We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family get together”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Estival Centurion Playa
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My daughter spent a lot of time to choose this hotel out of all those in cambrills. We were not disappointed. We were given a room on the third floor initially as i requested but although the room was fabulous the balaconywas tiny. I asked if they could move us and without any hesitation they did. The staff at this hotel are great nothing was too much trouble and the waiters by the pool knew our morning coffee order on our 2nd day. Drinks are very reasonalble a bottle of the house dry white was not more that 9 euros and it was lovely, Breakfast was delicious so much choice and we ate at the hotel in the evening a a coulple of times and we really enjoyed the food. We used the gym and spa quite a few times . Hotel very clean the only negative was the the shady trees so pick your sunbed location wisely. The beach is just accross the road though so no problems to move over to there.The reception staff booked taxi's for us and as we were going to a family wedding in Ruidoms they made sure the taxi driver knew where he was going. You can walk into cambrills in 20 mins it was quiet when we were there but a lovely town, Great holiday and would definately stay here again .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool also get a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgeh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 856 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

We recently stayed at the Estival Centurion Playa in Cambrils, Spain and were really pleased with our choice.
Having read previous experiences all I can say is the staff were very helpful and pleasant, the rooms were extremely clean and there was plenty of choice for food.
People have said that the hotel was noisy, I would agree that the rooms did appear to have paper thin walls and the doors slammed, which actually I think the hotel could fix by doing something with their closing mechanisms but that said, at 10pm we never heard a sound (and that's not because we were drunk every night either :) ) We did have a room facing the side roads so other rooms may well be noisier.
The drinks at the hotel weren't too expensive, white coffee 1 euro 60 and 2 euros for beer - very acceptable.
All in all a very pleasant experience.
This was a weened break in May so I'm not sure what it would be like in the summer but definitely gets the thumbs up from us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We flew with thomson holidays from Newcastle.great flight but very long walk to arrival hall,transfer to hotel took 20 mins,helpful check in staff explained fully about the hotel.Costs 4 euros per day for safe.20 euros deposit per towel .90 cents per day per person tourism tax, max 7 days.The hotel has 3 floors .Our room was on floor 2 room no 2011 sea and pool view east side of the hotel we had sun from 12.00 till late evening, great for afternoon drinks on the balcony. Breakfast and evening meals are full buffet, with great choice hot and cold food etc,very helpful dining room staff, the hotel asks men to have long trousers for evening meal, the floor manager would stop one with shorts on while four walked in? .Cost of local drinks large beer 2.50,brandy 2.2,coffee 1.6 cocktails from 5.0.small coke 2.0 euros. Hotel pool cold, plenty of sun beds but only 4 fixed brolly s ,a number of sun beds sit under a long fixed cover at the beach side of the hotel,the fab, beach is only 3 mtrs. over a bike track. camblis is a 20 min walk, salou 30/40 walk .great bus service 2.0 euros per journey or 15.5 euros for 10. Pool side and bar staff brill.,( Fernando gets a special mention).Beach and pool food good prices.The hotel is in a very quiet position next a great beach, some people describe the hotel decor as 50 sades of grey or ikea land with white seats and tables, if you want noisy bars,night clubs etc,this is not the place for you,in short a great modern hotel in a very good position with fab staff next to a very good beach and cheap drinks.Collin and Sandra Co Durham.

Room Tip: side sea view quiet,pool sea view great view will be noisy in height of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank collin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Warm friendly greeting when checking in at reception also very informative regarding spa area, dinning facilities and instructions on using the room safe. I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival and asked for a quiet room. As requested our room was superb, quiet and also had a side sea view and afternoon sun on balcony. Thank you reception staff. Cleanliness of rooms perfect with clean towels each day and bed linen changed twice during the week. In the dinning room both breakfast and dinner plenty of choices and displayed well. Waiters/waitresses always pleasant and gave excellent service. The hotel is well positioned and you can walk off your breakfast/evening meal into Salou or the other way into the old town of Cambrils. Also within 20 minute walk bars and restaurants. Superb bus service. We bought a ticket for 15 euros from the Plana bus company across from the hotel. Took a trip into Tarragona which is very bustling.The hotel is also near the Port Aventura Park, great for the kids. Also hotel jyst a few steps from the beach which has several beach bars . First visit to Cambrils and the Estival Centurion Playa and we are planning to go back. Thank you to the management for running such a well organised hotel and to all the wonderful staff who work very hard to ensure guests have a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Room 2084 for a wonderful night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sixtyoneBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

we holidayed here with friends as two couples.
inside;
the rooms are clean and have good facilities, the only down-side being the noise. the walls are thin and all the doors creak and bang. ear plugs are recommended.
the food was great, plenty of choice and no repitition in the week we stayed. the restaurant is well appointed and the staff polite and efficient. the bar and lounge areas are good with evening entertainment which is, subject to taste, varied and adequate.
outside;
the pool area is very good with a lifeguard, lounge areas and a bar/snack bar. the hotel is right on the beach with only a cycle path seperating it from miles of golden sand. the sand is fine, the sea is warm and there is a 'chinguirito' every 100 metres or so along the beach. these are little beach bar/restaurants which are a great place to have a drink or snack, chill and watch the world go by. you can hire bikes from the hotel or the hire shop across the road, the previously mentioned cycle path goes all the way from cambrils to salou-passing right in front of the hotel. a great way to spend a few hours and explore this wonderful stretch of catalonia.
all in all a lovely break in a great location.

Room Tip: if you can't get a room overlooking the pool then try to get one facing the trees on the east si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Warwick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very nice hotel, very clean, everything perfect.
We were there in October, couple of days, nice choice made...:)
The cook was a bad boy, make us gain kilos...lol
Pool and sauna at high level.
We will come back for sure.
Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mihaimunteanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Ideally situated in-between Cambils and Salou, it is a lovely promenade walk in both directions to each resort. About 20-mins to Cambrils town, about 25-mins walk to Salou. The hotel itself is of superior-quality. Whilst we found the room small in comparison to other similar-star hotels at other resorts, it was still adequate for our needs (we only need somewhere to rest our heads). Cleaned daily to a high standard. Bathroom modern. Bed hard (just the way we like it). Hotel heavily populated by Russians, Germans and Dutch. Very few English guests and even fewer children - excellent. Evening entertainment outdoors (hence would not like a room with a sea view!!). As we attend weekly dance class, it was nice to put our expertise (or lack of it!!) to good effect. Food was uniformly excellent (self-service buffet), albeit drinks service was often slow.
Reception staff superb and always ready and willing to offer useful advice.
Great to watch all the early-morning sunbed thieves staking their claims on the hotel sunbeds, while we partook of the excellent breakfast selections.
We did not use the pool, as the sea was less than 50m away! Why would anyone use the pool with the sea so close?!!
Bus stop directly outside the hotel for regular bus services to Tarragona, Barcelona, Montserrat, Cambrils, Salou.
Nice strip just outside the hotel with some nice nick-nack shops and Premier League-showing hostelries.
Lovely sandy beach at the rear of the hotel.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would probably not stay again, but that is more because we very rarely stay at the same places twice, not a reflection of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear (with sea view) overlook the outdoor evening entertainment. You have been warned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
1.4 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
564 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#10 of 33 in Cambrils
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#1 of 33 in Cambrils
524 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#12 of 33 in Cambrils
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estival Centurion Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estival Centurion Playa

Address: Diputacion 70, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambrils
#2 Family Hotel in Cambrils
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range: $60 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Estival Centurion Playa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Estival Centurion Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estival Centurion Playa Hotel Cambrils
Hesperia Centurion Cambrils
Hesperia Centurion Hotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing