We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3* Family Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good 3* Family Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

In common - 3*-proof hotel
Excellent food (but slightly monotonous breakfast), BTW if you bought BB or HB, you can get lunch or dinner just for 10€ (without drinks) - very average price for Calella. Watermelons or melons every day (and several times a day) - was important for my spouse )))

Not so far away from the beach - about 500 meters, like 4-5 minutes walking direct way.
A lot of shops and bars nearby (check DIA supermarket in several blocks away, if you would like to get low prices for beer and wines and fruits)

Very clean, nice hotel, with two pools (one for kids) and a bar in yard, free WiFi at lobby (and in some rooms nearby too). Evening animation program mostly for mid-aged and elders, but young men could find a lot of discos around (grrrrrr)

Rooms are not so big (i.e. small), but clean and almost everything needed inside, EXCEPT refrigerator (it was a little problem to cool down Sangria :)). Bath instead of a shower (+++).

One real minus - OXIGEN DISCO near the north part of hotel, where crowd of youngsters make a lot of noise at night (from about 10 PM up to 2 - 3 AM). So, if you find it difficult to fall asleep, or have trouble sleeping, be sure to select southern part of hotel at check-in.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 on each floor looks into the hotel' yard, where is evening show running till 11PM and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Hohlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    189
    56
    9
    5
See reviews for
162
145
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just stayed here for 1 week, four adults and three children.

Our room for two adults and 3 children, rooms are not big enough for more than two adults, two children! Our first room interior was good, new bathroom, good aircon, nice plasma however the noise was awful thanks to OXYGEN nightclub being located to the front of the property. We were moved to another smaller room which was very dated and aircon poor. If you get an interior and updated room your experience will be much better.

Communial areas aircon great, staff very friendly and food very good.

The pool area in my opinion needs updating and the pool interior and sides are stained, the staff do keep the area as clean as they can however.

The resort is very lively and it's nice to see not just us Brit's infact we are in the minority in Calella. The train to Barcelona is good but does take about 1 hr 3 mins and is very busy.

The beach was nice and not very far at all. A just about 3* hotel with great food!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stekene
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was a very good hotel for only 3 stars, the rooms were not that modern but you had TV and Airco on your room and downstairs there was WIFI.
The meals were very good. the swimming pools were very clean and the personnel was very friendly.
There was no ALL in formula but the prices of the drinks were OK.
The minor points I could think of was that the beach was a bit away from the hotel if you are a beach hanger you had to carry everything to their yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mieboenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Quite average hotel in Calella. Basic food service not the best location. Though it worth the money paid. Maybe I expected to much after reading reviews here, hotel turned out to be just a 3-star hotel. Nothing more nothing less.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Guitarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

this hotel is very good for 3 star the food is more like 4 star we loved it and prob the cleanest hotel i've been in for a long time cant fault it the position is good not to noisy but still handy for everything would definatly go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickbashbewdley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the President hotel and it was just as good as the 1st time.

Room - cleaned to a good standard everyday.
Food - always a good variety.
Staff - friendly and helpful.
Drinks - reasonably priced.
Entertainment - in the evenings but I cannot comment on how good it was, hotel entertainment is not my thing sorry.

We upgraded to a pool view room for 10 euro per night which I would do again for a good nights sleep - a few clubs nearby so the rooms on the front of the hotel and on the side street would get a lot of noise after midnight into the early hours!

Overall a good value hotel.

We enjoyed our trip to Calella and the President so much that we have booked to return in a couple of weeks.

If you are looking for a good restaurant try Luna Gaucha it's fantastic!!

Room Tip: Email the hotel before you travel and upgrade to a pool view room for 10 euro per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dscam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in late May early June this year. It is a lovely hotel and the staff are very friendly and efficient. There are two pools, and a kiddies pool. the pool attendant is excellent ensuring that adults are not disturbed by splashing kids as he usually insists that all children stay in one pool. Food is buffet style and is excellent. Everywhere in the hotel and the pool area is kept very clean at all times. I would highly recommend this hotel. The beach is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel but is very stoney and wasnt really suitable for young children as the tide even when out got very deep very quickly. Nice guy on beach with paddle boats for €13 per hour. The little town of Calella is nice, with small streets and a little shops to potter around in. Plenty of nice restaurants. It is the perfect place for a family holiday, but definately not for young adults out for nightclubs and bars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rach881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#4 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#16 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Property: Hotel President
Address: Valldebanador, 31-37, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#5 Family Hotel in Calella
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel President 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Calella
Hotel President Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing