We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned as promised......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Volga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Volga
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Returned as promised......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Following our experience in June, we returned for a week in September.

This time we were not so lucky with our room allocation, and despite paying a supplement to our holiday company in the belief that for a supplement you would get a better room, this time we were allocated a room overlooking the adjacent school. The hotel confirmed that the room we were allocated would not have been any different if we had not paid this additional supplement. My immediate concern before even seeing the room was that we would be woken early in the morning by noise from the school, but the Reception staff assured us this would not be the case. Wrong........!!!!!!!!

There were more staff around in the Dining Room, so getting drinks was not a problem this time and the staff were marshalled very effectively by the excellent José. Food again was excellent both in terms of quality and quantity.

So yes, we were disappointed with our room allocation and I would personally reiterate to anybody staying here to ensure that you have a room overlooking the pool area. Booking direct with the Hotel might alleviate this concern but I have to say I was disturbed with the attitude of the Reception staff and their lack of sympathy to our worries - especially bearing in mind that we were returning customers. The final insult was that we were told on arrival that we couldn't be moved to another room "because the Hotel is full", but as the discussion developed it apppeared that we could get a move for an additional €14.00 per night. I still can't work that one out but the Hotel clearly wasn't full !!

Room Tip: Again, I would say get a room overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    128
    45
    8
    2
See reviews for
103
180
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have used the Volga several times at various times of the year,always on a coach tour.Good location away from the noisy clubs and pubs,near rail station but the noise is not really noticable.Excellent restaurant well managed and plentiful.We last went a fortnight ago(June) didn,t seem to be many staff on duty probably still early in the season,it was difficult to get a drink order to coincide with the time you had your meal.Reception staff were friendly and helpful,Bar service was efficient which is unusual for a spanish bar in our experience.There were Russian familieswho to our surprise were bringing thier own vodka into the hotel grounds and consuming it without being challenged.Entertainment in the evenings was good for the time of the year.The young lady running the daytime entertainment programme worked very hard with a relatively small number of guests who showed a willingness to participate.The pool area is not too spacious but the Volga have thier own beach club which makes up for this. All in all a gem of a hotel that we will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Room facing pool at least floor 4 or above for seaviews and a little less noise from outside seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anneo541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Agree with most of the comments made previously. Fabulous location, near to the beach and station but away from the busy part of Calella. Rooms cleaned daily and ours had a great view overlooking the pool area although I am glad we weren't in a room facing the other way. The food selection is enormous, my only negative comment would be that whilst the service staff are extremely hard working, there are not enough of them to service the amount of diners - hence obtaining drinks at dinner could be difficult. We solved this by buying ours from the bar before dinner and taking them down with us. We would agree that Jose who is in charge of the restaurant is exceptional in his efforts to please. The entertainment programme is OK, the hotel try to provide a varied selection of evening entertainment but in some ways it can only be as good as the audience - we had a quiet group of guests whilst we were there so the evenings were similarly quiet. We will certainly be returning later this year as we feel we have unearthed a diamond.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I spent 6 nights in this hotel in Sept.2011. Overall the hotel is very good value for money. It has a downstairs restaurant which does tend to get very hot. However! the food is very good & plentiful with a large choice of dishes.
Our room was overlooking the pool area and tended to be quite noisy at times.There is a railway track just outside the hotel but! caused no problems at all.

General condition of the hotel was quite good, Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Select a twin room on a, upper floor,on the south side, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99CEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Volga as he was participating in the Barcelona Half-Challenge taking place on the 27th May. On arrival although I had requested a sea view room I ended up with a first floor room! The bedrooms could do with some updating although were kept spotlessly clean by the maids. The rooms have very thin walls, floors so it is very noisy at night when you are trying to sleep, we found this worse than the train station opposite! The food was very good and the restaurant staff excellent, especially the Head of Restaurant Jose. The only drawback was that there were many Russians there at the same time and they appear (apologies to the very nice Russian couple I spoke to) to be mostly rude and very loud!! Beach is not too far away and is quite nice and this is definitely the more residential end of Calella which suited us.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

The staff are great, very helpful and polite. The hotel is clean, food is good (wide range to choose from every night) and overall we thought it was 3 plus - we've given it four stars because it was such good value, staff were super and there was entertainment on if we wanted it. The hotel is opposite the train station and we didn't sleep well the first couple of nights with the noise (it's an early start too). Also, it's opposite a residential block of flats so location isn't great if you want a typical holiday maker type of break. It was a 15-20 min walk into town where there are more touristy bars and restaurants if you prefer those. We would go back because it suited us and you are only a train ride away from Barcelona which is worth a visit (about an hour on the train). Overall, worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have a sea view but it's not great. However, they are noisy as the train sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieM455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

First of all we were very happy when we arrived at Hotel Volga as we got the sea view which we requested. Rooms are nice and clean and spacious, in a good quiet area with the high street only around the corner. Trainline is opposite the hotel and station is a 5min walk, trains are electric so no noise only the odd announcement, also very handy to go to other beaches if you wish or Barcelona City in 1hr direct. Restaurant is sophisticated and food is fantastic with a variety every night of different meats, seafood/fish, salads and lovely desserts.
The staff are brilliant they really went the extra mile to make our holiday, especially Jose and the rest of the restaurant staff. They really couldn't do enough, also must mention the 'Night Manager' (we think!) who got up early to make us a coffee on our last day as we would have missed breakfast and also arranged transport to our bus stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview or upgrade to a privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalmaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B El Pekinaire
B&B El Pekinaire
#3 of 43 in Calella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Florida Park
Hotel Florida Park
#5 of 21 in Santa Susanna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volga

Property: Hotel Volga
Address: C/ Jovara 350, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#2 Family Hotel in Calella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Volga 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Volga is located in the city center, about 50km from Barcelona and Girona. It is at 100m from the beach and 2 minutes from downtown, with shops, restaurants, bars and many tourist attractions. It's also near the train station, at only 50m, which connects with Barcelona city , the airport and around the coastal area, is the perfect place to relax and explore the area. The hotel has a pool and terrace with sun loungers, sun umbrellas and bar service, WIFI throughout the building, air conditioning, heating and parking (on request). We also have a spacious restaurant, you will find a Free buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as our famous Theme Nights. The hotel also offers a Beach Club on the Beach with special offers and promotions for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Volga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Volga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing