We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“P&L UK”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“P&L UK”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very well managed,excellent receptionists and friendly, nothing too much bother to help with. Room was cleaned every day to a good standard. Public rooms kept spotlessly clean as was the swimming pool area. Food was plentifull,cooked to a high standard and varied, presented well in the buffet style dining room. Evening entertainment was OK considering it has to suit all age ranges and tastes. Overall a very good hotel which offers good value for money.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room overlooking the swimming pool,and on 4th floor or above to catch all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    192
    56
    9
    5
See reviews for
164
150
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently visited the President hotel in Calella, Costa Brava. We went half board and must say the food (served buffet meals) was very good, considering the amount we paid. It was indeed good value for money. The staff was friendly and helpful. But the hotel is very noisy and the walls are so thin that you could actually listen to the knocks at the other door and hear people talking walking past your room. I don't think it is a good choice for couples but definitely for family with young children. It has swimming pool which we didn't use due to the weather but it is a big pool. The drinks are reasonably priced as well. I wouldn’t go back as I like my holidays to be relaxing and definitely you can not achieve that in a noisy place but I wouldn’t discourage travellers with children going to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLH00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Its well run, well maintained and all the staff are friendly. Everything is as it should be for a 3* hotel. The hotel has more outside space than most of the other hotels in the resort with two pools, a kids play area, an ample amount of sun loungers and well kept gardens. It's all kept in a very clean and well maintained condition.
The bar area was never too crowded and service from the waiters and bar staff was excellent with relatively cheap drink prices. There is also a large tv area. Entertainmnet was low key with a duo, flemenco, disco and singer during the week There is no animation team and nothing organised in the daytime.
The rooms were a tale of two halves. Refurbished rooms were overlooking the road and the dated rooms overlooking the pool. Refurbed rooms looked great with new walk in showers, hairdryers and rooms had flat screen tv and smart furniture. Our poolside room was rather dated with old furniture and a dated bathroom but the pool view was nicer and quieter.
The dining room was crowded most of the time and very busy although we always got a table without too much fuss. The food on offer was varied with something for everyone. It was a shame there was no showcooking and eggs/ommlettes cooked fresh to order at breakfast. The food was adequate for a 3* nothing bad but nothing fantastic either.
All in all, a great value hotel and probably one of the better hotels in Calella.
Calella itself is more tapas and ceveza rather than lager & egg n chips. Plenty of bars but not that much happening so don't expect caberet bars and fun pubs. Handy for visiting all the other coastal resorts and Barcelona.
If you want to stay in Calella this is the hotel that I would recommend.

Room Tip: refurbed room overlooking road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank benidormbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Here are the pros:
- the food was very varied, seafood two times in a week
- friendly staff
- clean rooms


Here are the cons:
- the entertainment was a bit outdated, mostly suited for senors
- cleaning starts early in the morning with a big noisy rush
- no wi-fi
- age average is pretty high

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Radu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very nice hotel situated a short walk from the main shopping strip. 10 minute walk to the beach but we were happy to stay by the pool everyday. Lovely bright communal areas with a bar inside and outside at the pool. Found the staff to be very friendly especially with my 2 boys (6 & 1), they would often stop to pat their heads or run off and bring them back a lolly, just thought it was a nice touch. Drink prices in the hotel are fairly in line with the rest of Europe so dont expexct any bargains, you can buy spirits much cheaper from the supermarkets across the road from the hotel, one also sold lovely fresh rolls every day which were delicious and made a welcome change from the usual chips & burgers.

We were half board in the hotel so Breakfast & Lunch were inluded, Dinner in the hotel was great, plenty of choice to suit everybody and special themed nights .ie Chinese, Mexican, Indian etc, thought these were all brillant. We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children and everyone in the group couldn't fault it. Breakfast was a bit of the same old, same old- german sausages & rashers, boiled eggs, slices of Ham & Cheese etc but plenty of Croissants, pastries, toast, cereals to keep you going for the day.

Entertainment in the hotel was a bit of a let down I have to say, nothing really to suit any of our taste, My older child enjoyed the Magic Show and think that was about it, there was a Clown show on another night but because it was all in Spanish we didn't know what it was about. Music was fairly old fashioned and suited more to people over 60's. In fairness with two small kids it suited us to sit out listening to the entertainment and at least they could have a run around on the play area.

Bedrooms- Major drawback at the hotel. Very Old Fashioned and very very small. I knew from reading other reviews that the rooms were dated so that wasnt much of a suprise but the rooms are tiny, we had no where for our cases so ended up stacking them against the wall, they kept falling, we kept banging into them it was a nightmare. We had to put the buggy out on the balcony as we couldn't fit it in. I know they can't make the rooms bigger but they could at least have family rooms available, it was a nightmare with 3 single beds and a travel cot there for a week, thank god for the air con which was our only saving grace!

All in all thugh a very good holiday, the only drawback being the rooms which they could seriously do with modernizing but the hotel is emmaculate and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Great stay in Calella & The President Hotel!!

Room Tip: Pool View Facing rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie29Kilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was a very good experience for me and my friends to stay at this hotel. The rooms were very clean, because the rooms were cleaned every day, the food was very good and a lot of varieties and the personal were very kindly. Also it was close to the beach, like 500 m distance.We were very satisfied there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

In common - 3*-proof hotel
Excellent food (but slightly monotonous breakfast), BTW if you bought BB or HB, you can get lunch or dinner just for 10€ (without drinks) - very average price for Calella. Watermelons or melons every day (and several times a day) - was important for my spouse )))

Not so far away from the beach - about 500 meters, like 4-5 minutes walking direct way.
A lot of shops and bars nearby (check DIA supermarket in several blocks away, if you would like to get low prices for beer and wines and fruits)

Very clean, nice hotel, with two pools (one for kids) and a bar in yard, free WiFi at lobby (and in some rooms nearby too). Evening animation program mostly for mid-aged and elders, but young men could find a lot of discos around (grrrrrr)

Rooms are not so big (i.e. small), but clean and almost everything needed inside, EXCEPT refrigerator (it was a little problem to cool down Sangria :)). Bath instead of a shower (+++).

One real minus - OXIGEN DISCO near the north part of hotel, where crowd of youngsters make a lot of noise at night (from about 10 PM up to 2 - 3 AM). So, if you find it difficult to fall asleep, or have trouble sleeping, be sure to select southern part of hotel at check-in.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 on each floor looks into the hotel' yard, where is evening show running till 11PM and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hohlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#4 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#15 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Valldebanador, 31-37, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#5 Family Hotel in Calella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel President 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Calella
Hotel President Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing