We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value, right on the BEACH, Clean and good service, not tacky”
Review of Hotel Augustus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Augustus
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value, right on the BEACH, Clean and good service, not tacky”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor, booked with Veneer.com and got it for for a song, breakfast included. This hotel has been modernized and the lobby and dining room, bar and all newly decorated. When we were there it was mostly spanish familys that were there, going to Port Aventura which is only about 10-15 away by car.
Great breakfast, nice clean pool, not huge but who needs it when the beach is only a stones throw away. Parking across the road for 9.50 a day.
Cambrils is south of Salou, which I would not recomend, it is such a tacky place full of durnks, day and night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmahonanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    252
    128
    36
    26
See reviews for
379
114
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Out of season visit, on arrival looks fine if a bit shabby on the outside. They want €9 a day for parking which is a bit of a rip-off but luckily at this time of year on street parking was always available (and free). Room was clean and OK for the couple of days we stayed but, with just one teenager, it would be too cramped for a stay of any greater length.
Unfortunately our visit coincided with four or five coachloads of schoolchildren turning up. I've nothing against children but these seemed to be totally unsupervised and out of control. Banging, crashing and shouting in the corridors and on the balconies continued until around midnight when I managed to get to sleep. Most of them left the following day though so the second night was much more peaceful.
Breakfast was brilliant, huge choice of hot and cold and set us up for the day perfectly, however we had the buffet dinner one evening (€8 each) which was very disappointing. It looked great but the cold dishes in particular were very bland. Filled up on spaghetti which was just about acceptable.
Overall it wasn't too bad, I wouldn't want to stay in peak season and for the €30 a night we paid I can't grumble too much...wouldn't want to pay much more though.
Strange thing from an English perspective was seeing the locals in coats and scarves and the beach totally deserted whem it was 23/24 degrees beneath a cloudless sky.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tram_Magnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Rooms - big and clean, a little bit noisy
Restaurant - perfect! the only problem - you may finish your lunch before they bring you a drink
Staff - Polite and nice, BUT have very poor english. It's extremely hard to explain anything them (i was trying to ask if i can have some milkshake in a "to go cup" to take it to my room...after 15 minutes i decided that vending machine understands me better ))
Location - a little bit far from Cambrils center, but if you're more interested in sea and food ( like me )) then in parties - you'll even like it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brave_caterpillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night as a stop over on holiday in the Costa Blanca. The room was dirty and scruffy with holes in the curtains and bedding. The bathroom was so filthy none of us wanted to get showered. The place was noisy with people still roaming the corridors at 3.00 a.m. To top it all they charged us 10 euros to park in their car park!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CADO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. After reading some of the comments was a little dubious but all my fears were thankfully unfounded. If cleanliness if next to Godliness then we certainly found our little bit of heaven with this hotel. We booked a twin room with 2 extra beds(1 daughter & 1 son who certainly would not entertain the idea of sharing a bed!) On arrival the 2 extra beds were "pull out" but had legs so in effect we had 4 single beds all comfy and no complaints. Room (106) overlooking the pool and once on balcony sea can be seen. Great room overlooking the stage which was great as entertainment didn't start until 10.30pm. Thought the noise of same may hamper our sleep-not a bit able to sleep no prob. I think we may have been the only English speaking residents there at the time but we are in Spain! Great food mountains of it in a very clean well run restaurant. We booked full board well worth it. Walked in to Salou last night and got the bus back. Bus stop right outside the hotel. This is a much nicer area than Salou in my opinion. Usual reservation of sunbeds required if u cant beat em join em!!!!!(its the only way )Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Reservation of unused sunbeds!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madaboutmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed here from 4th August till 9th August 2008, and on arrival was disappointed, the lobby area is very dull and uninviting, we went up to our room (for 2 adults and 2 children) and it was brown dull and depressing! it was also quite small, even though we requested a pool or sea view we were looking onto the road and over the the sister hotel, caesar augustus. our room was small and it is very easy to get onto your neighbours balcony if you wanted.
however the fact that is directly on the beach was very rewarding, it was so easy to pop back and forth to hotel if you forgot anything.
ON our first night, the entertainment from the neighbouring hotel kept us awake until 1am, this happened on two more occasions.
The walls are paper thin, so you can here the guests coughing next door.
However, the rooms were kept very clean. and the choice for breakfast was great (we were on bnb basis)

ON the area itself....I was disgusted that it was not in cambrils town, as I thought it was....Cambrils is a beautiful little fishing town, which is bout 12 minutes away ona bus, salou is about 5 in the other direction, but that is such a dirty town.
We spent a day at aquapolis and another day in Port aventura...both were great days out.
All in all...we enjoyed ourselves I would not let drawbacks ruin our holiday, but I would not go back to this resort or accomodation

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Paper thin walls, decor, location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TitchJor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We booked thru Xcape with us after reading the reviews on trip advisor., and flew from Gatwick with Ryanair.
The Hotel and the Staff were brilliant. The rooms clean and comfortable with maid service every day, clean towels etc. I have stayed in many places and I would consider this hotel to be 4 star not 3. The Reception staff were always very cheerful and nothing was to much trouble. My only two gripes are that there should have been tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms and the Animation was not good.
Always got a sunbed, nice clean pool and the hotel is next to the beach, which was also very clean. Beware of the bike lane between the hotel and the beach. The street vendors did not hassle us one bit.
The food is very reasonable and decent quality. An evening buffet meal was E7.80 which without doubt is the best value in town. Offering a fish and meat option each night. One night there was even mussels. The breakfast was a bit slow with only one grill chef whose speed didn't set the world on fire. Overall I would definately go again and recommend the hotel to anyone. There is also a decent English bar with happy lunch and evening hours called The Railway to the right of the Hotel as you look at it., great hosts.
We travel by train to Barcelona for a day trip costing E11.80 return. Get off at Passaig de graic. A local excursion by coach will cost around E30 and take hours to get there. So one and a half hours on the train is so much better.
Two things to beware of, firstly if you get a taxi from the Airport make sure it has a meter, it should cost around E28 we were charged E35 with the return in a metered taxi at E28. Secondly although we were not charged by Ryanair for 1K overweight going out but returning that kilo cost E15 per kilo an absolute rip off. It's cheaper to take another case.

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — animation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RobertEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#8 of 33 in Cambrils
669 reviews
2.6 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cesar Augustus
Hotel Cesar Augustus
#18 of 33 in Cambrils
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#10 of 33 in Cambrils
1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
441 reviews
2.7 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#2 of 33 in Cambrils
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augustus

Property: Hotel Augustus
Address: Avgda Diputacio 190, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Augustus 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at front of the sea, in the first line at beach and close to the sidewalk that link's Cambrils to Salou. All the rooms are with conditioned air(15/06-15/09) and independent central heating, shower, hair dryer, satellite TV. With a parabolic aerial, telephone, terrace, wifi, safe and fridge (optionals) Full installations with a swimming pool for adults and children. TV room, Coffeeshop with a balcony in front to the sea. Conditioned air and Wifi (free) in all the halls. Internet corner (payment). Restaurant with buffet services and "show cooking "(Breackfast and Dinner). A complete animation program for children's and adults. Panoramic rooms with whirlpool bath and amazing sea views ( plus ). Rooms with shared solarium area (plus) Family rooms (29 m2) maximum 4 adults (included cots) (Supplement) Car park with 400 places (to be paid). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus Hotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing