We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 9/10, Food 2/10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed September 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Balmes from the 7th September 2008 for one week.

The Good Points

The hotel itself was lovely and rooms were clean. Towels replaced everyday. Tv with BBC World News and Eurosport. When we arrived there was no english stations, but I enquired and they tuned them in for me. Balcony overlooked pool area and we had a perfect view for the evening entertainment without even leaving our rooms.

There was a nice bar, pool area was in a central courtyard. It was lined with trees and had a small childrens playground with table tennis and pool table.

Hotel is in a ideal location situated in the old town of Calella. There is plenty of cheap local tapas bars and shops near by. Discos etc are located in the new town and prices get considerably dearer the closer you go. Beach is about three minutes walk away. There is a two small local supermarkets around corner from the Balmes, which sell beer for a fraction of the cost of the hotel. I would almost certainly check them out.

Evening entertainment was good, with something on most evenings. During our stay we had two singers, a comedy show, a greek night and flamenco dancers.

There is internet access at the hotel, it costs 1 euro for 15 mins.

There is a train station 5 mins away, where you can get the train to to Barcelona for only 6.20 euros return. it takes about an hour. You can also get the train to neighbouring resorts Pineda, Santa Susanna, Malgrat De Mar and Blanes very easily. Pineda is only about a 15 min walk away anyway.

The Bad

FOOD. We stayed half board and the food was awlful. It was very limited to only around 3 dishes a day and definately seemed to cater more for the German market. It seemed like Hake and Pork Loin were on the menu everyday. There was only one choice of potatoes per day. There was a wide choice of salad and fruit, but there is only so much of that you can eat. The same with breakfast, not much choice and only one choice of eggs per day. We did have to resort to eating out, which goes against the purpose of going half board.

There is no tea or cofee making facilities in the room. One night I was feeling unwell and my husband went down to reception to ask if he could buy a bottle of water which cost two euros. The receptionist was 10 feet away from the water but refused to sell it to us because the bar had shut. He told us to drink the tap water, which everyone knows you should never do in Spain. I found this was appaling, as the receptionist had access to the bar and a guest in need. My husband had the two euros, needed no change or anything.

You have to rent the TV remote for 10 euros and pay 3 euros a day for the Safety Deposit box, plus another 10 euros deposit.

The travel company told us the hotel had a laundary and a gym which it does not. This however may not be the hotels fault. Just be aware.

Overall

I liked Calella but would probably not return there again. Barcelona was excellent well worth a visit, we went twice. The hotel was nice, food awful and some staff unhelpful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2008

Stayed the last 2 weeks in June at the Balmes. The hotel was very nice. Staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels daily. The food was ok with plenty to chose from but they didn't cater for children very well and the mealtimes were a nightmare because the hotel is mainly full of 16-18 year old german students who are very rude and just walk straight to the front when it is obvious there is a queue. 80% of the hotel is taken up by these students. They also thought the pool was theirs as well, with no regard for children or anyone wanting a nice swim. This was mainly a problem from the afternoon onwards! The location isn't too good either. One man in a previous review referred to the area as dog poo alley. He was right. It is a shame about this hotel, as it could be a lovely place if only they could do away with groups and accept couples or families only and it could also be in a better area.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Wendy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Balmes from the 3rd-10th September along with my parents. We had stayed in the Kaktus Playa in Oct 06 after having had our reservation for the Hotel Maritim cancelled as it shut early. This time I struggled to chose between the Maritim and the Balmes and eventually chose the Balmes due to the reviews on Tripadvisor. This was a mistake!

Our room had a balcony overlooking the street but I was a bit wary of sitting on them as there appeared to be deep cracks where they joined the external wall and there was a definite slope towards the street. The room was basic as you'd expect for the price but the lack of an accessible socket in the room was annoying and I eventually had to ask reception for an extension cable. The wiring in the light above the bed looked dodgy when compared with my parents room. The walls are also very thin and I could hear everyting said in the room next door so it's not a place to get romantic!

I found the food to be awful and I am not a fussy eater at all and neither is my hubby. We gave up after the third day and ate all our meals out. There are some good local cafes and tapas bars near the hotel as it's in the Spanish part of town, two streets away from Pineda de Mar.
I'd recommend this only for those on a very tight budget, there are better places in Calella.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Was very excited for our holiday in Callela! Booked it an everything was sorted, travlled there by coach and was looking forward to it! We arrived there and the receptionist claimed they had no record of our booking. So they put us up for three or four nights I cant remeber exactly, and then we thought we were getting dumped on a campsite. Cantabrica managed to fit us in the hotel Volga round the block which is actually 4 stars. Th hotel balmes was lovley didnt want to leave! very clea and friendly staff, lovely pina coladas! the eveing entertainment was good too, really didnt want to leave! pool was a little on the small side, food was amazing! me and my brother loved trying out all the spanish delacacies! Planning to go backagain this year providing we can be assured that we will definetley get a room!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CarlisleMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week in September . Price was extremley good value £120 per person for 1 week half board . I love Calella its a great place for cheap and cheerfull holidays . My favourite hotel the Amaika was full so on tripadvisor reccomendations i picked this place .

Rooms clean , tidy , basic but comfortable .just a little bit tired round the edges .

however we Asked to be moved after the first night due to the fact that we had some very noisy next door neighbours who kept us up all night ...eastern europeans ...very possibly working girls ...having a working holiday .truth !!!

Door never stoped banging , as did the headboard against the wall , lots of different voices ...showers running every hour or so . it was funny at first but then after 24 hours of no sleep i had had enough .

the management moved us to a much better room and we had no problems for the rest of the week .

Our eastern european friends were turfed out the next night ....thought the owners were superb in their handling of the situation . dont think they could believe what was going on either ...nudge nudge wink wink .

the resteraunt was clean , tidy , efficient ,food was ok bit restricted in choice , drinks prices reasonable , hotel in good position for shops just a bit away from the best part of the beach.

staff were reasonably friendly .swimming pool area was nice , gardens lovely but a bit shaded from sun due to large trees .

all in all not a bad hotel and i would go there again but having stayed in lots of calella hotels my personal favourite has to be the amaika or the president .

calella is a great place for eating out . it has some fantastic resteraunts with really reasonable prices . i love it because its a busy little spanish town , open all year , great public transport links and its cheep and very cheerfull ...

thank god for ryanair and its £20 rtn flights .

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank judithchalmers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

hotel great found staff very friendly food was ok could have been more choice although they did serve fish fingers one night and my husband was delighted as one of his favourite meals.

Entertainment was not great but we made the most of it and if your willing to put a bit of effort in and create some of the atmospher it helps a lot

not too far from the main shopping area and in perfect location for the market

hotel clean staff helpful i would definatly go back to this hotel

Stayed: September 2007
Thank traveller2Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

My friend and i stayed for a week. The food was good, plenty of choice and good selection of fruit available.

Great as not too far from the beach ( beautiful beach) and shops. The staff were dead nice and helpful. The accomodation was good and very clean, Although we had a bit of noise due to be on 1st floor and by the courtyard area. Bar prices ok, and they make a cracking sangria, very strong!!

The pool was very nice. It was more couples and familes so not ideal if you want a girls holiday. Go down the other end of town about 20 mins walk for english bars and liveliness. There is a great bar with palm trees outside that have happy hours on 9-11pm and they make mean strong cocktails.

Barcelona only 1 hour on the train, and the train service is fantastic!! Well worth a visit, but watch your things as gets heaving around the streets and on the metro.

Enjoy!!

Gillian Brown - Newcastle Upon Tyne

Stayed: September 2007
Thank gilliebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
508 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Miami Park
Aparthotel Miami Park
#7 of 43 in Calella
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash

Address: C/ Balmes, 123, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Calella
#7 Family Hotel in Calella
Price Range: $48 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable hotel, awarded the FAMILY TOURISM certificate and ISO 9001. It is a family-friendly hotel, regularly modernized, with a large garden with swings for the children and swimming pools for both adults and children, plus a hydro-massage pool, to make your holiday a truly memorable experience.Besides rooms, the hotel has studios and apartments that can be reserved with "self catering" or daily cleaning and breakfast buffet or half board, ideal for families with children. Hotel Balmes is the ideal spot for a great holiday with your partner, family or friends. It is situated in the quiet, residential area of Calella, close to the beach, the shopping district and the train station. It is very easy to reach from the motorway. At Hotel Balmes all meals are buffet-style and during the summer season (June to September) we offer an entertainment programme for children and adults, as well as opportunities to take part in free activities provided on Calella’s beach, such as kayaking, salsa, trips to the lighthouse, various sports, and so on. The hotel’s location in the town makes it a very appealing sport for participants of the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme Half Challenge and Challenge triathlons, as it is very close to the starting line, the change-over points, the finishing line and the site of the pasta party and the award ceremony. Hotel Balmes accepts dogs (up to 10 kg in weight) at a moderate cost. Hotel Balmes, the perfect hotel for your family holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your GHT Balmes Hotel, Apartaments & Splash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmes Hotel Calella
Calella Balmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing