We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY ENJOYED SANTA MONICA !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“REALLY ENJOYED SANTA MONICA !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just arrived back from a 10 night stay at the hotel santa monica with my children aged 7 and 15 on reception angela and the reception staff were really helpful and welcoming and we were checked in within 5 mins with a wonderful sea view room. The rooms are a little basic but really comfortable and the maids never stoppped cleaning and refreshing our towels. In the restaurant it was a little manic as at this time of year all the spanish old aged pensioners were staying, the food was a little more catered towards the spanish but still we did find something to eat and lets face it you are in spain !! the bar staff ray, monica and carmen were great and friendly and the animaciation team always had bingo music etc on for entertainment. Overall we really enjoyed the santa monica and will go back, you get what you pay for sometimes people writing reviews except 5 star luxury when paying 3 star prices. 5 minutes to the beach fantastic location enjoy !!!

Room Tip: train staion 10 minutes walk away with regular services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are very pleased to hear that the hotel met with your expectations, and that our staff contributed to your overall holiday enjoyment.
We sincerely hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to this popular hotel in Calella in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    254
    134
    46
    38
See reviews for
304
198
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here in august last year. The rooms were basic but clean, maids came every day and towels were changed daily as long as you left them in the bath. There was entertainment on every night. The food in the restaurant was ok a good variety on each lunchtime and evening, something for everyone. Different meats cooked each night a full salad bar and other options available too. There was a good choice of AI drinks to choose from, only problem was only being allowed to order 2 drinks at a time so as a group of 6 we had to do a few trips to the bar to get a round in. The poolside snackbar was only open when the restaurant was closed and then closed for the day at around 6, although you could get a ham or cheese sandwich from behind the bar in the evening which were the left over toasties from the day! We had a late flight home picked up from the hotel at about 9 in the evening. We tried to pay to keep our room on a couple of days before we were due to leave, the hotel was full so this was not possible. Our AI wristbands were not cut off on the last day so we were able to make full use of the restaurant and the bar until our departure . The beach is a 5 min walk away and 5 mins in the other direction is the main part of callela. All the staff at the hotel were happy to give advice. Before heading out on any trips speak to the staff on reception, they gave me great advice on how to stay safe and the best places to go.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking pool. The balconies are triple the size of the other balconies and have sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

the staff were very helpfull and friendly ray behind the bar was brill the food was excellent we went all inclusive we had a great time we will be going back this year it will be our third time. We will be going in September we are going to salou in May I will let you know what the hotel is like.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paultom1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Holiday from he'll dirty hotel they never cleaned rooms food same every day pasta chips service poor very noisy at night pool ok basic tho ok 18-30 horrible if ur on a couple holiday staff very rude never again I'd rather sleep on beach

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mijor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Public Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are sorry to hear that you were less than satisfied with the cleanliness and our staff at this hotel. At Med Playa we take cleanliness extremely seriously and follow very strict hygiene and cleaning procedures and feedback from our guests is that they are very happy with standards and levels of service offered by our staff.
Our hotel Manager is keen to resolve any issues our guests raise to him during their stay with us and we are very sorry that it appears that your disatisfaction does not appear to have been mentioned to him whilst you were still in the hotel.
We sincerely hope that in spite of this disatisfaction you enjoyed your stay in the popular resort of Calella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here for a short break couple a weeks ago .The barca Iron man challenge was on and a lot of competitors stayed here.The rooms are clean but have paper thin walls .The restaurant was very good and well organised .The weather was dodgy but we managed to pass the time shopping locally and drinking very cheap in town. Great location and friendly staff and good entertainment>

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enox f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just had 7 nights , great hotel , The food is very good ,as it is International hotel there was always something for everyone. It is very clean, Staff are lovely .. Good childrens entertainment during the day and early evening . with adult entertainment later .

Room Tip: Phone before you go to request sea view .and if possible they will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank0481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just got back from the santa monica last night on an 11 night all inclusive superb holiday,and although it shuts this tuesday thought it deserved a review. We stayed in May/June this year and had problems with 18 yr old coach loads of german students also staying at the hotel, we complained and were offered free nights which we have just taken. The location of the hotel is ideal for the beach/shops/train station and only an hour from girona airport is ideal. The hotel is spotlessly clean with very helpful/friendly reception staff. Our room was cleaned thoroughly with towels being changed daily and beds being changed during our stay. The bar staff treated us well as we did them but some people were rude and got ignored, reasonable i thought. Drinks were free flowing and hassle free varied spirits available as was tea and coffee. The restaurant was not as busy as we had read about which was a relief but when you go during summer holidays queues are to be expected, the vast array of well presented food meant putting on weight was inevitable, breakfast was ok but lunch and dinner were excellent(even a pre ordered picnic is available should you want to go out for the day- at no extra cost-instead on lunch). The variety of food truly was fantastic, veal, pork, chicken, sausages, salads, chips, potatoes, pasta, to name just a few. The evening entertainment was laugh a minute, the team work very hard, daytime entertainment is clearly marked at the entrance to the hotel and Fernando and team ask poolside if you would like to take part, but with no pressure, even FREE afternoon bingo was hilarious at the pool. Strange thing is the mens toilets even smelled nice and always clean. We found a lovely bar on the beach,No 9, good food good service and at only £2.40 a pint on the beach, worth not worrying about(even tho we were all inclusive at the hotel). Worth remembering not to pay prices asked for in the shops for more expensive items ,but one euro for a pair of ear rings or two euro for a necklace worth it. Unsure if we will return as we want to see more of the world but this area/hotel ten out of ten. If you go in september look out for the giants parade and the 7 foot paella pan on the beach of which you can buy some- souvenir plate, huge amount of the paella a glass of red wine or water and a roll,for five euro hope this review helps.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#8 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#24 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.6 mi away
ALEGRIA Espanya
ALEGRIA Espanya
#6 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Address: Avda del Turisme 72 - 78, 08370 Calella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#6 Family Hotel in Calella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel
Santa Monica Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing