We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Was moved to this hotel last minute as my hotel was double booked it is the best hotel I have ever stayed clean tidy good food nice pool very helpful staff the only bad thing there was not any English there apart from my family but we made very well come by the other guest I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ataylor10_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    144
    31
    10
    5
See reviews for
144
158
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genk, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

we stayed in this hotel from May 27 untill June 1st and we enjoyed it very much : the food is great with a lot of choice morning, lunch and dinner. The 2 ladies (kind of 'chefs') in the restaurant talk with everyone and make you feel at home.
The rooms are very good;, the swimming pool is nice and the outside jacuzzi is very popular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for one week at the hotel and were overall very satisfied with our stay.

Thins we didn't like that much:
- The air conditioning didn't work during our stay since they only activate it in summer. Therefore, we had to sleep with the windows open (and since there was quite some noise coming from the street at night, sleeping was somewhat difficult)
- The refrigerator wasn't connected and for it to work, you had to rent it for 15€ a week if I'm correct
- The television was very small (not that it bothered us that much, but just to let you know ;-))

Things we absolutely enjoyed:
- First of all, the hotel is ideally situated at just 2 minutes walking from the beach, and some rooms even have sea views, so that's really nice
- The swimming pool area was completely refurbished and they even had a jacuzzi installed (we didn't see one on the pictures the other members posted). The water in the swimming pool was rather cold, but the temperature of the jacuzzi was ideal!
- The hotel is very clean, the floor of our room was cleaned on a daily basis, and also the floors, tables, etc. of the rest of the hotel were spotless
- The food was good, there was enough choice for everyone (during breakfast and supper they even had a 'diet corner')
- We were extremely satisfied with the staff, especially at the restaurant. We were staying with a diabetic at the hotel, so when we told the restaurant staff they always came with special diabetic cookies without sugar without us even having to ask for it (a big thanks to Lelie and Maria of the restaurant for this!). Also, the came to greet us and ask us how we were doing every day. There also was a disabled person staying at our hotel at the same time, and they really took very well care of him as well. Also, the waiters at the bar were very sympathic.

Overall, as I stated before already, we were very satisfied with our stay, and we hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with seaside views; since they aren't located at the street side, they will be mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiguelMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

i stayed in kaktus for years ago with my twin boys and my sisters the hotel is very clean
the staff are friendly the pool is small if you have a room with the sea view its amazing.
but if you want to swim on that beach its dangerous as you step and after its really deep i wouldn't reccomand it for guests with children as believe me its dangerous in addition its not a sundy beach its a rock beach and the hotel is more for old people then for couple and parents with young kids.
so if you want to go for a good swim its better to go to benidorm on the bus we rented a car so i don't know the price.
the hotel food is really nice variety and for for people who likes fish fridays is the special day for fish and paela ...
my advise is to rent a car for one or two days to visit the attraction park its a lot of walking but its a must
so overall i enjoyed my stay apart from the dangerous beach

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamia70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

nice hotel good location food good but restaurant under staffed coffee stations like musical chairs one would have coffee no cups another cups no coffee food would run out. Not enough information followed instructions on safe and fridge in room to find out you need special key you have to pay for. Was told there was parking when booking when got there was told no parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no2martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Kaktus Playa is a large Hotel,it has a large bar area with plenty of comfortable seating to relax in and watch the evening entertainment.The staff I found to be very friendly and helpful,the restaurant staff were very welcoming and engaging,always with a smile on their faces.The food was very good,I particually liked dinner,plenty of choice,something for everyone.My room was fine (708)the maid came in every day to clean and change the towels.The Hotel is just 5 minutes away from the beach,I would stop in this Hotel again if Holidaying in Calella.

Room Tip: I always personally prefer a room on a high floor.My room 708 looked out across the city,so the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Tips: Transport... it was a bit tricky getting to the Calella from barcelona Airport due to train from Barcelona Airport not working. In the end, took the Airport Bus to Playa Cataluna, and Metro (Underground) to Clot, and an Overland train from El-Clot to Calella. Total journey time about 1h45 mins.

We ate at some lovely restuarants... the best was some Roast Chicken & Grilled Lamb at the 5 Star Restaurant called: Casa Carlos (Price for 2 People with a jug of Sangria, £35).

We also had a really delicious 5 Star Paella (The Speacial Paella) at a restuarant called: Junior Restaurant Bar (Price for 2 People £35)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmileyBlue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
471 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#6 of 43 in Calella
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#9 of 43 in Calella
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#14 of 43 in Calella
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Playa

Property: Hotel Kaktus Playa
Address: Calle Gaudi 8, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calella
#1 Family Hotel in Calella
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kaktus Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Kaktus Playa is located in Calella, about 50m from the beach and 300m from the town center. There is a entertainment area, where you will find a wide variety of bars and restaurants. We also have a spacious restaurant where you will find a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as our famous Theme Nights. In the establishment you can enjoy a large pool, two bars, large screen TV for sports events and similar, sun terrace with garden, air conditioning and central heating, luggage, play area and a spa area (extra charge) where you can enjoy a heated pool, gym, Jacuzzi and Sauna. The hotel also offers a Beach Club on the Beach with special offers and promotions for hotel guests. For fun and entertainment of our guests, we provide entertainment several nights a week, such as live music, a spectacular Flamenco show or a show of Polynesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaktus Playa Calella
Kaktus Playa Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing