We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Good Location”
Review of TRYP Port Cambrils

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRYP Port Cambrils
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Cambrils
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is well located in a quiet area of Cambrils. Its only a short walk into the centre of town, the beach, the old town market and the railway station. The only noise is from the railway line which runs behind the hotel but trains pass quickly with minimum noise disruption. All areas of the hotel are modern and clean and the staff are curteous, helpful and professional. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. They do not include coffee making faciities. The balconies are small and include a table and two chairs. We requested a West facing balcony to catch the afternoon sun. Complimentary hand soap and shower/shampoo is provided via wall mounted dispensers as well as dental packs, shower cap and a comb. There is a hair drier in the bathroom, a safe in the wardrobe and a small minibar and a TV. We sampled the buffet style dinner on our first night and were impressed by the variety and quality of food available including a chef on hand to cook fresh meat. The pool is small but there are ample sun loungers available and the pool bar which was being refurbished when we stayed looked promising. There is also a sunny terrace outside the hotel bar and a spacious reception and bar area with comfortable seating. We were impressed with the hotel and staff and would recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank Conners17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Your happiness is our greatest source of motivation, and makes us want to improve every day…for you.
On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay in TRYP. We hope to see you again very soon until then have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    425
    103
    28
    14
See reviews for
264
440
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very comfortable modern hotel with all amenities, nice staff, quiet location (except on the railway side !). Lovely seating in bar area, but not really a 'venue'. Rooms are very comfortable, most have balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from railway, don't pay extra for sea view, its too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BockerOlney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay in TRYP.
Your happiness is our greatest source of motivation, and makes us want to improve every day…for you.
We are delighted to have been chosen, so that you could live the city to the fullest on your visit and we hope you visit us again soon.

Best Regards and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My houseband and I spent 5 days in Tryp Port Cambrils last May. The hotel is nicely situated in a quiet street. I had ordered a quiet room and that we had got, although the railway line is quite near. There is not many trains and they passes very quickly. A nice room with view towards north, the town, sea and sourrounding countryside. Comfortable beds. As it was outside peak season we had got a very good offer and had half board. The food was good and varied. The best thing for me was that the restaurant and kitchen staff made great efforts to supply me with glutenfree food. They made special dishes for me that they could assure me was 100% glutenfree. Both for breakfast and dinner I got freshly baked, soft bred rolls. That was a real treat for me! If you want to save money you can buy a bottle of wine and drink only part of it. The staff will label the bottle and you can enjoy the rest the following evening.

Room Tip: As far away from the railway line as possible. The rooms facing the sea would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marit F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear merit F thank you for your excellent rating. On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you again for the nice words that you told us about your stay in TRYP. These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences. I will share your opinion with all our TRYPers, because there is no better way to start this saturday 04-19-2014.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was expecting something more by a 4 stars Hotel. About the rooms I found some malfunctioning devices, with the problem persisting for the entire week I was there. Also the cleaning was not completly satisfating. The meals are based on a rich self service. For this class I think needs, almost for dinner, a better service at the table.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not exposed to the train rail side!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gipierregi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear customer, we appreciate the time taken to evaluate our facilities and services.
Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department.
We failed this time and this allows us to think over and prevent other travelers can have the same perception that you.
I will report your comments to our housekeeper and work together so when you return to visit this all as you deserve.
Thanks again and wish have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberageri, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here with a family (in 2 rooms), and even though at first sight the hotel looked great, it was not that great. The breakfast buffet was poor, the buffet area looked second-rate, the beds were too hard. It was overpriced. Better go to Monica Hotel - better beds, better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are sorry that your perception has been negative this time and we would like to tell you that we work every day to maintain a spirit of teamwork and always give close traetment to our passionate travelers.
Thank you very much for you time spent and wish you a happy day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

From 15th to 29th September 2013 my wife and I set off to Cambrils, Costa Dorada for some rest and relaxation, which we found. The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in. It was clean, modern and well maintained. On half board, the food was good with a reasonable variety (considering my need to avoid food with high cholesterol), with plenty of fish offered on the evening. Staff were very friendly and helpful, reception staff were very professional. The hotel is in a fairly quiet location (only a little noise from the nearby railway line, not found to be a problem - We were on the West side on the first floor) and only a short walk from the beach, local shops, restaurants, bars, banks and the nearest bus stop. There were frequent buses to Tarragona, Reus, Salou etc. It is about 15 minutes walk from the railway station.

Room Tip: Choose the West side of the hotel if you prefer the sun on the balcony in the evening or the East si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, October 6, 2013

Thank you for your excellent rating. On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay in TRYP. These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences. I will share your opinion with all our TRYPers, because there is no better way to start the day reading these comments. We love to hear that you enjoyed the city and we want to see you very soon.

Until our next meeting have a nice day, week, month and year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first experience with a TRYP hotel - now part of the Melia hotel group. Check in was easy, staff was wonderful and very helpful. Our rooms were very nice with balconies (table and 2 chairs) look towards the beach - which is a couple of blocks away. The pool, seating and cabanas are very nice, but this time of year the pool water was very much on the cold side. Breakfast was incredible! Anything you can imagine from an custom made omelet, glasses fo cava!!!, espresso machines at every corner, jamon, fruit - all yummy!
In order to get ice, you need to go to the bar and they will give you a bag to take to your room. Entertainment on many nights - we could listen from our balcony as we sipped some fantastic wines from penedes!

This will definitely be on my list of places to visit again!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice, but you are still a few blocks from the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlos_trypcambrils, E-Guest Experience at TRYP Port Cambrils, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
I would like to start off thanking you for your nice words. We really like to take advantage of these opportunities to greet you once again and thank you for keeping counting on us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambrils hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Augustus
Hotel Augustus
#8 of 33 in Cambrils
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monica Hotel
Monica Hotel
#2 of 33 in Cambrils
490 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Cambrils Playa
H10 Cambrils Playa
#5 of 33 in Cambrils
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Best Maritim
Hotel Best Maritim
#7 of 33 in Cambrils
666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Best Cambrils
Hotel Best Cambrils
#11 of 33 in Cambrils
1,065 reviews
1.4 mi away
Estival Centurion Playa
Estival Centurion Playa
#4 of 33 in Cambrils
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Port Cambrils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Port Cambrils

Property: TRYP Port Cambrils
Address: Rambla Regueral 11, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cambrils
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cambrils
#4 Family Hotel in Cambrils
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Port Cambrils 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tryp Port Cambrils is the best choice for leisure and business travel in Cambrils, thanks to its privileged location, its full facilities and the quality of its services. Tryp Port Cambrils provides 156 fully-equipped rooms, some with sea views, different dining areas (Tosca Buffet Restaurant, Lobby Bar and Grill Pool), 2 terraces (Veranda and Tosca) free WiFi internet throughout the Hotel, 2 outdoor swimming pools (adult / child), a modern fitness centre exclusively for guests with two saunas and massage room under request, car park for 82 vehicles, 10 meeting rooms for up to 400 people and a large, bright hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TRYP Port Cambrils reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Port Cambrils Hotel Cambrils
Sol Melia Cambrils
Sol Melia Port Cambrils

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing