We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oktoberfest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Solna, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went with our orchestra to Calella for the annual Oktoberfest. We got located at this hotel and were quite pleased. Nice buffet (breakfast, lunch and dinner), reasonable walking distance to the beach, good pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the south/ocean since it's some traffic on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    254
    135
    46
    38
See reviews for
305
200
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were looking for a nice and cheap holiday and we found it at The Santa Monica Hotel! The hotel is very clean as is Calella itself. The bar staff and Entertainment team are extremely helpful and friendly and there was entertainment shows every evening (some much better than others!). We went all inclusive (for the first time and we will always go all inclusive from now on), the food was very good and plentiful - there is something for everyone even if you are a picky eater like me and the bar staff are not afraid to give double measures when ordering alcohol in the evening!!
After reading some reviews prior to our visit we emailed the hotel requesting a room on the 1st floor facing the pool area, we were extremely thrilled that this request was given to us (we stayed in room 118). The room was fantastic, big allday-sun facing balconies so have the option to sun bath all day if you wish especially as these rooms come with sun loungers on the balconies! There is also a train which stops outside the hotel to take you around Calella - well worth the 2.25Euro charge for a return ticket to take you into the main shopping area, there is also a market on Wednesday which is worth a look.
I would say we had a fantastic holiday here and very much enjoyed our stay and we would have paid more than the bargain we got this holiday for. After speaking to our neighbours at this hotel they had informed us that they had been going to this hotel for the last 20 year and we can see why we will definitely return for another holiday soon!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay on the 1st floor pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatDean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Santa Monica
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your holiday in this popular hotel and look forward to welcoming you back for your future holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed at Santa Monica for 10 days during September and had a great time. Bar staff were great as were the reception staff. Went All inclusive for first time and completely hooked. Food and service very good. Had trouble 1 evening with noisy neighbours but after complaining to reception the problem went away and no noise after that....well done reception manager. Last went 26 years ago but it won't be that long before we go back. Entertainment every evening and during the day. Thanks to everyone who made our holiday a very memorable one for the 4 of us, ALL the right reasons. Only 1 fault...........It rained on one of the day's.....lol

Ken & June

Room Tip: Not expensive but excellent value. Book a holiday....you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you decided to return to the Hotel Santa Monica after 26 years, and that you enjoyed your stay with us again this time. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just the biz from check in to check out rooms great large and cleaned daily. All staff are friendly helpful and work so dam hard pool views with partial see views are a must :/) the entertainment team are second to none fantastic to the end and fabulous with the kids bar staff. Monica Jose Ray and two others didn't catch there names are great always a smile and always make time to speak :/) try it u will love it

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with some trepidation following some of the reviews, however, we found the staff extremely friendly, the hotel was clean, had excellent facilities and although the food was not gourmet standard, was certainly very good for the money as was the range of drinks included in the all inclusive deal. In fact the only issue I found was many of the customers who were constantly moaning that the food was not exactly the same as the UK or that the staff had an accent ... my advise to them is to stay at home in future. To everyone else - go and get a great deal at this hotel.

Room Tip: Less than an hour from Barcelona - well worth a trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaP4412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review
We are pleased to hear that the Hotel Santa Monica ticked all the boxes for you and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was basic, but air conditioned, with a great shower and kept very clean daily. I'd recommend asking for a room at the front of the hotel rather than the side overlooking a building site. The food was good, with plenty of variety and well organised at mealtimes. The bar is great with generous measures and definitely a good idea to go all-inclusive. All the staff were friendly enough, Fernando is hilarious and the entertainment was better than expected, the Michael Jackson impersonator was especially excellent and I'm not that big a fan. The location is perfect, very close to lovely beaches, loads of shops and bars close by and only an hour on the train to Barcelona, which is well worth a look if you buy a 26 Euro ticket from the nearby train station, including an open top tour bus journey all around the city.

Room Tip: Front over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel very clean, staff very freindly, food very good only fly in ointment paper thin walls in rooms,people arriving and departing early morning mid day and late at night.
No trouble getting sunbed.
Entertain was ok our group won the free quiz four nights in a row but got fed up winning champagne!
Paulo in the restaurant was very efficient at seating people at tables we had same table 10 out of eleven evening meals food was plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.6 mi away
ALEGRIA Espanya
ALEGRIA Espanya
#6 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Address: Avda del Turisme 72 - 78, 08370 Calella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#6 Family Hotel in Calella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel
Santa Monica Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing