We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location good clean and very freindly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location good clean and very freindly staff.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This year was our second stay at this hotel, we stayed there last year and had such a good time we came back again. It is in such a great spot for the shopping centre which is full of shops,Bars and restaraunts and only a short walk to the beach which has a few bars to have a drink and the beach is clean and the Train station is also a short distance to hop on the train to Barcalona,and do the site seeing bus trips i highly recomend it. The only thing i did not like was the noise more so at night and having a bathroom with a vent in it, otherwise great, going back next year hopefully.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room much quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at the Hotel BALMES or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    141
    58
    21
    13
See reviews for
121
100
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose this hotel on the ratings and can only think its rating of no 11 has been boosted by the many Russian guests there. Although clean with comfy beds and the food ok we could not find any information in English or book a trip.You have a long walk to buy a British paper, there was 3 nights of entertainment in 10, one night starting at 10.50 pm! The staff are efficient and the rooms cleaned daily. We felt this hotel is definately not geared towards British guests,but if you don 't mind that then its a reasonable hotel. The hotel is in the old town which is quieter. .There is a pleasant bar nearby called Balmes 3 where you can buy panini 's or chips and some decent wine very cheap. I suppose everyones review is based on the price you pay,we paid the equivalent of a super 10 days in Majorca last year,and based on that unfortunately would not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: choose a room pool facing as the street ones can be noisy with no nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Initially when we arrived thought we were out of town. We have never been to this area before. However this hotel is not out of town at all it is just away from the horrible touristy bit where they sell inflatables and offer English food and ubs. This was the Spanish part and it was lovely. Right at one end of the shopping district with more handbag and shoe shops that a woman could want. Cafes with seating outside where the Spanish have a drink. The hotel itself was very clean. We never used the pool area at all. Staffw were v friendly. Our room 233 was on the 2nd floor but was next to the stairs and the lift shaft so it was quite noisy (try and avoid this room or the same number on floor 1 & 3) The balcony was narrow but OK for a sit outside. Room was large but bathroom extremly small. It had a bath and shower in the bath and if you was a large person you would struggle to get around the bath as it was only about 8 ins wide!.
Breakfast was acceptable - some strange combinations such as sweetcorn. Appears to be geared towards russians. Evening meals were really good so much selection at buffet from fish to chicken and meat. However, chips were the only potato on offer every night. the restuarant was very bright and felt a bit like a canteen but food was of excellent quality so the ambience was acceptable.
Not much readily available info around hotel. We had to find out ourselves how to get to the beach - straight down road to end where there is a playground - turn left past playground and there is an underpass under railway line that takes you to a fantstic beach and a great cafe bar number 12 with the most friendly of staff. Sun beds are 3.50 each plus same for umbrella. We were happy on our towels. Lack of public toilets around Calella especially on railway station and on the trains. One hr to barcelona only 18 euros for 2 return every 20 mins. Watch out for pick pocketd in Barcelona!. Other way to Blanes 3 stops 3.50 euros each and then a bus at 1.5 euros to town with a gret Botanical garden.
Great cafe bars in Caleela with the most wonderful cakes.
Overall a great last minute break - excellent value for money.
Advice - transfer with resorthopper takes about 1.5 to 2 hours as stop at all hotels in Callela before this one. Can get airport bus to Catalanya station in Bracelona and then a train to Calella then a taxi to hotel or 5 mins walk. Transfer coaches don't drop off at this hotel so have to walk from main road for about 5 mins.

Room Tip: As above - don't go for one nr lift shaft. The ones over the pool area can be noisy when have en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement.

As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous and comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks. We look forward to see you soon at the Hotel BALMES or to any other hotel of our group, located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

An unassuming, clean, quiet 3 star hotel.
Relativly good for the mony spent.

Negative points:
the bathroom door which was "swollen", (due to the moisture, I supposed) became larger than doorframe and could not be closed;
the food which was not very tasty ( usualy the diner was mostly fish based and the breakfast was scarce in options );
the reception staff a little bit bored;(maybe because was September?!)


The good points:
clean
quiet (is not in the touristic, noisy area of the city )
good for the family with play groung for the children

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vpo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a week at Balmes Hotel. We both had an enjoyable week, the hotel was well situated, clean and the staff were friendly. The food was plentiful and it was ok but was limited if you are a vegetarian. The staff work very hard and were more than willing to answer queries This hotel is ideal if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday (which we were) I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT56Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I will try to list the positive and negative points of the hotel although negatives are minor.
1. food is pretty good and plenty of choice there was only one night in our weeks stay when we felt it wasnt up to scratch but then that was fish night and we dont eat fish. there where meat dishes every night and alway chips potatoes and pasta etc, deserts where also good. breakfast was bacon and beans and some kind of egg either boiled fried or scrambled, as usual abroad the sausages where not always nice.
2 the hotel is exceptionally clean and the cleaners are probably the best we have encountered in any hotel, they do a fantatic job.
3 the pool is very nice and there are lots of sunbeds and the pool bar is also very good with loys of seating areas.
4 hotel is just 10 minutes walk to the main bar and restaurant area but also in a quiet spot. just turn right out of the hotel and walk to bottom of the road. you will see a long street which goes on forever full of shops and bars.
5 check out the luna gaucha restaurant it is exeptional.

the main thing is that this is a good quality 3 star hotel and you will not complain about this hotel for what you pay. I always thinh the measure of a hotel is if you would return and we would return tomorrow.

i would like to add we read some bad reviews of the staff and to some degree i can understand why, some of the waiting staff dont speak much english and therefore are not very interactive.The barman and the lady at the snack bar where lovely peopleand always had a smile and hello for you.
if you are going to drink at the hotel a pint of lager will cost you 2.90 euros. We drank wine throughout the holiday, the hotel do really nice house wines at 6.5 euros a bottle and it is very nice spanish wine. we drank sangria when we went out and you can get a litre pitcher of sangria for 8-10 euros depending on the bar.

If you read a bad review of this place dont worry it is people who expect too much from a 3 star hotel. we have stayed all over the world in 3 4 and 5 star hotels and this is one of the better 3 satrs we have satyed in, It is a small hotel but it has a great atmosphere and we will likely revisit in the future.

at the beginning of this i said i would list negatives but i cant think of any!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director Comercial at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, near to beach and shopping. Only 10 min stroll to the railway station to go to Barcelona or towards Tossa. Good rooms, very friendly staff, nice clean pool area and pool bar. Rooms cleaned daily and towels replaced daily if required. Food was very acceptable and the staff in the dining room were ultra efficient. Would definately use this hotel again.

From 26/8/12 - 2/9/12

Room Tip: Most rooms face the pool area. Some face the road which could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josep_Gibert, Director of Sales at Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to thank you very much for the time it took you to write these comments. As our goal is to keep improving our services, for us is very important the feedback from our customers and so be able to get continuous improvement. As we want to know the needs and dislikes of our customers, we are doing a continuous, comprehensive monitoring of feedback from you, both in establishment and on-line.

In the Hotel Balmes in Calella and also in the rest of the GHT Hotels hotels, a high rate of customers repeat every year and this fills us with pride, but we are not satisfied and we strive every day, so our guests can get with us a great vacation.

Again, thanks for your kind remarks and look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Balmes or in any other of our hotels located along the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme and Costa Brava.

Josep Gibert
Commercial Manager
GHT Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#13 of 43 in Calella
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#4 of 43 in Calella
396 reviews
1.0 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments

Property: Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
Address: C/ Balmes, 123, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Calella
#7 Family Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable hotel, awarded the FAMILY TOURISM certificate and ISO 9001. It is a family-friendly hotel, regularly modernized, with a large garden with swings for the children and swimming pools for both adults and children, plus a hydro-massage pool, to make your holiday a truly memorable experience.Besides rooms, the hotel has studios and apartments that can be reserved with "self catering" or daily cleaning and breakfast buffet or half board, ideal for families with children. Hotel Balmes is the ideal spot for a great holiday with your partner, family or friends. It is situated in the quiet, residential area of Calella, close to the beach, the shopping district and the train station. It is very easy to reach from the motorway. At Hotel Balmes all meals are buffet-style and during the summer season (June to September) we offer an entertainment programme for children and adults, as well as opportunities to take part in free activities provided on Calella’s beach, such as kayaking, salsa, trips to the lighthouse, various sports, and so on. The hotel’s location in the town makes it a very appealing sport for participants of the Costa de Barcelona-Maresme Half Challenge and Challenge triathlons, as it is very close to the starting line, the change-over points, the finishing line and the site of the pasta party and the award ceremony. Hotel Balmes accepts dogs (up to 10 kg in weight) at a moderate cost. Hotel Balmes, the perfect hotel for your family holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmes Hotel Calella
Calella Balmes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing