We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plesantly suprised after negatie reviews”
Review of H.TOP Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H.TOP Olympic
Ranked #38 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked this holiday as an allocation on arrival and 3 days before my hotel name was revealed, the first thing I did was come onto this site to read the reviews which were horrifying!! When we arrived at 12pm on the Friday evening there were lots of teenagers hanging around by the front of the hotel and I thought here we go.... but we entered the hotel, the reception staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful, our room was small and the beds were very close together but we didn't go on holiday to spend all our time in the hotel room anyway, it was also cleaned daily and the air conditioning was great.
The hotel has 4 pools, there are plenty of sunbeds (a little close together), the area is clean and well maintained, there were lots of rules for the children these included no balls, diving or inflatable's in the main pool.
The restaurant was ok during breakfast, lunch and dinner but snacks were disappointing, lots of drinks were included with the all inclusive including cocktails, kids cocktails and all the normal spirits etc, lots of people were complaining about the card system used at the bars but to be honest it worked fine for us.
The entertainment was good, our highlights were the kids foam party, pool games, the magic show and the reptile show.
All in all I feel for the money we paid we got good value for money, any noise was dealt with quickly by the onsite security staff and the hotel was very clean and offered everything you need for a cheap week in the sun. If you want anymore then you should book 5 star and pay a 5 star price.

Room Tip: if you are a family I think the high floors are better and probably at the end of a corridor away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bojang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is horrible! Me 18, sister 16 , mum 50 and dad 51 came here for a relaxing holiday, and that is not what we got! There is two clubs right next to this hotel, till about 4 in the morning there is idiot in car screaming every night, stupid little girls outside are rooms shouting and being so disrespectful, beds we're like sleeping on rocks; staff had no manner and we was given no information! to get a drink you have to have two silly little card to make sure they get there cups back and the worst of all the food was disgraceful, cold everyday and had no flavour to it! I wouldn't give food like that to my dog! So if you want a holiday where you have no sleep, bad back every morning, treated like a child and to starve yourself; this is the place to go!

Room Tip: Move to the H.Top Calella Palace Hotel so much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwynith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Well , we are 4 average,women 36-53, who fancied a couple of days away as a treat to relax away from our jobs and just get a little sunshine .
We are far from snobs or 5* travellers but ...... Omg ..The Olympic . On a positive it's clean.
The room was tiny with twin beds,then a camp bed either side, 4 beds with no gaps pushed together , patio door would only open a few inches because the bed was so close to it. Furniture ( well bed side table ) stood on what I guess was supposed to be dressing table as no room for it . Electrics ...... Turn off at the main switch before using any sockets as scarey sparks fly when plugging anything in otherwise. Bathroom clean. Sheets cleen.
Walls sooo thin , we now know all about the problems the people in the next room have at home !! Invest in industrial ear plugs if your planning on getting any sleep.
Food , same every meal , cold and tasteless but others seemed to manage to keep filling their plates . Drinks , well I'm no drinker really so didn't bother me but I can see that if you wanted to get in the holiday "spirit" you would need to spend your holiday money in a bar somewhere else.
Oh the bar..... Serves coffee from a machine in the day ..... And that's where we got robbed. 2 men ( clearly professional pickpockets) , 1 sat down near us , looked just like a resident, another man walked up after a couple of mins , distracted us by asking where the toilets where and pretending not to understand us while the one who was sat down whipped a handbag. The positive ( not that there is one) thing was that the reception staff rang police immediately and they arrived in seconds and had CCTV . Police were great and to be fair hotel staff but it became obvious this was a regular occurrence . No one warned us and we are not naive , irresponsible women to hold your handbag with both hands at all times .
It really is a mixture of Jeremy Kyle and shameless . We counted the hours down till we left there . Students of varying nationalities appear to favour this hotel ( hundreds of them ). Our advice would be pay a bit more and get a lot better. Never will we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freethea34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food awful no varity, stale bread rolls, greasy.
Room had mould in and took the hotel over a day to sort.
Not much for children to do at all!
Very loud at night from the nightclub next door.
Bar staff were friendly.
Room arrangements were just put 3 beds in a row.

Thank jodankels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went for a quiet few days..... its an 18-30 venue... very outdated, staff mostly rude and unhelpful and tiny pool, food was just about eatable. expect to que for everything and lots of screaming overexcited teenagers having room parties. Drinks watered down when you get them. Outside terraces way to small and dingy. Good luck if you go there, expect to be dissapointed.
Karen 40 single traveller

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen-ann-eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

me and my boyfriend (18, 20) have just got back after a totally amazing holiday, all thanks to this hotel. Initially we were worried as the reviews were bad but we just wanted a cheap all inclusive week away, and this hotel gives you just that. Although, .I'm not denying that the whole place needs a refurb, tbh you cant go wrong with unlimited food and alcohol, and me and my boyfriend had a blast. They do different cocktails every day for free on all inclusive which were delicious, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean despite the awful decor. One major highlight was that under all inclusive we got major discount on excursions and had an amazing day in barcelona including tickets for Camp Nou (barcelona football stadium) and visiting the important monuments for 35 euros instead of 55 like it was when we looked on Calella's highstreet. Perfect. The location is brilliant as its only like a 3 minute walk to the strip and the beautiful beach, the riera cafe on the left also do brilliant crepes, but the food in the hotel was so good that we didn't need to go out for dinner or anything at all. There is variety every day but still with the basics of chips salad vegetables and some form of meat. Could do with more ranges of pudding but there was plenty of food, not to mention burgers etc in between dinner times, so me and my boyfriend were just constantly eating.. Also the kids entertainment was cute, not really our thing but there was so many families there and they all were having a great time so.. Oh, go to the HTOP Blue Bar! its actually on the beach and does the most exquisite cocktails for HALF PRICE. Yum. Its even 20% off after 7pm, brilliant night out with entertainment there also! And in the day the pools are really good, especially the main one with the waterfall, but if thats too busy there are two more round the front that are more suited to people who want a quiet day. There's a bar outside by the main pool also :) So overall, we had an amazing holiday despite the reviews and the awful decor (just outdated really) oh and they dont do double beds but you can just push two together!, you get what you pay for! Ignore the people expecting a 5* hotel! PS get a room on the 7th floor as they put all the rowdy kids together at the bottom, and keep your aircon on to block out the noise but it wasn't even that loud at all. Also you can go to any of the other HTOP hotels which are a next door, HTOP Palace also has hottubs on the roof where only adults are allowed, really relaxing. Good hotel, would probably go back!

Room Tip: Pick one on the 7th floor! Much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollie381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Olympic, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

It is a great pleasure to greet you again to thank you for your participation in Tripadvisor and your nice positive comments.
It would be a big pleasure for us to meet up with you in our hotel chain again in your future vacation time.
Please, do not hesitate to contact us for any further information you may need. We shall be glad to assist you in any way we can.
Your sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked in with my 9 year old daughter, 3 o'clock in the morning someone was kicking the door and trying to get in! When I opened the door was attacked by numerous youths, obviously retaliated and packed our bags and approached reception to request to be moved? They apologised and moved me to the 7th floor which was much better. The morning after I was approached by staff and quizzed about the damage caused to the door? I explained and asked why I was booked into a German 18-30 hotel with a 9 year old ???? Food was terrible and drinks service was a joke, I watched the kids entertainment and had 4 drinks in 2 hours, all inclusive/value for money? I don't think so! I put out the towels on the balcony to dry and came back to find no towels and 2 empty pizza boxes! Seven floors up!!!!!,!,!,!,!,!,!,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jai1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#10 of 43 in Calella
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#11 of 43 in Calella
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
459 reviews
4.7 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bon Repos
Hotel Bon Repos
#29 of 43 in Calella
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Olympic

Address: Carrer de Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: $30 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star H·TOP Olympic hotel is in a quiet residential area of Calella in Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east Spain), just 350 metres away from the beach. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated at 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport. Calella is a family tourist destination, a lively city where you will find plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and nightlife. Calella boasts its own mini train that circles the town during the summer and stops right outside the hotel, so getting around couldn’t be easier. Clients from H·TOP Olympic can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offer sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. The classical 517-room H·TOP Olympic provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • 2 Social rooms (billard and recreatives) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools (three for adults and one for children) • Sun terraces • Souvenirs/gift shop Children • Miniclub • Playground • Baby cots and chairs Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange • Car hire • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage (coin lockers) • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* • Discounts Bar Beach Club *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your H.TOP Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Olympic Calella
Hotel h Top Olympic
h Top Olympic Hotel
Hotel Olympic Calella
h Hotel Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing