We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remember what you paid.....”
Review of H.TOP Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Olympic
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed April 15, 2014

You must remember what you paid!
Just back from week all inc here with the girls. Have been here before so knew what expect. Food basic but fine most days - we had either lunch or dinner out to break boredom but could have found something everyday if we had to.
Rooms old but generally clean - although stinky drains at certain times each day.
What was unacceptable to us and will mean we do not return is the hundreds of school kids (trips) arriving constantly making this no more than a youth hostel. If you were unlucky enough to be on a floor with them you would get very little sleep - they ran around corridors most of the night with blatant disregard for others and neither their 'teachers' or security could control it. Hotel Esplai across road not much better - we watched it open and fill with young lads and what followed was chanting between esplai and Olympic balconies. Sounded like we were at a football match!!!
Take ear plugs!!!!
Would return to calella but definitely not this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from school trip youths as possible!! Don't tempted to put 4 in a room - 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tracyKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from the 4/4/2014 to the 11/04/2014. We really enjoyed our stay. It is a large hotel so we expected noise and lots of people. While we stayed the was some school trips but they didn't interfere with our day/night at all. Rooms are basic and have all you need. It was cleaned daily and towels and bedding changed. Food, we had alot of people complaining but we enjoyed it and don't see why they had issues. We found there was plenty of choice and all tasted great. Breakfast, lunch and dinner very varied. They even supplied a packed lunch if you were going out for the day. Hotel it's self was clean and kepf very well. Bar staff were friendly and kept us entertained. The 3 pools were immaculately clean and although freezing due to time of year we did use them through out the week. All in all we had a lovely week and believe that it is great value for money as we booked an all inclusive deal.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank sophie14kane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel was full of children. Several coach loads per day and they were rude. Bathroon and toilet not cleaned for a week. Balcony doors filthy. Cleaner rude and refused clean towels and toilet roll. Staff in dining hall extremley rude. Would never stay at this hotel, if ypu could call it that again. More like a hostel for underage children. Teachers monitoring children were drunk. Not a pleasurable holiday. Pool was hosed down with sand from poolside.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelligauci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I really don't know what is wrong with some people this hotel does not deserve these bad reviews!!! … this hotel may be dated but is very clean staff very friendly … ok rooms are very small … entertainment is not the best but for what you are paying this is a good 3 star hotel… we have had a great time and would visit again for the price…
keep your mind open and remember what you paid don't bother with the 4star over the road as its the same… also worth going on the evening trip to the castle was really good and food was great..

overall a good cheap break well worth the money….

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just come back from a five day break. If your happy with basic but clean rooms with a tv and a balcony then this is the place for you. Food was really good and me and my partner always found something nice to eat and we have very different tastes in food. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I was really worried reading some of the earlier reveiws but was pleasently surprised by my experience. Dont go expecting anything more that 3 star and you will be happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here end of March 2014 for a week and the place is fine. I can't believe just how negative some of the reviews are of this place - for the money that you pay this is exactly what you should hope for. I paid £300 for a weeks all inclusive (including flights) for 2 people so I wasn't expecting the Hilton!
Positive things:
The place is really clean - they are constantly cleaning and clean your room every day - clean sheets and towels.
The staff are friendly and helpful if a little slow to act sometimes.
The food is plentiful and on the whole pretty good. Good variety. If you can't find anything good to eat here then you must be a very fussy eater. We had beef, pork, chicken, rabbit, veal and fish during our time there. Every meal there is something good to eat.
The town of Calella is really lovely. Not far from Barcelona - easy drive or train ride. Easy walk to the beach.
Great Shower. Plenty of soap and shower gel provided.
Negative things:
Rooms aren't very well sound proofed so could be a problem if you are a light sleeper.
The rooms look dated by modern standards (but are clean)
The small cups you get for drinks - you have to keep going for refills at lunch and dinner.
Lots of school parties (wasn't a problem for us but could get noisy)
Don't even think about getting 4 people into a room!!! Room is big enough for 2 only.
Beds are 2 large singles rather than a double which drift apart.
Parking is very limited.
Wifi is not free - costs 20 euros a week.
No TV remote control - not many channels.

Room Tip: Avoid any floor with a school party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Absolutely great, cant believe the negative reviews, friendly staff, great food, clean and tidy. would definately stay again. For the price you pay its brilliant value. Enjoyed it very much. For all the haters if you want Hilton quality pay the price, for the price this is unbeatable! Thankyou to all the staff for a pleasant experience, we saw the way people behaved after drinking too much "free" beer etc, if they showed a little respect to the other staff and guests im sure their holiday would be so much better! Send my best to the tall thin guy behind the bar with glasses (sorry i dont know his name) tell him Mr Gareth said hello! All the best for a good season. Bon Dia!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#3 of 43 in Calella
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Olympic

Address: Carrer de Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: $31 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Olympic hotel is in a quiet residential area of Calella in Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east Spain), just 350 metres away from the beach. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated at 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport. Calella is a family tourist destination, a lively city where you will find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife. Calella boasts its own mini train that circles the town during the summer and stops right outside the hotel, so getting around couldn’t be easier. Clients from H·TOP Olympic can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offer sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. The classical 517-room H·TOP Olympic provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • 2 Social rooms (billard and recreatives) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools (three for adults and one for children) • Sun terraces • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* • Discounts Bar Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Olympic Calella
Hotel h Top Olympic
h Top Olympic Hotel
Hotel Olympic Calella
h Hotel Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing