We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”
Review of ALEGRIA Espanya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ALEGRIA Espanya
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

3 of us (All male 28-29) stayed here August 2013, 5 day stay for my birthday. Got to say it was a great holiday! Made to feel very welcome by all of the staff the whole time, especially the young guy behind the bar (Sorry don't remember his name!)

Room was plenty big enough, we were facing out of the back of the hotel, but could still see the sea. Cleaned daily & well.

Food & drink was excellent, different themes of food every evening so we didn't get bored, plenty of it and never had to queue. Tried various alcohols, definitely wouldn't complain about any of them. I even asked about a cocktail that wasn't included in the All Inc, barman said hang on, and made me an identical one that was included. That's service!

We thought location was great, yes it's by a railway line, but it certainly didn't bother us. Very short walk to unnamed numbers of shops & restaurants, can definitely recommend the one right out of the front door of the hotel then right again. Chicken is to die for! (You'll see what I mean, won't give it away!)

It's a shame the pool is up on the roof, but the view is great, and we weren't really there for swimming anyways to be honest.

Once we've been to a few other places, it's definitely somewhere I'd go back to.

Room Tip: Lift was a bit of a pain sometimes (We were on 4th/5th floor) Would probably ask to be lower down ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Rich G,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor Community.
It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are so happy with the service we provided. We will make sure to forward your kind words to all staff in order to motivate them even more.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Luis Solaz
Fergus Espanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

well i spotted this hotel when we visited calella last year,its very handy for the shops bars and beach plus a short walk to the station,and we were not dissapointed,very clean good food and the staff very friendly,might be an issue for parents with small kids as the bus has to drop you 300mtr away as the street is too narrow,cant say enough good things about this hotel,even a beach towel in the room if you want one, ,,if we go to calella again this is where we will stop

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank taxiforkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus_Hotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear taxiforkaren,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel!
It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will consider us for your next visit to Spain!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Management
Fergus Espanya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It is good hotel for its 3 stars. Rooms are clean and looking fresh. Food is good, but if you stay longer than for a week, it's getting bored. You are lucky if you get room which windows going to the backyard. In front of the hotel, from about 5 a.m., all the time going noisy train. We were there with the kid, so he was afraid that noise while sleeping. But service is good, we changed the room without any problem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Lu L,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us. All the staff is grateful for your words. Our hotel is in the center of Calella, the advantages are the beach, the train station just five minutes walking, and the proximity to the main road, full of pubs, cafes and shops. But this also has some disadvantages like the sound of the train, or the noise in the summer when the city is more crowded. We are happy that the problem was solved with the change of room and your kid could sleep well and also enjoyed the family holidays.
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me & my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the 3rd October for 5 days. Can't really complain really. Our first night wasnt a really good start. My boyfriend could not get his case opened the lock on it was jammed. I went to reception and spoke to a young woman who really wasnt helpful at all. Woman advised handy man would be in tomorrow morning could
Get case opened but that was no use to us. I know it wasnt really her fault but she didn't seemed to want to help us. Also we were charged 15 euros for all inclusive bands which know one told we had to pay for she advised
We would get this back
At the end of the holiday but we never did . These were the only
Faults of the holiday and the hotel
Is quite hard to find
When you come off your
Transfer luckily there was another
Couple on the same bus as us that showed us to hotel. Anyways that was the only
Fault. Samuel at your bar kindly offered to help get our case opened and managed to get this opened , all the other staff were lovey behind the bar. The food was good loads to
Choose
From
And the buffet snacks available throughout the day. The roof top pool was lovey bit of a pain there isn't a bar there
But guessing this is for health and safety reasons. Pool was freezing
Maybe should have it heated in the colder months ? Maids were great they left the room spotless every time they cleaned. The manager was lovey too always said hello which I thought was nice. I think the hotel should play more music In the bar areA maybe a bit of everything . All round was a great wee hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VGKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear VGKM,

Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us in Tripadvisor Community!
First of all, we are very sorry to read that not all has been like you expected. All our staff is very helpful and always makes all is possible for made the stay of our guests the best as possible.
About the all inclusive, I don’t know what happened, we always give a paper with all the information. For that reason I think that was a misunderstanding.
On the other hand we are very pleased to know that despite the drawbacks you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and all our staff is glad for your words, the maids, the kitchen workers, the bar staff, in special Samuel.
We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I can only echo all thet has been said,exellent hotel and staff,the espanya is ideal for friends,couples or family,the rooms are very clean,with beach towels robes also provided,making this hotel an exellent place to stay.

Room Tip: front of the hotel if you do not mind the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steverobert-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Steverovert,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of us on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important for us.
We are happy to read that your holiday meeting your expectations and all our staff is glad for your words about us. We always try to make all possible for guarantee a nice stay in our hotel.We hope welcome you back again in a next holidays!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had a four day stay last month whilst holidaying through this side of Spain,the staff are all exellent,all are very pleasant.The buffet breakfast and buffet evening meals were of a good standard,i had a top floor room with miles upon miles of sea views,the room was furnished to a high standard.The hotel is only three minutes from the railway station,and nicely placed for the old town or a ten minute walk to Roca Pins cliff beaches,the espanya offers real good value,it would not be easy to fault this hotel.

Room Tip: a room at the front the sea views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevedgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Stevedegal,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Fergus Espanya within the Tripadvisor Community.
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and also in our city.
We already passed your kindly comments to our staff, and I am sure it will encourage them to continue improving! In special the kitchen staff is really pleased to read that you enjoy with the food.
We appreciate your words about Calella. We are lucky for our location, near to train, perfect for make excursions and discover other beautiful places of our coast. And in front of our beaches, offering us and our guests a wonderful view.
Looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great for adults everyone from the reception to the cleaning staff were friendly polite and a pleasure to be with. Only drawback is its not for children as the roof pool was not a great idea with a little toddler in tow and some nights the food was not to my liking but there was always something to eat from the menu. I would totally recommend this hotel for adults as the beach was amazing and we had a wonderful time in spite of the drawback of the pool. Callella was having a three day fiesta which was awesome to say in the least.

Room Tip: opt for the front facing rooms on 6th floor would be my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann marie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis S, Gerente at ALEGRIA Espanya, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Ann Marie F

Thank you for taking your time with sharing your opinion of us.
We appreciate all the comments as they are valuable in order to improve our services.
We are sorry to read that our food wasn´t always to your liking and we hope that our swimming pool don’t supposed a drawback if you decided to choose us again for a next holidays.
On the other hand we are glad to read that you are happy with our hotel and our staff. It’s a motivation to keep providing the best service possible. We also like that you get out the most of Calella and the festival.
We hope to see you again!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#10 of 43 in Calella
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Summer Hotel Calella Barcelona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Espanya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Espanya

Address: Carre Anselm Clave 80, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Espanya)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: $47 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Espanya 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ALEGRIA Espanya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Espanya Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing