We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartments, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pins Platja Apartments
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great apartments, great location”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent a week in Pins Platja apartments last June and had a wonderful experience. The location of the apartment on the beach was fantastic and the apartments were spacious and clean. We had a maintenance problem which was dealt with promptly. The receptionoists were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeGalwayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    162
    94
    30
    34
See reviews for
255
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have just returned from a weeks holiday, staying at the Pins Platja apartments, which are located between Cambrils and Salou. The Apartment was excellent, and was clean, tidy and spacious, (and ours was situated on the sea front with excellent access and views to the beach and sea). The hotel staff (from the people on the reception, to the gardener) were very very pleasant, and very helpful, and nothing was a problem....As well as being on the beach, this hotel was also split across a main road, with apartments on either side, and with a good sized pool and sunbathing area...There is a well stocked Supermarket, and two pubs (the Mucky Duck, and O`Driscolls) both of which served excellent food, and reasonably priced drinks.. Also across the road is a Chinese restaurant/takeaway which was quite busy, and just a few paces along the road, is an Italian type restaurant (which we thought was quite expensive, and the food quality was not brilliant.....The apartments are approx a ten minute bus ride, from both Cambrils and Salou, and the buses pass the apartments at approx quarter hour intervals, daily. The buses are excellent, but buy the bus travel passes, which are excellent value... Ten Euros buys you ten trips within the `zone` (a trip to Salou from the apartments, costs 1.55 Euros and we found that buying the bus pass saved us several Euros - each time you use the pass it counts as one trip, but we went to Taragona, which cost the person in front of us Euros 4.50, whereas ours cost us one trip each, ( so one trip out of our bus pass containing 10, so it cost us approx 1 Euro each).... The apartments are about a 15 - 20 minute ride from the airport (we had booked our transfers when we booked the holiday, but we see that the bus goes from Reus Airport to Cambrils, so might think about this next time - and, some people travelled by taxi from Reus to the Pins Platja, and this cost them 30 - 35 Euros (each way !!!) Close to the resort is the Port Adventura theme park, which was an excellent day out for all the family, whether you like rollercoasters or not !!..... The beach at the Pins Platja is excellent and very clean and family friendly, but there are no Sunbeds on hire there, so we were glad that we had taken lilos with us....and what a saving, as just up the road, sunbeds were on hire at 5 Euros, and umbrellas at 4 Euros !! This was an excellent holiday, and location, and I am seriously thinking about booking a return trip to the same hotel now.... Pleasant staff, good location, brilliant beach, and lovely weather ! Thank you for a brilliant time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

it was like a prison a security guard walking round telling adults to go bed at 10 o'clock, not to have a laugh, (where was security guard when a grown man got his privates out at quarter past eight of a night and had a wee up against the sunbeds right in front of my children and other parents, children and bar staff?)complained to reception and man behind desk did not want to know, also not allowed in pool until 11am and had to get out at 7pm and no inflatables that was the worse thing for my 4 children as 3 of them don't swim. Also i was told before i went we would have ground floor and cot and had neither had to use a smelly little lift eveyday, one lot of clean sheets and three lots of towels in two weeks totally disgusting and one other thing is i had cigarettes and money taken out of my room more then once as i set a trap to see if any of my family moved or took them i was only one with a card for room unless we had a ghost. The only good points was we had the sun on our balcony most of day and trips to barcelona was great and house of illusion was good. TOTALLY DISGUSTING HOLIDAY

Room Tip: go else where and read reviews before you go away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambrils hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but had a fantastic holiday. These apartments are a great base for exploring Salou and Cambrils. We were a party of 5 adults and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment right next to the railway line everyone goes on about. The trains probably started about 7ish in the morning and last 1 I heard was about 11ish at night - there were none overnight duirng our stay (Sep 1-8). The apartment was clean, furniture was basic, but was all we needed and beds were comfy. Big spacious wardrobes and enough storage space for 5 women!!! There was no deposit charged for the apartment, and we were able to obtain a toaster and kettle from reception at no cost.

Entertainment was limited but this didn't concern us as we were out most nights. When we returned 1 night there was a tribute act on but there were only a few people watching.

Reception staff were always courteous and did their best to assist us and answer any questions we had. Jesus was lovely when we arrived and we even understood his jokes!! We had a supply of clean towels and linen left in the room for us and towels were changed on day 3.

Pool was big but water very cold - took a good few deep breaths to get in!! Charge of 1 Euro a day for lounger, meant there was no rush in the morning to claim your space.

Pubs across the road served good food. Bakery at supermarket supplied us with warm croissants and bread daily - yum, yum. Supermarket prices very reasonable.

Beach - few mins walk - lovely, not too crowded when we went. Charge for loungers between 3-4 Euros per day.

Cambrils is lovely, more of a relaxed atmosphere compared to Salou. Nice restaurants along the front - lots of choice. Salou is your typical tourist resort - usual selection of 'tacky' shops but didn't feel it was Blackpool abroad.

Buses to and from the apartments frequent up till 11pm then service is hourly - single journey prices between 1 euro 55 cents - 1 euro 75 cents. Buses after 11pm are double the price. You can also get buses to Barcelona, Tarragona and Port Aventura from outside the apartments

Overall I would recommend these apartments, there may have been previous break ins etc but we did not experience any problems and did not hear anything whilst we were there. As per usual we didn't leave any valuables lying in the room and rented the safety deposit box at reception for 21 euros a week. There was also a security guard patrolling the areas at night.

Noise levels at a holiday complex are very dependent on the clientelle staying when you are there - also people are departing and arriving at different times, isn't this just part of being on holiday!!

Would certainly consider going back here if we return to Costa Dorada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bertwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Positives & Negatives. Room had good air con, Sea view 5 mins to clean beach with warm sea a road inbetween easy to cross. Cooking facilites were limited - 2 hobs / microwave no kettle (took our own) but it was pretty cheap to eat out in the handful of restaurants less than a hundred yards away. At times the morning traffic woke us up but i guess at least you didn't lay in too long. Worth getting a frequent bus where the port is 15 mins. Sunbeds 1 euro but at least there were some available. Pools good limited to 11-7pm though. Trains go past close to apartment (quickly) but a timely reminder to turn over if sunbathing. Unable to check in till 3pm. Room Towels changed 3 times and bed linen once (had to make bed once). Good Value. Visited Taragona worth going empty beach near port. Hired a car at airport and had to pay for hotel parking.

Room Tip: Single rooms for couples tend to be sea facing across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chivers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arrived at Pins Platja after 10pm (two adults, two teenagers) - check-in service was friendly and efficient. The Reception is open 24 hours. There is a room located at Reception with safe deposit boxes for rent which we used.

Read other reviews about having to make up beds yourself on arrival, so we were surprised to see beds were already made. The air conditioning was also on in every room, so the apartment was lovely and cool throughout our stay.

Also read other reviews that the air conditioning unit on the balcony blows out hot air, so it's too hot to sit out there. I could see how this could be a problem on some of the balconies. However, we had a 2 bed apartment (room 105, on the first floor, block 3) which is a corner apartment. It had a much larger balcony than some of the other apartments, so we were able to place the table and chairs away from the air conditioning unit.

Apartment was spacious and basic but had everything we needed as a base. We didn't cook (there was a two ring hob, no oven) - just had breakfast and the occasional lunch in the apartment. It faced out on to the main road, but this was not a problem for us. The area is very quiet after 12 midnight.

The mattresses were hard but, again, we had this in other apartments in Spain and Portugal, so it was no surprise.

There was always plenty of hot water and the shower pressure was very strong.

The entrance door in Block 3 was always closed and needed your swipe card to enter. We were very pleased to see this.

The pool area was very busy in August, but there was only one occasion around 3pm in the day when I couldn't get a sun lounger. The pool attendant was very efficient re collecting up loungers, when others were finished with them, and people didn't seem to hog the loungers for the whole day.

We went out to dinner every evening, but from what I could see going in and out, there was no entertainment in the apartment block. There is a bar / restaurant beside the pool which was open all day and late in to the evenings which was used by some other guests for lunches and evening drinks.

There is a supermarket and lovely bakery located in the complex.

The apartments are based in Vilafortuny which is located between Salou and Cambrils. The beach is located behind the buildings on the opposite side of the road. There is a lovely walk / cycle route along the beach which will bring you to the two other centres.

The public bus service is also excellent. If you plan to use the public bus, you can purchase a 10 trip travel card at the Bus Ticket office (turn right when you come out of the apartments, and ticket office is located about 200 yards on opposite side of the road). This card will cost approx €13 and can be used for 10 trips. You can also top up the card for another 10 trips which will cost approx €10, as often as you require. It is cheaper than paying by cash on the bus and less stressful, as you don't have to struggle with finding out from the bus driver how much the fare costs and then counting out the right change etc. You can use the same card for all the passengers in your group.

Restaurants we tried locally were:
Costa Verde (excellent pizzas)
Mucky Duck (excellent T-bone steaks)
Portabello (Spaghetti Frutti Del La Mare - excellent, if you like shell fish).

We visited two water parks - Portadventura Park Aquatic and the Aquapolis in La Pineda. Again, you can get to these by public bus using the 10 trip bus card. Of the two, we preferred Aquapolis, as there were lots of trees / shaded areas to set up base and you could bring your own picnic. We also thought the water slides were better here. On the downside, the Aquapolis did charge for sun loungers. They also had inflatable rings for rent at €9 each plus €3 deposit!! We found this to be a rip-off, as the rings were only required for two of the water attractions. Some inflatable rings were available free of charge but the wait for these was very long, as they were in short supply. Portadventura Park Aquatic did not allow picnics - there were hamburgers, hot dogs etc on sale at designated seating areas. Park Aquatic did, however, have an indoor pool with water slides and there were loungers available both at the indoor pool and throughout the venue free of charge. All inflatable rings were free of charge here too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roisin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just returned after spending a week in these apartments. I was really apprehensive about my stay here based on the negative reviews that I had recently read.
We stayed in a one bedroomed apartments in block 5 which overlooked the beach. The location is superb! 2 minutes to a fabulous uncrowded beach. I used to rise early and go for a long walk either to Cambrils or Salou each morning. There is a lovely pathway to either.
The apartments themselves are basic but adequate. There is airconditioning in the living area but not in the bedroom.This is a disadvantage.However the twin beds are very comfortable.There is a microwave in the kitchen and a 2 ring hob. This does'nt lend itself to cooking a full meal in the apartment.Howver there are a number of excellent restaurants close to the apartment which are very reasonable including the Muddy duck and the Porto Bella.
The pool area is large and yes you do have to pay 1e for the sunbed but this discourages people rising at cockcrow to put their towels on the sunbeds.The life guard is cross but this discourages messing in the pool area. Portaventura is a must see theme park. We had a 7 day pass and visited the park 4 times but always in the evening after 5ish when the crowds were less and the heat was not as intense. The T 10 is great value for travel on the local plana buses.
Overall we had a great holiday and I would return to these apartments based on location and value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#8 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.2 mi away
Olimar II Aparthotel
Olimar II Aparthotel
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.7 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pins Platja Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pins Platja Apartments

Property: Pins Platja Apartments
Address: Avenida Diputacion 147 | Carretera de la Costa, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pins Platja Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pins Platja Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Pins Platja Hotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing