twice out of the 4 nights as so many nice restaurants nearby. Both times choice of fish or pork with pasta or potatoes and veg. Nice salad bar to start.
Best thing about the hotel is location. Cambrils a lovely town and Port Eugeni very close to beaches, port and shops. Train station in walking distance - trains to Salou, Port aventura, Barcelona, Tarragona.
Couple of little niggles - Asked for a kettle but were told they don't have them (as we'd booked an apartment we didn't take a travel kettle). On our last day we were leaving at 7.30 am so asked if we could pop in to the breakfast room to pick up a coffee and croissant. Have been provided with this service at many hotels all over the world but here we were told that as breakfast didnt start till 8 we couldnt even have a coffee.
Reception staff were not unpleasant but not particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Just back from a week in Port Eugeni. We have been to this hotel many times. The hotel is fine but definitely not a 4* The quality and quantity of the food certainly wasn't as good as the other times we stayed there. Quite a limited choice really, but I must add it was enough for us. One day we went for lunch instead of dinner (we were on a dinner b/b basis) and the choice for lunch wasn't good at all - fried eggs and bacon and of course other dishes but it looked more like breakfast. Dining room staff very friendly but some of the reception staff were not so friendly. When we checked in there was one girl on reception working on a computer and didn't even look up at us. After a while another receptionist arrived from a back room and they both carried on a conversation and still did not come near us although they were aware that we were trying to check in. It took about 10 minutes or more before we were approached. Not acceptable at all considering we were the ones at the reception. But during our stay of 1 week we encountered other receptionists who appeared to be very friendly. Our room was nice on lst floor at front of hotel with a balcony. Room had empty fridge which was great, a safe which we didn't use and also a telly which we didn't use so I cannot tell which channels were available. Some rooms are inner rooms and have no views or balconies so please be aware of that. The bar staff were very nice and very friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent. Overall, apart from slow check-in and less food choices than before it was grand. It also has rooftop swimming pool. We would certainly go back if I got room with balcony and, yes, I would recommend it but perhaps it isn't a four star hotel. A Farrelll

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We only stayed at Port Eugeni for one night so our we can’t make so good an assessment of the hotel as others who stay longer, on the other hand we stayed at 8 different hotels in 9 nights on the Spanish coast so we do know what to expect in this price range. What I can say is that we enjoyed our short stay in Cambrils and the hotel so much that we will be going back next year for a few days. The staff were all friendly and efficient, we enjoyed the meals and there was a wide choice to please most tastes I should think. The room and bathroom were large enough, well furnished and clean and most of all the hotel was very good value for the price and that is the reason for giving the hotel 5 stars. The only negative points I can make is some noise from the street at night, i.e. cars not people and lack of free parking but we found somewhere just a few minutes from the hotel..

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I had to move my wife and five year old daughter at the last minute from a nearby private villa (with no air con and poor ventilation) to the Port Eugeni to salvage our short holiday in Cambrils. Both of them struggled with the summer heat at night and could not sleep in the villa. We spent three nights at the Port Eugeni on a half board basis. We had a north facing balcony overlooking the playground, and were not too troubled by traffic noise or children playing down below (late into the evening as they do in Spain). Our room was not terribly big, but the beds were comfy and clean, and the air con helped us recover quickly from a near health disaster in the local house that my brother had rented. The buffet at the hotel was pretty good - at least my wife and daughter did not complain once. It was miles better than the half board buffet food we had in Gran Canaria in 2006. Only the 'smoking-allowed' cafe at the front was a bit off-putting if you wanted to have a pre-dinner drink. And, I thought smoking was banned in the EU from place where people eat & drink. Not so here it seems. Cambrils itself is a lovely town, clearly a favourite with Spaniards - apart from the traffic jams every night. But we didn't have a car. There seemed to be very few other nationalities in the town or on the beaches during our stay. The beach is walking distance - about 10 minutes away. The pool on the roof is small and gets very busy from 4-7pm. Some of the older children got a bit rowdy - which meant having to keep a closer watch on our little one - and there was no attempt by the hotel to enforce pool-side rules. The kids club was average, but my daughter did enjoy the face painting, kids disco and magic show. The staff were okay - but I would not describe them as foreign-guest friendly - perhaps because they cater mostly to Spanish holiday-makers. My only other concern was the 4-star rating for this hotel - which I think they achieve by offering room service. I would only rate it as 3-star! I doubt we would come back here. There are too many other places to visit and explore in Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteshark0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.2 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
536 reviews
1.5 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mas Gallau
Mas Gallau
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Mar
Hotel Vila Mar
#15 of 33 in Cambrils
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Eugeni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Eugeni

Address: Placa Aragon 49, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range: $61 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Eugeni 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Otel, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Port Eugeni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Eugeni Cambrils
Port Eugeni Hotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing