We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the money”
Review of Hotel Catalonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Catalonia
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good for the money”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here on a Ferris coach trip, entire thing cost me £250 for four nights at the hotel including the coach travel. Reception staff speak perfect English and the hotel is generally in good condition. You can tell they spend money on this place.

Entrainment wise forget it, the bar was always dead but there is plenty to do in Calella anyway I don't know why people would want to spend all the time at the hotel. Again as for the pool, the beach is just round the corner anyway.

This hotel is quite a bit cheaper than some of the bigger ones, and has better reviews. The only downside I would mention is the paper thin walls. The food was average, I did eat it every night but if I was there longer I would have eaten out more.

People need to remember they are not in the UK and tastes are different.

Full size safes in the reception were a bonus too, and the air conditioning was free providing you leave a deposit for the remote control. It seems some of the negative reviews about this hotel are out of date, when perhaps it had no air conditioning and rude reception staff.

Would I stay here again? It depends, I would if it was still as cheap and I visit Calella again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mancjd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    27
    13
    14
See reviews for
45
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Catalonia with my husband and 11 year old son,we were very surprised after reading a lot of negative reviews,the staff are lovely and the rooms were cleaned everyday,the only negative thing was the pool at the front,there was no sun on it until tea time but there is a roof top pool but my son would not go on the roof top,he said it was boring,so we spent most our days at the beach which is only 5 minutes walking distance,the hotel is in a great part of calella,not to far from shops,and bars and if your young the night clubs are not far too.The food at the hotel was ok for me and my husband but my son wouldn't really entertain it,so it was mcdonalds every day for him,would we go to this hotel again,the answer is yes,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach19752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Once again great holiday, Debbie behind the bar speaks english, staff all friendly and helpful, clean hotel food very nice .we have been coming here for five years and have eenjoyed every holiday. As I have said in other reviews if you want a better hotel pay more, but for the price of the Catalonia its excellent value. If you looking for entertainment on a night there is a bit but limited, in the hotel, but plenty of bars etc in calella.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisaunderhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Another visit to a well run hotel. We took a party of six and we were well treat and well looked after. The staff were all friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I have already booked for next year.thank you for a holiday we will never forget.very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stevenmachen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

From the minute we arrived, till we went home, the staff were fantastic! We had just arrived after 24 hours on a coach, so not in the perkiest of states, but they were never anything but really helpful! ALL reception staff answer any questions asked of them, and even helped to save us money by planning our excusion with Barcelona.

The air conditioning is a must at 20euros in the current hot weather. You get the whole of the 20 euro's back as well which we were really impressed by. The safe is 20 euro's with a 5 euro deposit back, and the mini fridge is 15 euro's with a 5 euro deposit back. We used the 30 euro's we got back for dinner on the ferry.

The room are spotlessly clean, and looked after. If you're lucky, the sea view rooms have incredible views!

We found that it was best to use the two pools downstairs as the one on the roof is mainly occupied by young germans perfecting their tans and they tended to pull faces if children went near the water, so it was downsatirs for us.Be warned the pools are freezing till the sun comes round at about 3pm. Not so bad though as my children went in about 11am and enjoyed having fun with friends they had met.

The restaurant opens between 8am and 10am for breakfast, 1pm and 2pm for lunch and 7pm and 9pm for evening meals. The food is great. there's a load of choice for everyone, and as it's a buffet style meal, you can try everything they have to offer. We loved it, which is rare as I can be a picky eater.

Yes lots of germans do stay there, but the staff don't stand any messing and they are soon told to quieten it down. It didn't spoil it for us.

Checking out can be a bit annoying everywhere at 10am, but we discovered they have lockers for 2euro's so we dumped our cases in the room next to it and dumped our bags in the lockers, we then went a last walk to the town.

We loved every minute here and would gladly return, which is a first for us as we like to travel around but we loved the Hotel Catalonia, and Calella.

Room Tip: The sea views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from the best fortnight of fun, laughs and good times, EVER !! We went back AGAIN, to the Hotel Catalonia, ( sung to the Eagles Hotel California ! our first week was started with a full coach of Medical Professionals from Kent who had booked ALL INCLUSIVE, we expected all sorts of nightmares, but from the moment they stepped off their coach to the moment they left, the Management and staff were at their best, swiftly moving them through the registry, organising their meal times and it never phased the staff whenever there was a queue at the bar, everyone had their turn. So well done to you all we were certainly impressed with our two weeks, especially when we thought standards may drop to the usual ALL inclusive style, but NO, the food was exceptional, the service was exceptional the rooms were kept very clean, We will be booking for next year, Like most hotels that have multi national guests, you will always find someone who will be hell bent on trying to spoil the mood, but the management stand for no nonsense and rightly so, they have my vote every time, Oh and just for the record, Anna who is the anchor at reception, you DO have a lovely smile, Marko who spends hours making sure we are well fed,Thank you,- you and Sonja and the rest of your team do a great job,Debbie, Christian, and the very famous Carlos( not his real name but we lke it ) the bar service was brilliant, So to all at this hotel a great vote of thanks once again see you all next year xx

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea view higher floors are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel overall: close to the beach, parking for few cars only- always full. No parking around except a street that lets you park for free only from mid May to mid June. Staff rude, don't speak any English. Do not go before you print your booking voucher, otherwise THEY DON'T LET YOU IN.

Room: Good space, all have a good size balcony. INCREDIBLY LOUD. YOU WON'T SLEEP! The walls are so thin that you can hear the people next door breathe. Doors slam when closed so you hear your neighbors enter and leave the room as if it was right next to you. It wakes you up! BEDS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE! Better on the floor. Only provide one blanket and it gets quite cold during the night. BUT clean.

Shower only works well when other people don't use it. If there are others taking showers, the water will be very cold and very little.

Food: Good. A decent variety of meats, one type of fish only, cooked differently each day. Very good for vegetarians, fresh vegetables for salads and other cold and hot meals without meat. Foods always replenished so you don't have to be there when the restaurant opens.

Pool outside: Very small and full of people. Very cold until afternoon.
Pool on the roof: Very small and always full. No chance.

Overall it is good only when you get a really good offer. Otherwise, there are cheaper 3 star hotels around, right on the beach with better rooms, incredibly large pools and and other good stuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calella hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#20 of 43 in Calella
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Haromar Hotel
Haromar Hotel
#31 of 43 in Calella
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Safari
Aparthotel Safari
#18 of 43 in Calella
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalonia

Property: Hotel Catalonia
Address: C/ Sant Jaume, 42-50, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Catalonia 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Catalonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing