We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H.TOP Olympic
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Esplai(Calella)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,544)
Filter reviews
2,544 results
Traveler rating
142
417
638
442
905
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
417
638
442
905
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 2,544 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having read all the reviews before going,we thought,surely it can not be that bad? how wrong we were!!!...You are greeted by a very run down drab exterior,no flowers or brightness,peeling paint and rotting window frames,a depressing smokers patio and absolutely no one smiling...in short,nothing inviting... With the exception of a few (one on reception and the cleaners) ALL the staff are rude and sullen,it appears EVERYTHING is too much trouble for them,the bar staff are the worst,all the time people were coming away from the bar shaking their heads and angry because they had more than two people in there party but were only allowed two drinks,good luck if you have children with you!!! also be prepared to be called a "poota" (not sure of the spelling,but i am led to believe from a spanish friend it translates to,son of a b**ch),this insult was directed at many people who dared to question them...excellent customer service!!!!!....The food was bland and repetative,if you love salad (the same salad) everyday,the meat dishes are best described as...umm...well,a guessing game,look out for the pidgeons in wheelchairs on "chicken" drumstick day!!!...The rooms are very basic with very little privacy as others have said....Having read through the reviews,both the newer and older ones,i wonder if the good reviewers went to the same place as us?..It just seems that the attitude of this place is "youve paid your money,we have it and we dont care,if you want to pay more money then we might treat you a little better".... As a 3* hotel regardless of price paid,i expect a reasonable service,not to be constantly told what i can or cannot do...no drinks in your rooms.no smoking on the outside patio until 8am,no goin near the pool until they unlock it at 10am,no more than 1 very weak drink at a time (and no,they will not mix their generic tia maria/baileys or any other shorts mix to make 1 drink,this is strictly forbidden) its all no no no,just be a little more flexible...after all,all of those "pootas" pay your wages,.....Now,having said all that,i do understand that they have a long season dealing with "chavs" of EVERY nationality (we certainly had our share whilst there) who go there just for the beer and to get drunk but please dont judge everyone as the same..If you do have the misfortune of ending up here your best bet is to go to the callela palace every day,so much more inviting/clean/friendly and better laid out,just use the council bloke olympic as somewhere to sleep...The only good thing about this holiday were the lovely people we met,so thank you mo/ martin,chris/man city jess,lorraine/dierdri,kevin and family,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jackychimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

i stayed from the 30th September til 7th October!

Basically you get what you pay for. People moaning are the ones who pay for a 3* hotel but expect a 5* GET A GRIP!

Okay so the hotel may not have been state of the art but it was clean! and the maids cleaned our room and changed our beds EVERY DAY! however i would like to ask those moaning that their beds didnt get changed everyday, how many of you change your sheets every day at home hmm?

Yes you did get given a card to trade for a glass at the bar but i can completly understand why to be honest it kept the bar area looking tidy and meant their wasnt the danger of broken glass everywhere or the poolside being cluttered with plastic cups why winge you only could have one glass at a time? YOU ONLY HAVE ONE MOUTH!

The staff were not rude at all! The bar staff were friendly and Ray the enterainment guy was a great laugh and was helpful in pointing out good places to go at night!

Yes the pool bar was closed but i would like to point out but get a life! it was end of season if you cant be bothered to walk to the bar might i suggest you go during peak season!

Sorry the food wasnt exciting enough for some people but i thought it was fine. They have to cater for everyone and did so just fine!

I was a little nervous about coming on this holiday because of the reviews i had read but was massivly suprised when i got there so do not listen to the absolute RUBBISH coming out these peoples mouths!

WOULD DEFINATLY GO AGAIN!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been to some grotty hotels (1* in the heart of Ibiza San Antonio for example) but this is bar far the worst. On arrival we were told we had to go for tea then and there and leave our bags in the luggage room. Once finally allowed to our room we found ants in the bath and bed after complaining we were told that someone would be sent up, they did not sort this until we complained 3 more times the next two days. Food was terrible even for a 3* all inclusive. Staff were rude. The drinks system is terrible you need two cards per person to get one drink at a time. Entertainer lasted 20 mins a night. Would never recommend this hotel but like me I didn't check it out before booking. Would advise that you are able to go to other h top hotels there is one just next to the hotel 4* lovely pool, you can go on the roof and sunbathe with 3 hot tubs! You have to book a day in advance for food but its worth it. McDonald's is just down the road too!! Beach is ok. Town gets nice after a walk further in.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chotto20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked a week here in September to get some sunshine, but was dismayed then to read several of the reviews. However I thought I must send in a review to balance them out - it was ok, and reasonable for a budget hotel. We found the staff very nice and helpful, in contrast to other reviews, and wehen we arrived at 11.15pm we had a cold dinner awating us, with a microwave to use if we wanted any of it heated. The meal was about 1000 cals, in comparison with our only other experience of late arrival in Tossa, whe we got a 150 calorie meal. The rooms were attended to daily, not huge but big enough, and the facilities fine. The food was adequate - no more - but had our budget not extended to dining out, we would have been ok with tha half-board we had booked. As it was we had breakfast and an evening starter in the hotel. Even the noise problem seemed a myth until the arrival of a German student party with two nights to go - we were up till 4 a.m. with them, but when I complained, the manager promised to speak to the teachers, and it was much better the next night. Depends on the teachers, I suppose. So overall, good value as a budget hotel, and i was very relieved how my fears in reading other reviews were not realised.

Room Tip: about half the rooms face the ront of the hotel and the beach - nos. 1-37 (approx) on each floor, and you get sunshine all day long on these balconies. We were on the first floor and heard nothing from the bar below.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacAoidh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just returned from a 5night stay and was dreading going after all the reviews on here,we got the hotel at a good cheap price so did not expect much,but was not as bad as some make out yes it's dated but kept clean all staff friendly and work hard,yes some people mostly English where always moaning at the slightest thing.
Food was a good selection fresh veg salad meat fish you could always find something to eat,it is a very busy hotel so of course a few queues where possible any where in hotel but the staff worked hard to keep them from getting too long ,as for the drinks I don't think they where watered down as plenty of happy folk about.we would go back if we got it at a good price.most of the people we talked to would choose to come back again too so it can't be that bad

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews