We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly and value for money”
Review of Aparthotel Safari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Safari
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Sutton, surrey, uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean, friendly and value for money”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have just returned from a 7 day stay (honeymoon) as a last minute deal. I was aprehensive as most reveiws mentioned lots of noise but i was impressed with the cleanlyness, well presented apartments. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff and the Safari resturant and staff were hard to beat. there was enough kitchen equipment to self cater if this is what you want to do.
There was some noise from the nightclub at the front of the building but found that earplugs did the trick and it did not happen every night.

Room Tip: if noise would be an issue, request a back or side appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
19
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from these apartments which are extremely clean with very friendly staff. BUT the nightclub spoiled the whole holiday. There were 8 in out party and we are all extremely social and love to party but the noise when we went to bed was relentless. We were still awake at 6.30 on Saturday and there were still people outside shouting, fighting and generally making noise! I was amazed to see the bouncers joining in instead of asking them just to go home! We appreciate young ones like to keep these hours and could give them a good run for their money but there are limits!!! We have returned exhausted instead of rested and would not return there because of this. Its a shame because the staff are lovely and could not do enough for us and the rooms whilst basic were spotless.

We were told the club has been reported on numerous occasions to the Mayor without success and all the signs in the world asking for people to respect the locals are a waste of time!!

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back otherwise take ear plugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay in these apartments. The interior of both the room and communal areas were very clean and well presented. Our apartment was on the 4th floor (lift provided) which was at the front of the building overlooking the road and unfortunately, the Kaval nightclub.
The room had a separate living area, with table, 4 chairs, electric hob, fridge, toaster, cutlery, crockery and kettle. There was no oven or microwave. Also, there was no hairdryer.
The bathroom was spotless with plenty of hot water. Towels were changed twice in the week and the sheets changed once. A problem with a mattress was dealt with immediately.
The staff were charming and very helpful & friendly. We had to pay a 50euro deposit for the room, 5euros for a TV remote and 25euros for use of the in-room safe (5euro refundable). We were given a map of the resort and a 10% discount card for the restaurant.
The downside of our stay was the noise from the nightclub opposite, which opened at approx 10pm and was still letting people in at 4.30am! We could not hear the music as most of the time the door was closed but as mentioned in previous reviews, it is definitely the place for people to gather outside and they were very loud! We mentioned this to the reception staff who told us that it was just the weekends that this happened but unfortunately, this was not the case. We were offered to move if a room at the back became available but because we had one of the larger apartments and had settled in, we declined and resorted to earplugs, with only partial success!
Because all rooms had patio doors (no air conditioning) getting some air into the rooms meant opening the doors, which increased the noise levels.
The apartments themselves appeared quiet and we saw no more than three or four people during our stay. However, I think that we were just lucky, as I think these are apartments suited for younger holidaymakers, who would enjoy having so much night life nearby. I think the resort is just getting ready for the season and there are other nightclubs surrounding the apartments which did not appear to be fully open yet, so this could increase the noise levels.

Overall, this was a quick, budget getaway for us so expectations were not high! However, the staff and cleanliness of all areas were to be commended.
Getting to Barcelona was easy on the train. Blanes was worth a visit. We also booked an excursion to Montserrat from the reception staff and other trips could also be booked through them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The simple clean modernised one bedroom apartment we stayed in was really a large studio with twin beds in a curtained off alcove, as well as a bed settee that turned into two comfortable singles. Two electric rings, a toaster and an electric kettle together with adequate cooking pots and pans meant we could easily self cater. No washing up brush, tea towel or liquid provided though so you might want to bring your own. The balcony is just big enough for a table and two chairs. The beach is less than 10 minutes walk away (not as much as1.5 kms as someone said!) as are a range of restaurants. Two small supermarkets are within one minute and a larger one within five. The train station is a 15 min walk with trains to Barcelona (about an hour away) every 20 mins or so. Staff speak good English and are charming and helpful. You do have to pay a 50 Euro deposit on arrival (which we persuaded them to take in sterling when we realised it depleted our rather tight Euro budget!). Even in October it can be a bit noisy at night outside - I imagine that's true for anywhere within 5 minutes of the beach along this coast. We were there for a folk festival and a band strolling home after a gig decided to bang their drums and play the trumpet all the way - at 3.00 a.m.! There is a small swimming pool but with the warm Med so close we didn't try it. The beach is endless - fairly gritty sand, but fine to walk/lie on. Swim suits seem to become more optional the further south towards the rocks you go! If you are flying in to Gerona, there is a very good and reasonable transfer service that will take you door to door. We booked that through Travel Republic. Overall, for the price, we thought it was great.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the street noise you might want a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RikkiDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I booked this hotel as every other hotel was fully booked this was the only one that would accomodate me for 6 days. It was the Barcelona Challenge triathlon so everywhere was busy.
The hotel is in between a shop and a restraunt so wasn't that noticable to start...I did eventually find it though! It was very basic at check in. I had a twin room on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. The beds were single but extremely small!!! I have bruises everywhere from where my knees/elbows/head/feel kept hitting the wall on a night time. When the maids came in all they done was change towels empty bins and provide more toilet roll.!! On the 6th day I had 5 rolls haha! One night a friend popped back with me to pick something up from the room and the little nightshift man was not happy...he was rude and followed me to my room. I expect he thought I'd just brought someone back for the night! I had no balcony either. The room was just not up to my standard...not the worst I've stayed in but I wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic1h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calella hotels

cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

it all depends on your travel dates ive found.it is a basic place to stay our first room was to high for my wife/vertigo/ the next room the odd job guy came in with us with a bucket of paint plus roller and did some touching up. ? any way good food down stairs.good prices nice staff small pool great location 5 mins to brill beach lots to do. nice town.weather wise 5 days of sun 2 days of down pours and thunder . oh had to wash cutlery and plates in room though. it didnt spoil our week wont visit this part of spain again because of the chances of rain

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altitudeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We arrived at the Safari at approx 8:30am by coach from the UK, and were greeted at reception by 2 very pleasant receptionists, fluent in English, German, French, Dutch and Spanish.
The Positives:
Although room was not available until after 1pm, we were offered storage for our luggage and valuables, which allowed us to wander about until we could check in to our room. In addition, we were given a card entitling us to a 10% discount in the attached restaurant.
The room was typical of a 2-3* studio apartment, with basic cooking facilities and an en suite bathroom plus balcony wwith a view towards the sea (although the sea was about 1.5km away), and was immaculately clean, we considered this to be good value for the rate that we paid.
Free wi-fi high speed internet (although connection dropped frequently) useful for keeping in touch.

The negatives:
It would appear that Calella is the disco capital of the Costa Brava, and that the road outside the Safari seems to be a meeting point for the hoardes of "Club 18-25" revellers from across Europe. At about midnight EVERY NIGHT, then again at about 3AM, and again at 5AM, the crowds of party-goers gathered outside our accomodation, and to say they were loud would be an understatement! It was impossible to sleep with literally hundreds of teenagers shouting, screaming, laughing and singing at the tops of their voices for about an hour at a time whilst making transitions between disco's. Add to this the sound of dozens of cars and small motor scooters revving their engines and hooting their horns, and sleep was not an option.
I have nothing against young folk enjoying themselves, in fact I was also a teenager once, but PLEASE try to think of those who are trying to sleep and keep it down to a dull roar!!!
The staff offered to move us, but this woulkd have been to an apartment overlooking the inner courtyard, and without a balcony, so we opted to stay and suffer in silence.
The accomodation, as I have said, was basic and clean, and represented good value for the price, but I would not recommend it to middle-aged couples or young families. On the other hand, it is ideal for disco-freaks :)
Calella offers a long beach, but the "sand" is in fact sharp gravel, and very unpleasant to walk or lie on, plus there is a very steep slope into the sea, making it unsuitable for non-swimmers or younger children. We walked along the promenade most evenings, and stopped off at one or more of the beach-bar cafes for refreshments, and the commercial centre of the town has everything you would expect in a medium sized town, and is easily reached using the "Thomas" type road train, which did a return trip about every 20 minutes from the Safari to the town centre and railway station for €2.10 return or €1.60 single.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottyrafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Miami Park
Aparthotel Miami Park
#12 of 43 in Calella
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
406 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Safari

Property: Aparthotel Safari
Address: Ave Valldebanador 18, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aparthotel Safari 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Safari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing