We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Shanghai

Casa Shanghai
Ranked #77 of 238 Restaurants in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went for a mid week meal in September 2013.

The waiter (and I think owner) couldn't have been nicer. He really made it a great evening and was really helpful giving us ideas on things to do in the area and up in Barcelona.

Food was great, Location was great - Couldn't find a single fault.

Would definitely recommend and will return next time we're in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    24
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm friendly welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate here tonight and really enjoyed our meal. Service was excellent, staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has been here since 1971 and obviously has built up a reputation for great service and excellent food.
All main courses were priced between €10-€15 which is very reasonable.
Decor is typical Chinese, nice and traditional looking with the added benefit of great views of the beach.
We will eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnceBittenTwiceShy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casa Shanghai - Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the nicest Chinese meals I've eaten. Fantastic décor, scrupulously clean place, delicious food. Hot chilly sauce on table made by chef brilliant. The food (We had a meal for 3 people) was great. Can't wait to go back to Cambrils if only to visit this restaurant Most languages spoken, very polite and sociable owner and staff who were very accommodating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Tirol, Austria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've been in Casa Shanghai also in 2010 and everytime I think about the days I spent there I got the urge of holiday. The restaurant has a perfect location, you have a direct view on the sea. You can walk out of the restaurant and look down and there is sand under your feet. I think you cant describe the feeling in words. The owners are really friendly and they also tought me and my friends how the real sangria is made. Plus they speak a ton of languages and tought us also some words in Mandarin ;) Oh and if you meet the owner he will inject you with happines, because his laughin is countageous. We had a really good afternoon in Casa shanghai, not only because of the tasty food but in front of all because of the friendly atmosphere. The owners also helped us out with insights about the area and sightseeings.

If you happen to be in Cambrils, YOU HAVE to visit Casa Shanghai, I totally recomend it. Who knows maybe we'll sit next to each other on my next holiday there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Egranita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food with exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a great meal at Casa Shanghai while on vacation in Cambrils. The quality of the food was excellent and the service was really great. The owners actually speak English, Spanish, Mandarin, German, French, and Catalan! They're very friendly and can make great recommendations, so don't hesitate asking or going in.

The restaurant is located right along the beach, so you can choose to sit either inside or outside with a really nice view of the water.

Casa Shanghai is a much nicer place than the more casual and common all-you-can-eat wok buffets in salou. Although the woks sound tempting, the quality of the food at Casa Shanghai is much better and the atmosphere is perfect to actually sit down and enjoy your meal.

I also highly recommend the peking duck

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Shanghai also viewed

Salou, Costa Dorada
 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 
Salou, Costa Dorada
Cambrils, Baix Camp
 

Been to Casa Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing