We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estival Centurion Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Estival Centurion Playa
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The room was very well decorated and modern, it looked exactly like the photograph on the Thomson website which was good. The bathroom was furnished to a high standard and the room was clean and tidy on arrival.

The bed was comfortable and the pillows felt new, there was no sign of wear and tear on any part of the room. We had a sea view from our balcony and it was a reasonable size.

The room was cleaned every day and the maids were polite and allowed you to enter the room even while they were cleaning.

The room came with air conditioning as standard which was a nice suprise, we did not even get that at a 5* hotel in the Dominican Republic.

The receptionists were very helpful, although they did sometimes struggle to understand what we were saying they always solved any problems we had.

Our safe broke during our stay which could have been quite an inconvenience, it took around two hours for someone to come and fix it, at which time we had to wait in the room for the maintenance person to arrive. The safe was soon fixed and we were given free rental of push bicicles to make up for the inconvenience of having to stay in our room for a while.

The resteraunt was very good and served a variety of foods, we always enjoyed our meals. The only negative to the resteraunt is that the full english wasn't the best, however the range of food and high standard of continental breakfast made up for this.

The location of the hotel is good, with access to Salou and Cambrils by bus and taxi, however the taxi was around 13 euros to Salou.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstivalPS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Estival Centurion Playa, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear client,
First of all, thanks for sharing with the community op Tripadvisor your experience during your holidays in our Hotel.
It is very gratifying that our work it’s appreciated and recognized by our customers, that makes us continue working with enthusiasm.
In name of all staff (maids, cookers, receptionists, maintenance and waiters), thanks again for your words and time.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    261
    93
    22
    11
See reviews for
275
330
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bigging Hill Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in Cambrils at the Hotel Estival Centurion Playa. This hotel is listed as a ‘Platinum’ hotel by Thomsons. I wish to say that this hotel does not live up to its 4 star Thompson platinum rating. It is, in my opinion, a reasonable 3 star. A few points that I would like to make are as follows.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the reception staff made us very welcome when we arrived. The rooms were not ready because we had arrived on an early flight and we were told to come back at about 1.30. I think a complimentary cup of coffee in the adjoining bar would get the holiday off to a good start. We were given a room to put our suitcases in. The hotel location is superb, with a wonderfully clean, sandy beach just across a promenade. A note of caution here - when you cross this little promenade, be very mindful of cyclists, hoards of them - some of them absolutely mad and most of them trying to break the Olympic speed trial records. There are also thousands of joggers who have to be pretty nifty to avoid the cyclists neither of whom care about the the pedestrians who take their life in their hands whilst walking on the promenade and just crossing it to get to the beach. There is no warning about this as you leave the hotel site so be very careful.

Back to the hotel - you are guaranteed to get a great sun tan in the pool area when the sun shines - in fact, you could get burned to a crisp whilst on your sun bed [that is if you got up early enough to get one]! The main reason for your tan would be the fact that the hotel has no parasols at all for anyone. There are a couple of trees around the pool area and if you want shade you have to keep on rearranging the sun beds to find shade. These trees also house the pigeons and other birds and then you get bird droppings on your head. When I complained and showed the hotel staff the bird droppings on the sun bed [the very first day that I had got a sun bed] I was told either an animal had done his business on my sun bed or, failing that maybe a small child had performed the deed! To which my reply was look up but wear a hat when doing so! To be fair, the pool area was hosed down every morning but you still had to walk through bird droppings by the middle of the morning. The pool area is well supervised by a very diligent and strict pool attendant who stops any ball games or splashing, etc in the pool.
The alternative to the pool area is the beach where the sun beds are 4 euros per person plus 1 euro per person for shade. Quite costly.
There was a reasonable selection of food for both breakfast and the evening meal but everything came with chips or fried potatoes. There was plenty of fish. The salad bar lacked inspiration. On a positive note, the food was replenished almost instantly. Some of the dishes had translations on them but not many had English translations. It was difficult to tell by looking what these dishes might be, but my wife thoroughly enjoyed the pigs cheek which another English guest had told her was lamb shank! However, there is a potential hazard and that is where the soup is placed. It is in the middle of the server which means that whilst you are trying to ladle soup into the bowel adults and children are trying to get past you from both directions and not unaware that you are carrying extremely hot soup. When we spoke to the Restaurant Manager about the dangerous position of this soup [and, in the mornings there was a bubbling vat of hot chocolate in the same place] this was a dangerous position to put it in i.e. that it should either be at the beginning or end of the food service area we were told they said they knew it was dangerous and would change the position next year when the hotel is being refurbished!
This hotel definitely does not serve 4 star food which we have enjoyed at many other Thomson Platinum hotels.

We were very pleased that we paid the extra for sea and pool view as we were able to watch the entertainment from our balcony. We would have liked to have been able to turn our balcony light on and off ourselves but it is linked to the hotel main system.
The bedroom is modern and adequate. The fridge and air conditioning is provided free of charge which is a definite plus. The bathroom has a lovely large walk in shower and the rooms are cleaned by very nice staff.
The communal areas in the hotel are air conditioned and spotlessly clean.
Beach towels: 10 euros deposit but if you want to change them they will cost you one euro each time.
There was more entertainment during our second week. There was flamenco, two groups and then a keyboard/ singer. They were all professional entertainers.
We went to Barcelona for a complete day and evening trip but we went by the local bus company called Plana [opposite the hotel]. It was less expensive than Thomson’s were charging and we had an English speaking guide. Very good value.
We also used the local buses most days. The routes are easy to read on the bus front and in the mornings there is a representative from the bus company helping the tourists.
To summarise - definitely not the 4 star Platinum that we paid for.

Room Tip: Top floor pool and sea view but not if you want to sleep before 12.30 because of the outside enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoppyBiggingHillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed 10 nights from the 5th June 2012 a much needed relaxing holiday. Excellent location between Cambrils and Saluo 45 min walk to each along the prom. Bus stop outside hotel and bus office across road to purchase your travel card which is excellent value and you do not have to keep looking for change. Only critism of hotel wears sun loungers were not available as guests were putting towels on them at 7.30 am and returning after breakfast, also not enough loungers with comfortable seating or umbrellas to go with them. However if you want a quite holiday in a good location and do not lie in sun all day(which we do not) then its the holiday for you. Also not many children to disturb the older clients.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view it's well worth the money as room is better all round
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is included in Thomson's Platinum selection but I found it hard to see the high standards that Thomson descibe in their material. The Reception was just about satsfactory but their fluency in English was limited. The room was small but well decorated in a moderm minimalistic way - overall quite good. The wide range of channels on the modern slimline TV included just 3 in the English language. Unfortunately they were Russia Today, France Today and Jewish One News. No sign of say BBC Worldwide or Sky. But the Restaurant was the real problem. Breakfast was adequate only whilst Dinner was extremely disappointing. There was a very limited choice for main course and many items seemed over cooked and not hot enough. One night the main item was 'Russian Fillet'. I would describe it as Spam Fritter. There were no waiters as such. The staff merely cleared tables. The whole meal experience was poor.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also have a good sea view. Front rooms look out on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

A two storey compact hotel in an excellent location. The rooms have been reburbished to a modern standard. They are bright, comfortable but small. A downside to the room is that there are no drawers to store small items of clothing. The big plus is the superb bathroom with an excellent shower.
The poolside area is ok but badly in need of a makeover because it is concrete and looks tired; the pool, however, is great and there is a permanent lifeguard presence.
The reception staff seem hard pressed to answer guest queries, deal with incoming phone calls and to cope with the slow computer system.

On our arrival the receptionist checking us in, although friendly, omitted to tell us about the safe and its charge and the pool towel availability.

The restuarant is good; breakfast excellent with plenty of table availability. Dinner is ok too with plenty of choice. Restaurant staff are extremely attentive.

I think I would return but I'd take care, if possible, to avoid a week when there are too many children. We were amazed at the large numbers; however, they were well behaved. It was the high number of screaming, crying babies that finally coloured my view of the hotel

Yes, it is 4* but it's the addition of air conditioning that saved the day for me.

Room Tip: You need a sea view for maximum appreciation of the location. Also try for a room on the Salou side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VolvoC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in seaview room with half board since dinner was only an extra 8 euros for 2. Truly a bargain. Rooms just renovated with great beds, nice bathroom and huge shower. Pool area. beautiful but their loungers are very uncomfortable. Overall great stay and great walking area. Close to Tarragona and take bus to go to roman amphitheatre- we drove and parking a nightmare

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqueline1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstivalPS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Estival Centurion Playa, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear client,
First of all, thanks for sharing with the community op Tripadvisor your experience during your holidays in our Hotel.
It is very gratifying that you have spent a nice time with us. Many thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays in Cambrils.
We hope to see you soon again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Hesperia for a week in July 2010. After initially being given a room overlooking the car park, we paid for an upgrade to a sea facing room - which completely changed our holiday for the better. The room was a decent size with an en-suite and balcony overlooking the sea, but it could have done with a few more mod-cons. Overall we liked the hotel. It has a nice position right on the beach promenade, which is great for walks to Cambrils (which be warned, is a good 30-40 mins away on foot!) The hotel was very typically Spanish and a little bit old-fashioned. We were the only British couple there during our holiday. As a young couple, we did find that the hotel was very family orientated and there was not much to do in the local area - its quiet at night with just a couple of shops, restaurant and a few beach bars nearby. We stayed half board and the hotel restaurant serves decent food with plenty of choice. The staff were friendly. Would highly recommend a train journey to Barcelona from nearby Salou - which is a short bus trip away (the bus stops outside the hotel). Overall, a good choice for families who want to stay in a typically Spanish hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Kellberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
0.1 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#6 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.4 mi away
TRYP Port Cambrils
TRYP Port Cambrils
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#2 of 33 in Cambrils
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#8 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Maritim
Best Maritim
#9 of 33 in Cambrils
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Cambrils
Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estival Centurion Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estival Centurion Playa

Property: Estival Centurion Playa
Address: Diputacion 70, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambrils
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambrils
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Estival Centurion Playa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Estival Centurion Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estival Centurion Playa Hotel Cambrils
Hesperia Centurion Cambrils
Hesperia Centurion Hotel Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing