We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for families”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent 5 nights here last week , on an all inclusive package , rooms were clean but basic ,clean towels every day , pool area too small for a hotel of this size . food ok found something every day to our taste , location ok turn left outside, and the main part of Calella is about a 10 min stroll away . Beach 5 min stroll away . Bar staff were always smiling and very quick no queuing . Staff over all very nice and helpful . I would say that this is a good hotel for small families , they have a good animation team to look after the children .

Room Tip: First floor big balcanies with sun beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daiharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    266
    143
    48
    39
See reviews for
319
207
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I travelled with my daughter all staff very pleasant entertainment team brilliant Fernando and his team working from 10.30 am till midnight with poolside games through the day to there own shows at night keeping the hotel buzzing all day

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your holiday with us at the Hotel Med Playa Santa Monica.
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in this hotel or one of our other hotels in Mainland Spain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

spent a week from the 1st aug till the 8th aug room no 220 overlooking the pool. excellent food with lots of choice. kate who works on the reception (origionally from glasgow) was very helpfull with various places to visit and information with local train station information.
room was clean and well maintained.
would visit again after an excellent weeks holiday.
only down side was entertainment only suitable for children but being central to everything else, this did not make any difference to the holiday.

Room Tip: room no 220 overlooking the pool with a nice balcony.(2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and in particular that you mention Kate. We are particularly proud of our staff in Med Playa as they make every effort to ensure that our guests enjoy the very best holiday experience possible.
We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Restaraunt staff, great, food very good, in fact I would go so far as to say the Beef was the best I've ever had. Rooms fine, the balcony below us though had vomit on it when we arrived and it was still there when we went home, minus what the birds ate. YUK! Entertainment, the usual all inclusive offerings, ie, bird show, musicals etc. in the day the entertainment team worked hard to involve everyone in activities. The big problem for me at this Hotel was the bar staff!! They seemed to be unmanaged and treated us as though they were doing us a favour serving us. I felt bad going to the bar to often On one occasion a bar worker said "the restaraunt has only just closed" when I asked for a burger. I found myself explaining that I had been out all day, then kicked myself for not telling him where to go! A female bar worker was the most miserable, rude obnoxious person I have ever come across in the hospitality trade. I paid a lot of money for a week in the school holidays and expect friendly, happy bar staff. After all its not like we could go to a different bar, where we might meet nicer staff as there is only one bar there. We did go out to a bar but didnt feel we should have to do this since we have already paid for drinks. Did I make the most of it, yes. Would I go again, no.

Room Tip: There are lots of young people in Calella, although they didn't cause us any problems, they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Santa Monica. We are pleased to hear that you were very happy with the standard of food at the hotel, but very disappointed to hear that you had reason for disappointment with regards to the staff in our bar. At Med Playa we generally receive very positive feedback with regards to our staff and this is particularly true in the Hotel Santa Monica. We are sorry that your experience with our bar staff was not as we would have expected during your stay.
We sincerely hope that in spite of this, your overall stay in Calella was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I have recently come back from a weeks holiday with my sister and our 2 daughters. We emailed the hotel to ask for rooms next to each other and pool views on 2nd floor. Our request was sorted prior to arrival and we were given exactly what we asked for. Fantastic views of pool and sea too. Room large and very clean. Maids cleaned rooms every day and were very cheerful and helpful. We found all the staff to be hard working, helpful and cheerful. Everyone works so hard at thus hotel and always with a smile. Food was plentiful and always very fresh. Lots of variety at every meal time too. The entertainment staff work had to put on a show every night and events during the day. I only have positive things to say about this hotel and would recommend this to even the fussiest of travellers. Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday even more fun

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food in this hotel is absolutely abysmal. The pool is small as are the grounds so the entertainment is performed on a stage inside rather than out. Upon arrival we were given a room that had not been refurbished and had a balcony that faced out over a gravel ditch above vents to the gotel's air conditioning making the balcony ridiculously hot and unpleasant to sit out on. The shower in our room did not work properly and the bedding was flimsy with holes in it. Our request to move rooms was fulfilled and the staff were helpful but with the awful food and basic facilities we did not enjoy stopping at this hotel. It is not 3 star accommodation it is 2 star at best. Will never stay in this hotel again, however Calella was wonderful and can't recommend this place enough as a holiday for both couples and families. Go to Calella. HOWEVER, DO NOT STOP HERE!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rlpthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hotel Santa Monica.
The Hotel Santa Monica is a very popular hotel in Costa Brava, with many of our guests returning year after year, and we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay.
The Hotel Manager and his staff at this hotel are very keen to ensure that our guests have the very best holiday experience possible, and ask that any issues are brought to their attention in order that they can be resolved as quickly and effectively as possible. We are really sorry that this was not possible in this case.
We are pleased that in spite of your disappointment with the hotel, you enjoyed the resort of Calella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just retuned from the santa monica and must say it has been fab. The entertainment is second to none, the team work very hard both day and night. all the staff were happy and friendly, the food was good , with not a queue in sight ! would highly recommend this hotel to others and can not wait to take my son back again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#8 of 43 in Calella
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#23 of 43 in Calella
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Address: Avda del Turisme 72 - 78, 08370 Calella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Calella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel
Santa Monica Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing