We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER STAY”
Review of Monica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked Hotel Monica based on trip adviser reviews and were not disappointed .The staff are very helpful and very pleasant.
The restaurant staff are great and the food served top rate in quality and choice.
No need to look outside the hotel for a meal as the theme nights ensured an everchanging menu .
We enjoy going to the beach and are not keen on sitting in a row around the pool, but the hotel gardens are so well laid out we spent days just lazing under palm trees in different parts.
We are in our early 60s , but would have enjoyed it if the hotel was a bit more lively at night .
The resort Cambrils is very quiet on the entertainment front, quite traditional and well used by holidaying Spanish families .
We were 2 mins from the promenade and it is dead easy to book a local bus on the prom to go on excursions . We visited Barcelona, Tarragona and Andorra .Do go to the Bellavista Market ...what an experience !!
Overall a great holiday and highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room looking over the pool is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Good morning Mr. JOHN C

First of all, thank you for your lovely words about the hotel and staff.

As for the entertainment, it is difficult to find a balance in order not to disturb the guests who come to the hotel looking for calm holidays. Nevertheless, we took note of it.

Thank you so much and kind regards.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 537 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Monica Hotel with my 2 teenagers (14 and 16) and my mother, it was our first holiday of this kind, apart from Disney Paris when they were much younger, we usually holiday in the UK. I spent hours looking for the right holiday for us and we were not disappointed. We loved everything about it - the rooms, the staff, the food was amazing - I don't eat meat and had expected to eat lots of fish, but there were always several (really tasty) vegetarian dishes. My favourite fish dish was turbot, which I had never tried before, in some sort of green sauce, it was delicious with the pilau rice; the gardens were well kept and nicely designed, it was never crowded, there was always space for us. We went in the spa on our last day which was a lovely relaxing experience, although the sauna did not work and a member of staff tried to re-set it unsuccessfully, the steam room more than made up for it. Our beds were made up every day and everything was lovely and clean. The location was perfect, a short stroll to the beach, harbour, shops. We went with Thomson and had easy journeys both ways, we went on 3 of their exursions - Barcelona football and fountains, Aquopolis water park and the 3 hour catamarran (not sure how you spell it!),all to be recommended. On my rating I have selected good instead of excellent for sleep quality as I was woken by someone walking with clonky shoes on in the room above, walking up and down for what seems like forever, on our first night, and for rooms I have put good not excellent because we hoped to be next door to eachother, but there was a room inbetween, these are the only things I can be picky about!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Good morning Mrs. Lyn D,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Cambrils.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Monica hotel. It is very nice to hear that you liked our vegetarian food selection.

As for the Relax Center, we apologize about the sauna. What a pity that it happened the very last day of your stay. I hope you can enjoy it next time you come.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is one of the best we've stayed in. The food's fantastic, there are always loads of loungers by the (gorgeous) pool and the chill out bar area at night is great. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our only disappointment was the gym was closed and we couldn't access it at all. I think it's being refurbished so hopefully next time we stay it'll only be available but will be better than ever. The spa is great but it would be better still if it opened before 3pm. It's such a great feature of a great hotel. overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G42_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Good afternoon Mr. G42_13,

First of all, thank you for your kind words about the hotel.

As for the gym, we apologise it was being refurnished during your stay; nevertheless, we hope you like it next time you come! We have opened it already!!

Thanks so much again for taking the time to write about your stay at the Monica Hotel.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great hotel/we have been returning for years and would confirm all the good things people say about it and about Cambrils/ a really relaxing holiday experience/we have already booked again for next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear wonderer126,

Your words are so lovely that we do not know what to say except THANK YOU! Thank you ever so much!

It will be a pleasure to see you again next year.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just upon arrival we have understood that our choice of the hotel for this summer was perfect. We've been looking for a calm, noiseless, stylish, cozy and well located place and we have found it! We've stayed with my husband and 7 year-old daughter for 12 nights from 9 July in room 223.

Benefits:
- perfect rooms, well decorated, shower and toilet separated - great for a family
- astonishing food in the restaurant, could not help trying as much as possible - farewell to my diet. Special thanks to Yolanda - very sincere and professional
- staff is very nice, polite and helpful
- relax area with Turkish bath and jacuzzi - at times we were the only visitors, so relax indeed )
- surprisingly deep swimming pool - the depth varying up to 2,20, calm pool area with sufficient sun beds

Special comments on location which is perfect:
- Cambrils itself is the coziest place on costa daurada, in my mind
- Hotel is 3 min walk from the beach and Bus Plana first stop (you will be the first on the bus when traveling to Reus, Tarragona, Port aventura, Montserrat, etc),
- Hotel is near the port of Cambrils (very picturesque especially at night)
- 10-15 min on foot from the railway station (for comfortable traveling to Barcelona)
- there are shops with good food variety nearby (we've bought 'food souvenirs from Spain' there)

Drawbacks: really could not think of any

Highly recommend this hotel and for the first time want to spend my next holiday in the same location!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good morning Tania,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at the Monica Hotel and your experience in Cambrils. We are very glad to know that you want to come back!
Definitely, there is nothing we can add to your lovely words except THANK YOU.

We hope to see you again then.

Kind regards, and kiss & hugs for your daughter as well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a second visit to Hotel Monica, and again the hotel provided us with an excellent holiday.

l have reviewed the Hotel previously but feel that I must share our recent experience.

The hotel is conveniently situated one street from the excellent beach and 7 mile promenade and on the edge of the town very close to the first class restaurants and shops. It is a short walk to the bus stops and a 15 minute walk to the main line railway station. The public transport is very reliable and puts into easy reach many interesting and important destinations. This is a very Spanish resort and gives a good experience of Spanish culture. The harbour is a 10 minute walk and there is a Market in the Old Town on a Wednesday.

Registration: Booking in is very quick and efficient.

Room: We stayed in a superior room with a roof terrace, solarium, the roof terrace has its own sunbeds and furniture, it provides a degree of privacy. The room has separate toilet and bathroom, adequate storage and most importantly a comfortable bed.

The room was kept very clean with clean sheets mid week and towels changed daily. A safe is provided free of charge and a very efficient and quiet air conditioning unit is included.

Restaurant: The restaurant is nicely appointed and set out. The staff are very attentive without being intrusive and provide a first class service.

Breakfast is a very good selection of hot and cold foods. Cold meat and cheeses, cereals, toast and preserves, bacon, eggs, sausage, beans plus more.

Dinner also provides a good selection of hot and cold food. There is always a fish and meat choice with a selection of veg and potato and rice dishes. Show cooking includes steaks, burgers and fish fillets. A good selection of drinks is available at reasonable cost.

Public areas: The public areas are kept very clean and tidy both indoors and out. The bar and terrace are pleasant areas to socialise and the pooI area is a very nice space with adequate garden furniture.

Staff: All the staff were very efficient and helpful, they made a major contribution to the enjoyment of the holiday.

We booked this holiday through Thomson and upgraded the room with the Hotel prior to travelling.

We will be visiting the Monica again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank twoandtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Good morning twoandtwo,

One again, thank you for your comments about the Monica Hotel. We were very glad we saw you again this year.

We hope you did not have any problem with the cleanliness this time; nevertheless, whatever you need you know you only have to come to the reception desk.

We can only thank you for your lovely words and your great description of the hotel’s and surroundings'. You wouldn’t work as a professional writer of our hotel’s brochure, would you? hehe. Joking aside, if you have any piece of advice in order for us to improve sleep quality or anything else, please let us know it.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Monica hotel which is a superb small and friendly hotel in Cambrils.On arrival we were given a beach bag with 2 towels for use at the beach or pool which could be changed as required, along with a sarong for my wife.We had upgraded to a superior room (417) the only downside is a connecting door (to 418).
Rooms were cleaned every day, food very good especially the seafood and the theme nights.The gardens and pool were very good and on our last night the hotel started their Haima, a chill out experience with soft seating music and cocktails. The hotel was a good base for our 3 days in Barcelona, 2 days organised by ourselves with an overnight stay and one day through our travel company .Suzanne our rep was very knowledgeable. The old bullring is well worth a visit especially the roof. Altogether a fantastic holiday. My wife wanted to stay another week as the beds were so comfy.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cpnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMonica, Web-checker at Monica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Good morning Mr. cpnuts,

We are glad to know you have enjoyed your fortnight-stay at the Monica Hotel.

What a pity with the room! 417 and 418 are the only connected rooms all over the hotel; you will be luckier next time!

Thank you for your lovely words. After having stayed 14 days in the hotel, we are very pleased to know that your wife would have spent one more week.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambrils
1.4 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
833 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
652 reviews
4.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monica Hotel

Address: Galceran Marquet 1, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Price Range: $84 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing