We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of GHT Hotel Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GHT Hotel Maritim
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice hotel,nice food,terrible locations!!!
Busy road around and train rail by the beach!!!
Forget about quiet holiday!
Staff speak not very good english,so its problem with comunications.
You cant pay by credit or debit card in hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask about room with swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Maritim in Calella or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    160
    84
    20
    12
See reviews for
118
167
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the martim Hotel and i have to say that we had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We did not have a seaview but our view was from Calella park at the top of the hill, which was nice. We only spent our time sleeping so the view was adequate for us. Clara rand all the children's activities and she was so nice and the children loved her and always rant to her when she arrived, which put parents very much at ease. There was water aerobics every morning which I enjoyed and free kayaking came with the hotel too. The pool is a perfect size for children. The food was good and there was a very good choice of cerals, hot and cold foods for the breakfast and dinner. The catalan special was excellent on Thursday night. There was one downside, you had to buy your drinks with your meal and the water was 3/4 times the price from the shops. They could provide jugs of water, which was not possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevertongreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Maritim in Calella or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived back from the Maritim Hotel on 1st August 2012 after 7 nights stay. I was very pleased to find that after requesting a sea view with balcony when booking, that this was granted at no extra charge. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is very clean, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the facilities were very good and the hotel offers fantastic views from the rooftop terrace. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meals and I disagree with other guests comments on the food as there was always a good selection and if you couldn't find something to suit from the hot buffet the cold buffet would more than make up for it. I don't think you can expect English food in a Spainish hotel; I found they catered a little bit for everyone but still kept to their spanish cuisine which was excellent. On the morning we left we was given a complimentary packed lunch to take with us as we were leaving before breakfast which was fresh, tasty and more than adequate. The hotel thinks of everything. Also there are two lifts, one of which was a glass one on the outside of the building, which I felt more comfortable in as it was far less claustraphobic and again great views. The only downside to our stay was the noise during the night and the early hours, of other guests either arriving or departing the hotel. Also, we were woken up a few times in the early hours by rowdy groups of teenagers around the hotel. The location was great, the train was no bother infact we used it to visit Barcelona. The beach though was a little disappointing as the sand was grainy and hard to walk on. We managed the week without a television as I disagreed with paying a deposit for the remote control even though it was refundable as I don't see why this was necessary.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Maritim in Calella or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

just came back from a 4 night stay at hotel maritim hotel on the 30/08/12
facilities at the hotel were brilliant from the roof top terrace with jacuzzi to the indoor spa and sauna
rooms were clean and suitable with air conditioning. we requested a double and recieved a double with a sea view. i would recommend paying extra for this as we heard other guests saying that the non-sea view rooms had awful views. we did pay 20 euro for the remote but this was not an problem for us. the room has'nt a fridge so bear in mind for drinks, oh and the bath was tiny but this is being picky.
receptionist staff were always pleasant and polite. other staff struggled with english as this feels a very continental hotel.
excellent location.
the only issue i have with this hotel was the food there was different salad, meat, fish and desert choices every day but it doesnt cater to the english palate, this could be because we were not very adventureous, on the first night there was veal, pink burgers ! white fish , chips (greasy) Watery mash and some tomatoey dish there was also a pasta dish which we did go for in the end! we swapped our dinners for lunches on the half board option and ate out in the evening in the end but lunch was very much the same!
overall i would recommend this hotel to any one, but would say go for bed and breakfast !

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tambo0280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

It's a shame that meals was not of your complete satisfaction, as most of our guest finds our variety and quality very good.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We went on the 24/6/12 for five nights..The hotel was extremely clean, the staff were very nice and helpful..The cleaner cleaned our room every day..she was lovely my daughter took a shine to her... and the children entertainers were brilliant..very patient with the little ones..The roof terrace was excellent and we had that to ourselves most of the time..Air conditioning was excellent ,It was in an excellent location for everything... We would recommend vistiting Marineworld for the day we had a great time.. The breakfasts were great, lots of choice..The dinner was excellent for adults but could have done with a little more variety for children... Overall great experience in this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juliageorgia3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate and thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Maritim in Calella or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is nice but be very careful when given the room: I suggest paying an extra 10 euro per day for a room with sea view because you risk getting a room with a view of the next building's wall. Also, although specified in previous comments, a very strange and primitive request was that of giving 20 euro guarantee for the remote control - it felt very cheap and demeaning, like we were animals or something. Furthermore, keep in mind that the room does not have a mini-bar/fridge.
The room is tiny, but clean and comfortable. The food was good, but at dinner not even a glass of water was provided (maybe I am too accustomed to all inclusive :D and have too high expectations). Overall, this hotel was a good choice, well worth the money, close the to train station to Barcelona (FYI it takes 1 hour to get to Barcelona with the train because it has many stops and a tick to Barcelona and back is 8 euro).

PS: BARCELONA IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor have quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teodora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Maritim in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. Also say that we take note about things are not of your complete satisfaction and look forward to see you soon at one of our establishments strategically located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family & I (Mum, Dad, me, my 3 year old son, my brother - 22 & my parent's 2 foster kids-13 & 17) went on a rugby trip to watch Wigan Warriors against Catalan Dragons in Montpellier & we stayed at Hotel Maritim for 5 days. It was ok, the food was very greasy at breakfast time & there was limited choice for kids. My suggestion would be to serve chicken nuggets and fish fingers at tea time instead of at breakfast time! Tea time was lovely apart from the choice for kids. The rooms were clean & the beds were comfy. My Mum hurt her ankle whilst we were here so we went to get some ice to help the swelling and we were charged €1 for a pint glass of ice! My son loved the pool & the pizzas from the snack bar were very good. Overall, a good stay!

Room Tip: There are lifts to all floors so being high up shouldn't be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#8 of 43 in Calella
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHT Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHT Hotel Maritim

Property: GHT Hotel Maritim
Address: Carrer del Mar 2 | Passeig Les Roques, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Calella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GHT Hotel Maritim 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your GHT Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calella Maritim Hotel
Maritim Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing